Old 10-26-2015, 02:21 AM

Courses Played: 4
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Various Questions from a noob...

Hello! First post. Lots of great information in this forum.

I've been playing for 3 months now and I'm starting to understand how discs fly and why they do what they do and how throwing a faster speed discs (I like Innova discs) can be detrimental for a noob (like me) that can't achieve the required speeds needed to make the higher speed discs (like a boss or destroyer) fly like they need to.

I drive with a 175g DX sidewinder and have been able to get it to turn over most of the time (though there are occasions where it won't and just fade hard to the right - I'm a LHBH thrower). However, I've discovered that a speed 9 disc might be still a little too fast for me. I've come to the conclusion that I can throw a leopard (speed 6) farther than my sidewinder most of the time. So I've concluded that I'm not getting enough speed and can't seem to throw farther than about 200-210 feet on completely level ground.

I understand that throwing with your arm = bad and that form is important in getting more distance (especially by using more of your lower body [legs and hips). I'm trying hard not to throw with my arm and I know that I'm not as much as before since my shoulder and elbow are both hurting a lot less than it used to.

I've seen all the drill videos and trying to bring everything together can be hard at times. I just can't keep everything straight before I throw. I also have a tendency to release a little late which causes my discs to go way to the left.

So a couple of questions...

1. What's the best way to think about everything before you throw or is this something that just comes with playing a lot?

2. What drills should I focus on?