#1  
Old 03-19-2020, 07:09 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.8
Courses Played: 213
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,365
Niced 382 Times in 234 Posts
Default New "throw after OB" rule (from couple years)

Looking at the situation below, Matt Bell teeing on hole 17 at Waco, throws his first throw OB (26:31 if the vid doesn't come right up), then apparently takes his next throw from the standard OB spot, 1 meter from where he went OB. Wouldn't this be one of those situations where it would have been to his advantage to move back further on the line of play to give himself a better angle on that next sidearm -- the free optional relief in 803.02 E.? Granted he did execute reasonably well and get an unlucky rollaway. But I was thinking when I was watching it live, why didn't he move further back from the OB?



Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2020, 02:58 AM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,601
Niced 571 Times in 279 Posts
Default

The rule is:

Quote:
No penalty throw is added if optional relief is being taken following a penalty taken for a disc out-of-bounds or above two meters.
It's not clear whether he can move the lie in bounds one meter, before taking optional relief. If he can, then it might be the right play; but I would rule he cannot -- based on the theory that the meter in is, itself, relief.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2020, 11:42 AM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 1.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 113
Niced 43 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Yes....check Rules>Questions and Answers: Out Of Bounds > QA-OB-04:

QA-OB-4: My disc went OB. Can I use the optional relief rule to mark my lie back along the line of play, instead of one meter from OB?
Yes. Optional relief is available for free (without adding a penalty throw) after a throw that results in a penalty throw and that requires placement of a lie (such as OB or above two meters).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2020, 12:11 PM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 24
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,084
Niced 477 Times in 218 Posts
Default

Looks like it would have been a great time to use that rule. It would have backed him away from the trees a little bit and given him a more gentle corner to get around.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2020, 01:49 PM
_MTL_ _MTL_ is offline
Flippy Flopper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 27
Courses Played: 142
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,100
Niced 1,053 Times in 457 Posts
Default

wait....

are you saying that a touring professional didn't know the rules? get outta here.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2020, 02:42 PM
Consult20's Avatar
Consult20 Consult20 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Years Playing: 6.2
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,513
Niced 408 Times in 240 Posts
Default

I've been wondering what the actual procedure would be to mark the lie back along the line of play. Mark a temporary lie within 1 meter of OB first? Then mark the lie you're actually going to use along the line of play in line with that temporary lie and the basket's pole?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2020, 02:59 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 702
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,488
Niced 1,949 Times in 865 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Consult20 View Post
I've been wondering what the actual procedure would be to mark the lie back along the line of play. Mark a temporary lie within 1 meter of OB first? Then mark the lie you're actually going to use along the line of play in line with that temporary lie and the basket's pole?
Good question but it would seem you either take the up to one meter from last point IB or you move back on the LOP from the last point IB when taking Optional Relief. A related question might be whether you can first go to the drop zone and then continue back from there on the LOP taking optional relief.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2020, 03:19 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 1.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 113
Niced 43 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Consult20 View Post
I've been wondering what the actual procedure would be to mark the lie back along the line of play. Mark a temporary lie within 1 meter of OB first? Then mark the lie you're actually going to use along the line of play in line with that temporary lie and the basket's pole?
Once you mark you lie...that is the lie. So if you take 1 meter in, that's your lie....you can't then change it. It's 'instead of' not 'in addition to'.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2020, 03:21 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 1.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 113
Niced 43 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Good question but it would seem you either take the up to one meter from last point IB or you move back on the LOP from the last point IB when taking Optional Relief. A related question might be whether you can first go to the drop zone and then continue back from there on the LOP taking optional relief.
Once you go to the drop zone, you've made your choice of lie. You can't change the lie at that point.

That's why you will see people discussing their options before making the decision/placing their marker.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-20-2020, 03:26 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 702
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,488
Niced 1,949 Times in 865 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post
Once you go to the drop zone, you've made your choice of lie. You can't change the lie at that point.

That's why you will see people discussing their options before making the decision/placing their marker.
If the drop zone is temporarily covered with casual water, I could see getting casual relief on LOP from drop zone, but agree under normal circumstances, optional relief has to be marked on the LOP back from the last point IB not from the drop zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apologies If Answered - Newish Rule About "Lie" and "Flipping Disc" phishbiscuits Rules Questions & Discussion 24 07-31-2019 02:13 PM
How to set "Years played" in the forum profile? wims Newbie Intros and Q&A 3 08-21-2014 07:37 PM
A couple old Omegas: "appoved" Q-mega and "no run" SS both SM Mold $20 each apdrvya The Marketplace 0 05-02-2012 01:11 PM
"The One Ring" GL Pain, 10/10 - The One Disc to Rule them All! yawpstang64 The Marketplace 6 08-10-2011 07:12 PM
2009 Special Edition Rocs "20 Years of Roc" #19325 Discs 37 09-09-2009 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.