#31  
Old 09-15-2017, 12:17 PM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 10.3
Courses Played: 87
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 833
Niced 36 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Oh damn that's bad. Falling Putt!!!
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-20-2017, 06:10 PM
pauldst's Avatar
pauldst pauldst is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Redding, CA
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 86
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 935
Niced 35 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Whether that is a foot fault or not looks questionable to me. His feet appeared not to go past his lie, and he (very) briefly had balance before losing it again, resulting in his hand touching the ground. Plus, the hand may not have been ahead of his lie. We don't have a completely clear view of his lie, I can't see his marker, and if that is the case, wouldn't that keep it from being a fault? Besides, the other players on the card didn't have a clear view of his feet, so can they call a violation that they couldn't clearly see?

That said, many times I have seen in video what looked to me like a foot fault, and yet I don't recall ever seeing a foot fault called. Of course, my understanding on the subject is far from perfect.
Reply With Quote
 

  #33  
Old 09-20-2017, 07:38 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 19.9
Courses Played: 140
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 5,742
Niced 690 Times in 319 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauldst View Post
Whether that is a foot fault or not looks questionable to me. His feet appeared not to go past his lie, and he (very) briefly had balance before losing it again, resulting in his hand touching the ground. Plus, the hand may not have been ahead of his lie. We don't have a completely clear view of his lie, I can't see his marker, and if that is the case, wouldn't that keep it from being a fault? Besides, the other players on the card didn't have a clear view of his feet, so can they call a violation that they couldn't clearly see?
First, his feet have nothing to do with anything, as it his hand that was in violation. You see him pick up the mini, so it's pretty obvious where it is, and his hand definitely came down in front of it. Frankly, it doesn't matter if we, from the camera's vantage point, can see it or not. The players in the group DID see it. In the video, McCray was looking right at him with a clear vantage point to see both the mini and the hand touching the ground. The others acknowledged that it was a falling putt (they even say so in the commentary).

The question with this isn't whether or not it was really a falling putt...everyone involved acknowledges that it was. The question is whether or not it should have been called, and the answer to that is unequivocally yes.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.