#1  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:36 PM
crohn321 crohn321 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newnan, GA
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 49
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 19
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Doubles Odd-Man Ace Pot/CTP's

Hello,

I'm curious about what other clubs in the nation/world do regarding ace pot/CTP opportunities for the odd-man out during doubles. I know that typically the odd-man (clint, cali, han, etc.) gets one extra shot per hole. Which of these two options do you all typically see:

1) The odd-man can only win ace pot/CTP money with their 1st shot off the tee.

-or-

2) The odd-man is still eligible for ace pot/CTP money if they choose to use a second shot off the tee.

Thank you for your input.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:45 PM
EarthRocker EarthRocker is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Charlotte, NC
Courses Played: 35
Posts: 192
Niced 216 Times in 96 Posts
Default

3) Lone Wolf has the option of paying double the entry fee, then gets two shots from everywhere. If he hits an ace, regardless of which throw, he cashes.

In your scenario, I can only imagine the drama that would erupt if someone said, "Hey, that Player B shot doesn't count." So while I've never seen it happen and therefore can't really say for sure how it would be handled, my gut tells me the money belongs to he or she who aces the hole - period.

Put another way: if I were the TD/League Runner, I'd make sure it was understood as I have it here. It might be controversial, but as long as everyone knows going in...there can't be any bad blood. Similar to the Richard who told our card, "Just so you know, if I hit the ace, I DO NOT split that with my partner." It may have seemed like a jerky stance, but we all knew, so no surprises.

Spoiler: He did not ace. Not even close.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:49 PM
Hampstead's Avatar
Hampstead Hampstead is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spaceship Earth
Years Playing: 29.9
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,531
Niced 2,147 Times in 694 Posts
Default

Two throws per hole means Cali can use two drives for ace runs. Pretty standard.

CTP's are different. If you pay, you get one chance at CTP. Period. Cali's first throw is CTP throw, no bonus warmup throws.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:51 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 31
Courses Played: 702
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,449
Niced 1,896 Times in 841 Posts
Default

If the Cali player wants their second drive to count for an ace, just have them pay double into the ace pool, $2 instead of $1, for example.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2020, 01:51 PM
Future_Primitive's Avatar
Future_Primitive Future_Primitive is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Years Playing: 7.8
Courses Played: 131
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,638
Niced 826 Times in 372 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crohn321 View Post
Hello,

I'm curious about what other clubs in the nation/world do regarding ace pot/CTP opportunities for the odd-man out during doubles. I know that typically the odd-man (clint, cali, han, etc.) gets one extra shot per hole. Which of these two options do you all typically see:

1) The odd-man can only win ace pot/CTP money with their 1st shot off the tee.

-or-

2) The odd-man is still eligible for ace pot/CTP money if they choose to use a second shot off the tee.

Thank you for your input.
I have seen it both ways and as long as everyone knows the rules before the Cali flip then its all good. In our league Cali usually has to pay a second entry fee if they win the Cali flip as people often want to be Cali. Being that they are usually paying double we allow the 2nd shot to count towards the Ace and CTPs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2020, 03:26 PM
F. Howl's Avatar
F. Howl F. Howl is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,090
Niced 1,256 Times in 679 Posts
Default

#2 at our weekly. In the 4 years I've been running our dubs, I've never seen anyone Ace with their second throw.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2020, 03:38 PM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 109
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,064
Niced 227 Times in 126 Posts
Default

It is cali's choice how they use their additional throw. If they parked on the 1st throw why not run an ace on the 2nd? Tha's how we do it locally. Cali can take 2 shots at an ace if they choose.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2020, 03:46 PM
Hampstead's Avatar
Hampstead Hampstead is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spaceship Earth
Years Playing: 29.9
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,531
Niced 2,147 Times in 694 Posts
Default

Why in the world would Cali get two CTP throws? So what if you have a partner or not? Everyone gets one CTP throw. Ace is different since some places split the pot. Had a guy get pissed at me when I told him his second throw didn't count for the $50 CTP. Once we discussed it, he calmed down and realized it wouldn't make sense for him to get two cracks at it when everyone else who paid got one.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2020, 04:58 PM
GoobyPls's Avatar
GoobyPls GoobyPls is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Years Playing: 3.8
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,567
Niced 923 Times in 438 Posts
Default

In the league I run, the Mulligan Man gets one extra shot per hole, or they can pay an additional entry fee for two shots from every spot. Aces and CTP on second shots still count and don't require an extra fee.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 02-11-2020, 09:43 PM
Hampstead's Avatar
Hampstead Hampstead is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spaceship Earth
Years Playing: 29.9
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,531
Niced 2,147 Times in 694 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoobyPls View Post
In the league I run, the Mulligan Man gets one extra shot per hole, or they can pay an additional entry fee for two shots from every spot. Aces and CTP on second shots still count and don't require an extra fee.
Out of curiosity, why would mulligan get two CTP throws when everyone else only gets one? Is it customary to split CTP's with your partner? If not, you're screwing everyone else who only gets one throw. I'm seriously confused how that works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitting the Ace Pot in Doubles mrDROCK General Disc Golf Chat 63 05-27-2016 12:04 PM
Doubles Ace Pot Etiquette chosenmatrix General Disc Golf Chat 63 04-21-2015 06:23 AM
"DGB" CANBY OREGON ECHO PARK SUNDAY DOUBLES CASH PAYOUT CTP ACE POT Natedawg315 Tournaments & Leagues 0 12-19-2012 12:04 PM
Odd player in doubles toss? robasse Tournaments & Leagues 27 11-15-2010 05:44 PM
Forehand - Odd Man Out mcduffiejc Technique & Strategy 35 07-28-2009 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.