#11  
Old 11-11-2019, 01:26 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,884
Niced 3,830 Times in 1,580 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
I think JC covered the basics here, but here comes my standard thread semi-related derailment:

In normal play (not quite the joking situation presented in this thread), it's up to the thrower to wait until the area is clear before he throws. It annoys the hell out of me when player A putts, retrieves his disc, walks 10' away from the basket, and then freezes perfectly still while player B putts. IMO, when I putt out and am retrieving my disc, I won't stop walking if the next player decides to putt immediately. I'm doing my responsibility to get out of your way, and it's your responsibility to wait for me to finish. I'll putt, walk to the basket, grab my disc, walk non-stop to a spot 30' away from the basket, and then turn around to watch the next guy putt. If he decides he's in such a hurry that he can't wait for me to stop moving, that's his fault, and I'd fight back against anyone claiming I was being a distraction.

(This is assuming we're taking real putts, like 15'+. If we're all putting from 5' away from the basket, the etiquette changes a little.)
1000% yes. The back-to-the-basket pause while someone else putts is a scourge that needs to be stopped. Not only does it look silly, but when you do it, your back is to not only the target but the thrower, so how are you going to be able to make a call (or second) if necessary? Or in the spirit of this thread, avoid getting hit by a thrown (or deflected) disc?

Players need to be allowed to get themselves out of the field of play before the next player throws. It's so odd that in this one particular instance, the more common practice is the opposite.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-13-2019, 04:20 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 27
Posts: 904
Niced 540 Times in 223 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
I think JC covered the basics here, but here comes my standard thread semi-related derailment:

In normal play (not quite the joking situation presented in this thread), it's up to the thrower to wait until the area is clear before he throws. It annoys the hell out of me when player A putts, retrieves his disc, walks 10' away from the basket, and then freezes perfectly still while player B putts. IMO, when I putt out and am retrieving my disc, I won't stop walking if the next player decides to putt immediately. I'm doing my responsibility to get out of your way, and it's your responsibility to wait for me to finish. I'll putt, walk to the basket, grab my disc, walk non-stop to a spot 30' away from the basket, and then turn around to watch the next guy putt. If he decides he's in such a hurry that he can't wait for me to stop moving, that's his fault, and I'd fight back against anyone claiming I was being a distraction.

(This is assuming we're taking real putts, like 15'+. If we're all putting from 5' away from the basket, the etiquette changes a little.)
Preach!

I hate this so much. I always ask players to just carry on moving if they do this.
there are a lot of newer players doing it on the course now as they've seen a pro do it on Jomez. There is nothing more distracting than someone in an unnatural freeze position. It also bugs me that they aren't watching my throw, but that's the rules nazi in me....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-13-2019, 07:27 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.5
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 15,234
Niced 3,538 Times in 1,535 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Yes, intentional interference. 810.G says that players must not stand where interference could occur. If they're standing in such a place and interference takes place, the case is fairly strong for an intentional interference penalty. Add in your (joking) conversation about his being in the way removes any doubt that he was aware that interference could occur. If he fails to avoid interfering when he clearly had opportunity to do so, it's a penalty IMO.
It seems to me a bit of a leap from "intended to stand where interference could occur" to "intended to interfere".

I play a lot on hilly courses with sloped greens, where any spot downhill of the basket is a place where interference could occur. And a few cozy courses, where any place you stand could result in being hit by an active throw from another fairway.

I think interference, particularly intentional interference, is going to be a judgment call. As it is in many other sports.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-13-2019, 08:09 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,884
Niced 3,830 Times in 1,580 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
It seems to me a bit of a leap from "intended to stand where interference could occur" to "intended to interfere".

I play a lot on hilly courses with sloped greens, where any spot downhill of the basket is a place where interference could occur. And a few cozy courses, where any place you stand could result in being hit by an active throw from another fairway.

I think interference, particularly intentional interference, is going to be a judgment call. As it is in many other sports.
I'm only pointing out that the rules specifically warn against players standing or leaving equipment where interference may occur, and that if they do such a thing, and interference does occur, a penalty for interference may be appropriate. Doesn't mean it is automatic. It is, like you say, a judgment call. And in general, interference is more likely unintentional than intentional.

However, in the situation presented, the player in question argued that he would not be subject to penalty because he wasn't specifically asked to move out of the way. That is incorrect. Being asked to move is not a prerequisite. But the conversation itself is acknowledgement that the player is aware of the potential for interference, and electing not to move (asked or not) once it's acknowledged is bringing a penalty into play. I'm only saying that I would judge any interference in this example to be worthy of penalty.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-13-2019, 08:28 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.5
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 15,234
Niced 3,538 Times in 1,535 Posts
Default

I can go along with that.
Reply With Quote
 

  #16  
Old 11-16-2019, 07:04 AM
da Crippler's Avatar
da Crippler da Crippler is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Years Playing: 50
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 631
Niced 573 Times in 243 Posts
Default

The penalty should be a good swift kick in the a$$. He'll remember that more than any penalty stroke.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference rhatton1 Rules Questions & Discussion 76 02-26-2019 09:23 PM
Interference with a Throw Dr_Johnson Rules Questions & Discussion 16 06-04-2018 06:27 PM
Bag Interference lasasj Rules Questions & Discussion 56 02-19-2017 12:36 AM
Interference or not? sqatch Rules Questions & Discussion 88 04-03-2014 10:49 AM
interference question joesouthfla General Disc Golf Chat 22 02-25-2011 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.