#1  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:27 PM
HawaiiJack HawaiiJack is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 13
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Casual Water

Off the tee I went slightly right into a low lying area covered with water after recent heavy rains. There was no going further right or backwards for relief, the area was submerged. Taking relief directly lateral to the left was needed to get to slightly higher ground. But going directly lateral moved me "closer" to the pin by bringing me back in a direct line with it, Pythagorean Theorem and all that. There was an objection that direct lateral relief was "moving closer to the pin". True if you are a Geometry major but nobody brought a compass and protractor and I wasn't about to start trying to guess triangulation distances or arcs along a curve. The distance moved laterally was maybe 2 meters and don't ask me distance from there to pin, maybe 110 feet. I threw a mid-range on next shot. What should have been done? Did I need to come back diagonally from the casual water so as not to be "closer" and if so how in the world would the proper angle/distance be determined.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:31 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30.5
Courses Played: 688
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,133
Niced 1,493 Times in 676 Posts
Default

You play it from the location in the casual water or go back on the line of play (lining up your disc with the basket) up to 5m. Those do not cost you a penalty. If you are still not out of the water going 5m back, you can go back as far as you want and add a 1-throw penalty or you can rethrow your shot with a 1-throw penalty. There is no option to move sideways from your disc in the water even if it would not move you closer to the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:39 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 15.3
Courses Played: 307
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,733
Niced 2,069 Times in 1,023 Posts
Default

So, if your disc lands in standing water, and there's no dry spot within 5.0 m going back along the LOP from the basket through your disc, you're choices boil down to:

a) throw from the water: penalty is wet feet for the rest of the round, but no strokes
b) throw from more than 5m back along LOP: + 1 stroke penalty
c) rethrow from previous lie: + 1 stroke penalty

Did I comprehend correctly?

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 06-14-2013 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:40 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 9.6
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,497
Niced 100 Times in 70 Posts
Default

My lie is in casual water, so I take relief 5m back. If I'm still in casual water, I am in the same situation; my lie is in casual water. Why can I not take 5m back?

I'm not taking 10m from my lie in casual water, I'm taking 5m from my lie in casual water.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:43 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 15.3
Courses Played: 307
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,733
Niced 2,069 Times in 1,023 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
My lie is in casual water, so I take relief 5m back. If I'm still in casual water, I am in the same situation; my lie is in casual water. Why can I not take 5m back?

I'm not taking 10m from my lie in casual water, I'm taking 5m from my lie in casual water.
That seems like wishing for 3 more wishes...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:46 PM
HawaiiJack HawaiiJack is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 13
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Rule 803.01B clearly says you take relief, you do not play from casual water. You may take relief at the nearest lie no closer. There is nothing about cannot go in a certain direction, other than line of play. So moving to "nearest" lie seems straightforward - come directly out of the water and do not advance toward the pin. No?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:47 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 16.4
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
My lie is in casual water, so I take relief 5m back. If I'm still in casual water, I am in the same situation; my lie is in casual water. Why can I not take 5m back?

I'm not taking 10m from my lie in casual water, I'm taking 5m from my lie in casual water.
Quote:
the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the target, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie
You cannot get relief from the relocated lie, only the original lie.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:47 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30.5
Courses Played: 688
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,133
Niced 1,493 Times in 676 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
So, if your disc lands in standing water, and there's no dry spot within 5.0 m going back along the LOP from the basket through your disc, you're choices boil down to:

a) throw from the water: penalty is wet feet for the rest of the round, but no strokes
b) throw from more than 5m back along LOP: + 1 stroke penalty
c) rethrow from previous lie: + 1 stroke penalty

Did I comprehend correctly?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:47 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 9.6
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,497
Niced 100 Times in 70 Posts
Default

Maybe ... but I feel like I'm just asking that a rule pertaining to my lie pertains to my lie. Even though I am being slightly fececious in my rhetoric, I really do feel I should be able to do it. Not allowing me to take 5m is based on a lie that no longer exists.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:48 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 16.4
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawaiiJack View Post
Rule 803.01B clearly says you take relief, you do not play from casual water. You may take relief at the nearest lie no closer. There is nothing about cannot go in a certain direction, other than line of play. So moving to "nearest" lie seems straightforward - come directly out of the water and do not advance toward the pin. No?
It says you "may" take relief, but you are not required to.

It also says relief must be on the line of play (line from pin to disc). So if you do opt to take relief, you must move backwards along that line. If you have to move back more than 5 meters, you must take a stroke penalty.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OB Vs Casual Relief Zanguini Rules Questions & Discussion 4 07-08-2018 01:23 PM
Casual water relief interpretation geoloseth Rules Questions & Discussion 17 05-02-2017 03:57 PM
Casual Water ? Van1 Rules Questions & Discussion 7 07-23-2012 01:23 AM
casual water tribute Jar-El General Disc Golf Chat 3 02-24-2012 01:07 PM
Casual Water RickBrierly Technique & Strategy 6 06-17-2011 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.