Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 01-03-2018, 03:29 PM

Niced 10 Times in 7 Posts
Default Newer player disc advice leopard vs leopard 3 vs valkyrie

Hey everyone, first time poster here.

I've been reading through posts for about an hour now and I want to get some advice on my specific situation now that I think I have an idea what I want to do. I've been playing for about 3-6 months now. Driving about 200-250 feet (RHBH) I'd say depending on if my form is good or not that throw and depending on disc choice.

Started with the dx leopard 150g in the starter pack that I soon began to overpower. Switched to a very overstable discmania FD C-line 170g and was happy with the extra control/consistency until I realized it's way too overstable and I was losing distance because I can't throw it fast enough and it was messing up my form. Went back to using my leopard and found that I can get a really nice S curve out of it and go slightly farther than my fd c-line so committed to trying to learn how to throw the dx leopard 150 with less power to get a good hyzer flip. I think the DX leopard is too understable now that it's worn in, plus i'm just generally getting more power in my throws. I also noticed a big difference in the weight as the 150g leopard is way easier to throw due to the light weight. By the end of a 18 hole course, those 170g discs feel pretty heavy to me and my form pays the price.

I got a few discs to try:
165 champ beast - too overstable, never flips and just hyzers out to the left even if I try to throw it flat. I think I'll need to grow into this one later.

171 dx valkyrie - Flies pretty well, started to get it to hyzer flip for me slightly after the 2nd round using it, but still doesn't feel like I'm getting as much distance on average as I did with the dx 150 leopard. Not sure if it's because of the extra weight? It was all they had at the store for Valkyries at the time.