#1  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:29 PM
colodiscgolfer's Avatar
colodiscgolfer colodiscgolfer is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boulder CO
Years Playing: 24.3
Courses Played: 21
Posts: 628
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need a ruling... in or not?

So my buddy sent one flying at the basket the other day, and it stuck into the side of the basket, never going over the rim. He has played in more tournaments than I have, and insisted that this was considered 'in'. I reproduced the conditions of the disc's lie on my home basket and took a pic. Again, the disc DID NOT go over the upper rim of the basket, it just stuck like this in the side:

Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:29 PM
mmyersdisc's Avatar
mmyersdisc mmyersdisc is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mishawaka Indiana
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 985
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its in...its has to be "supported" by the basket or chains...its in
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:41 PM
scarpfish's Avatar
scarpfish scarpfish is offline
Resident Grouch
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brownbackistan
Years Playing: 16.2
Courses Played: 360
Posts: 8,141
Niced 714 Times in 250 Posts
Default

As long as you remove it before it falls out on its own. Wedgies are good.

I've always wondered if anyone has popped a shot through the face mask before...intact. That would take some incredible velocity and an absolutely perfect hit. It might also be the last flight that disc ever takes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:50 PM
solomon.trenton's Avatar
solomon.trenton solomon.trenton is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winchendon, Massachusetts
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 89
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 11,544
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

the only time it isnt in is when it rests on top. if it skips up and wedges in the bottom its fair game.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:07 PM
AnhyzerBusch's Avatar
AnhyzerBusch AnhyzerBusch is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Marcos, Tx
Years Playing: 12.3
Courses Played: 22
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 21
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarpfish View Post
I've always wondered if anyone has popped a shot through the face mask before...intact. That would take some incredible velocity and an absolutely perfect hit. It might also be the last flight that disc ever takes.
I've thrown a Star TeeRex through the mask before. Forehanded it from about 60 ft. out...went through, rang the chains, and stayed in... Warped it a small amount. but that disc actually went on to make my first ace a few weeks later.. it is now retired to my wall.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:10 PM
TalbotTrojan's Avatar
TalbotTrojan TalbotTrojan is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,432
Niced 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

With the soft putters that are out there it is not all that uncommon for this to happen and yes, this is in as long as the thrower pulls it out before it falls. I remember playing a round with a pro at La Mirada once who was able to intentionally stick a disc in through the side, but at the same time I never saw him actually do it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:20 PM
StrikerME02's Avatar
StrikerME02 StrikerME02 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 13
Posts: 393
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to StrikerME02
Default

I've heard of quite a few people doing that, exspecially with their SuperSoft putters, and as long as it stays there and doesn't fall down to the ground it's in.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:48 PM
Roc1Time's Avatar
Roc1Time Roc1Time is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TX
Years Playing: 18.2
Courses Played: 131
Posts: 4,404
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Its in
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:57 PM
colodiscgolfer's Avatar
colodiscgolfer colodiscgolfer is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boulder CO
Years Playing: 24.3
Courses Played: 21
Posts: 628
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies folks... looks like I owe him a beer.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 08-14-2009, 05:02 PM
ERicJ's Avatar
ERicJ ERicJ is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 254
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,063
Niced 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarpfish View Post
I've always wondered if anyone has popped a shot through the face mask before...intact. That would take some incredible velocity and an absolutely perfect hit. It might also be the last flight that disc ever takes.
I put a putt through the side of the tray once at MacGregor Park. Didn't throw it hard at all, but the size of the soft Rhyno and spacing of the bars combined with the angle of the disc... it slid right through.


Quote:
Originally Posted by scarpfish View Post
As long as you remove it before it falls out on its own.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalbotTrojan View Post
yes, this is in as long as the thrower pulls it out before it falls.
This has been discussed at great length on this and other forums. In a nutshell: The basket is considered part of the playing surface. The rulebook says that a thrown disc "at rest" on the playing surface that moves is replaced to its original position.

That means if you can get your card or an official to agree/declare that the disc is "at rest", if it falls out after that it doesn't matter you can replace it and then properly hole out by removing the disc yourself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruling? Chiefstang Rules Questions & Discussion 19 06-23-2016 07:56 PM
I need a ruling here... BennettUA Rules Questions & Discussion 23 03-06-2015 10:11 AM
What is the ruling on this one? Mr. America General Disc Golf Chat 40 05-04-2011 07:18 PM
Need a ruling AdamE General Disc Golf Chat 34 06-22-2010 12:07 PM
I need a Ruling 1854online General Disc Golf Chat 124 04-23-2010 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.