#11  
Old 12-29-2018, 09:01 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 29.9
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,840
Niced 1,104 Times in 528 Posts
Default

If a player does not start the round, they are removed from the event results by the PDGA if the TD forgets to do it. If someone starts a round and doesn't finish, they get a 999 or 888 and will remain in the official results.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-29-2018, 09:56 PM
Understable Understable is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 27
Posts: 115
Niced 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
X 3 X a couple tournaments. It's a spree!


Too many details lacking for anyone here to be able to answer the OP's questions definitively. Did the players in question start the tournament? Did they finish a round or multiple rounds (that could/should be rated) before DNFing for the event?

Because there's a definite difference in how a player that registered but never showed up would be treated versus a player who began the tournament but failed to finish it. There's no official protocol (at least not that I've seen spelled out) regarding how to distribute any portion of an entry fee for a player that doesn't show at all. That's left entirely up to the TD. If the player completed a round, then I think the TD is obligated to list him and pay any associated fees to the PDGA.

The only real grey area I can see is a player who may have begun the first round but did not finish it. I've seen players like that listed in the results with all rounds 999, but I wouldn't be surprised if, with absolutely no scores to enter, a TD leaves him off the final results. I mean, how is a player that played 2 holes then ditched any different than one who never threw a shot? He gets no rating or points either way, so the player isn't losing out on anything if he's left off.

If anything, the only folks potentially affected by whether or not the player is officially listed are the ones in his division right around the cash line. And that's only if listing him versus not listing him affects the number of players paid out. Or if the TD included his entry in that division versus calling his entry general "added cash".

The concern about the PDGA missing out on a few bucks seems misplaced to me, and I'm all for the PDGA getting every dollar that they're entitled to.
You argument makes perfect sense. I just believe that if you paid to register, you should show up on the TD Report.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-29-2018, 11:15 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,519
Niced 2,374 Times in 1,121 Posts
Default

On the other hand, I think the results should show those players who actually participated.

I'm not sure what's to be gained by showing the no-shows and the late withdrawals.

Among other things, if they were listed in the results, all the other players in their divisions would get extra points for beating them.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-30-2018, 02:52 AM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
X 3 X a couple tournaments. It's a spree!


Too many details lacking for anyone here to be able to answer the OP's questions definitively. Did the players in question start the tournament? Did they finish a round or multiple rounds (that could/should be rated) before DNFing for the event?

Because there's a definite difference in how a player that registered but never showed up would be treated versus a player who began the tournament but failed to finish it. There's no official protocol (at least not that I've seen spelled out) regarding how to distribute any portion of an entry fee for a player that doesn't show at all. That's left entirely up to the TD. If the player completed a round, then I think the TD is obligated to list him and pay any associated fees to the PDGA.

The only real grey area I can see is a player who may have begun the first round but did not finish it. I've seen players like that listed in the results with all rounds 999, but I wouldn't be surprised if, with absolutely no scores to enter, a TD leaves him off the final results. I mean, how is a player that played 2 holes then ditched any different than one who never threw a shot? He gets no rating or points either way, so the player isn't losing out on anything if he's left off.

If anything, the only folks potentially affected by whether or not the player is officially listed are the ones in his division right around the cash line. And that's only if listing him versus not listing him affects the number of players paid out. Or if the TD included his entry in that division versus calling his entry general "added cash".

The concern about the PDGA missing out on a few bucks seems misplaced to me, and I'm all for the PDGA getting every dollar that they're entitled to.
PDGA sanctioning includes insurance, right? So if the player is on the course playing and possibly injuring theirself, that should be sufficient for the PDGA fee. Injury is quite possibly the reason for a lot of incomplete-round DNFs, even.

Last edited by Dan Ensor; 12-30-2018 at 02:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-30-2018, 07:43 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,519
Niced 2,374 Times in 1,121 Posts
Default

I agree that a player who plays, even just one hole, should be listed. For all sorts of reasons.

I can also imagine a TD erroneously leaving him off, because he's not sure how to handle it, or assumes with no scores that there's nothing to report, or because he yanked the card out of the scoreboard and forgot about it, or who knows what other reasons. Deliberately doing so to save $2 is possible, but way down the probability list.

Of course, in the cited cases we don't know if those players played even one hole, or were no-shows, or late withdrawals, or even earlier withdrawals that the TD didn't pull off the registered list promptly. I know, when I've had to maintain the registered list manually---much less common, these days---the last week before the tournament gets hectic and some things get put off until afterward.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-30-2018, 08:35 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,901
Niced 2,316 Times in 983 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Understable View Post
You argument makes perfect sense. I just believe that if you paid to register, you should show up on the TD Report.
If you paid and showed up, even for just one hole, yes. If you paid and are never seen at the course on the day(s) of the tournament, no.

My only point in suggesting the grey area exists is, like David suggests, for the instances where a TD might leave off a DNF player for any number of non-nefarious reasons that don't amount to trying to scam anyone (PDGA, players) out of a few bucks. As a TD, I wouldn't leave off a player who played and quit, but I could see where a TD might do so. And the harm is negligible at most.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-30-2018, 08:55 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,519
Niced 2,374 Times in 1,121 Posts
Default

If you want a really gray area, I played a tournament where a player signed in that morning, and never showed up at the first hole (he was to be on my card). We never did figure out what happened to him.
Reply With Quote
 

  #18  
Old 12-30-2018, 02:40 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 14.7
Courses Played: 288
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,439
Niced 1,657 Times in 854 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
If you want a really gray area, I played a tournament where a player signed in that morning, and never showed up at the first hole (he was to be on my card). We never did figure out what happened to him.

Flying Saucer Disc Golf... it's real.

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 12-30-2018 at 02:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to handle DNF before a final? JoakimBL Rules Questions & Discussion 6 09-13-2017 02:07 AM
Penalty for DNF and tanking The Hammer General Disc Golf Chat 228 03-27-2013 12:22 AM
DNF or Punking Out... optidiscic General Disc Golf Chat 85 03-07-2012 03:24 PM
DNF and Player Ratings. Spatula Cornroll General Disc Golf Chat 43 12-12-2010 09:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.