#21  
Old 10-18-2019, 09:00 AM
Discette's Avatar
Discette Discette is offline
Independent Operator*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Years Playing: 23.2
Courses Played: 519
Posts: 1,766
Niced 694 Times in 247 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
This came up some years back, at a big amateur tournament, possibly Bowling Green. I'll get the details wrong; I only remember it because I knew the winner.

It was sponsored by a local brewery or cider, and the spectators were drinking cups of it. After he hit the winning putt and celebrated, someone handed him a cup and he drank some of it. It was a spontaneous moment.

A few people in internet forums went nuts, of course.

The PDGA, applying proper perspective, did nothing.

The Blaine Kinkel Incedent: https://www.pdga.com/kinkel-wins-bg-ams
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-18-2019, 09:21 AM
DoWork DoWork is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Courses Played: 8
Posts: 747
Niced 613 Times in 271 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
I don't think any one would ever DQ a player for perhaps maybe possibly allowing a microscopic drop of alcohol to pass their lips accidentally when sprayed by other folks.

Independent of that, I think the whole champagne bath thing is stupid to begin with, and I really hope the growing trend of the practice goes away, at least on the course. If they want to do that in a post-tourney party or even after the awards ceremony (see the President's Cup celebration), fine. It doesn't have to be done on the course, particularly before everything's been officially verified. There's a reason you don't see champagne sprays on the 18th green at the Masters or US Open. It's bad form, IMO.


Oakley with the Pringles shower FTW.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-22-2019, 11:02 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 290
Niced 143 Times in 78 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigles View Post
Well strictly according to the rules, yes the round is not over till the score cards are turned in.
Would someone be kind enough to tell where this is in the rules. I've been looking and I'm not spotting it.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
 

  #24  
Old 10-22-2019, 11:37 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 290
Niced 143 Times in 78 Posts
Default

Actually I'd come across the rule relating to alcohol (3.03.B).

What I meant to ask was is there a general rule stating that ALL rules are enforce until the scorecard is handed in?

Eg if a player has putted out on their last hole, so has finished their round. Can they be stoked for throwing a few practice putts into the basket?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DikkaD's Champagne Room - Come get Paid DikkaD The Marketplace 39 04-16-2013 05:55 PM
2 champagne Sharks, one Max backblunt The Marketplace 6 01-26-2013 11:47 AM
Don't celebrate too much when you make a whole in one War Eagle General Disc Golf Chat 18 04-26-2009 01:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.