#1  
Old 04-14-2018, 10:52 AM
bayouace bayouace is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SW Louisiana
Years Playing: 27.3
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 721
Niced 19 Times in 11 Posts
Default Disc lands on culvert

In a tournament, I threw a disc that went right and landed on a big culvert. Clearly not past the OB painted line on the grass on the path above the culvert, but not touching any ground or grass. Water in the culvert, but the disc was not touching any water. Just 100% laying on the culvert. Group said it was not OB, and I took a legal stance and threw the next throw. Was this correct?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2018, 03:31 PM
philstine philstine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Courses Played: 20
Posts: 221
Niced 183 Times in 77 Posts
Default

802.05 Lie
Quote:
A. The lie is the place on the playing surface upon which the player takes a stance in order to throw. The playing surface is a surface, generally the ground, which is capable of supporting the player and from which a stance can reasonably be taken. A playing surface may exist above or below another playing surface. If it is unclear whether a surface is a playing surface, the decision is made by the Director or by an Official.
Quote:
Lie

QA-LIE-1: My throw landed on a bridge that spans an OB creek. Do I play from the bridge, or is my disc OB since itΒ’s above the creek? What if IΒ’m on the bridge but over land?

A bridge is an example where one playing surface is vertically stacked above another playing surface. Each playing surface is treated independently. The bridge is in-bounds unless the TD has declared it to be OB, regardless of whether a playing surface above or below it is OB. If the two-meter rule is in use, it does not apply because your disc is on, not above, the playing surface. You mark your lie on the bridge, and there is no penalty.
Quote:
Stance
QA-STA-3: Our course has two horizontal rainwater run-off culverts that exit from the side of a hill into the fairway. They are about two feet in diameter with metal grills over their exits that have gaps big enough for discs to enter but not a player. If a disc enters a culvert, can the player simply mark on the hillside directly above their discΒ’s location in the culvert with no penalty since the disc is below the playing surface?
Yes. Inside the culvert is not a playing surface, but the hillside above it is. If the TD has not provided guidance on how to handle discs entering these culverts, then players can mark on the hillside directly above their disc with no penalty.
Reply With Quote
 

  #3  
Old 04-14-2018, 05:28 PM
bayouace bayouace is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SW Louisiana
Years Playing: 27.3
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 721
Niced 19 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Thanks. Makes me feel better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disc lands on tee pad of another card/hole? sidewinder22 Rules Questions & Discussion 91 07-13-2016 07:55 PM
H.o.D. 3/6/16 -- Hole 4 @ Enchanted Lands DGC -- Roswell NM namar Hole of the Day 23 03-11-2016 05:06 PM
What if the disc lands on top of basket topdawgy58 Technique & Strategy 58 03-12-2013 11:05 AM
Is a disc OB if the area it lands in is usually under water, but is not for your lie? Camgolfer General Disc Golf Chat 22 04-16-2009 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.