#1  
Old 04-11-2014, 11:22 AM
jchoate7's Avatar
jchoate7 jchoate7 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 663
Niced 18 Times in 10 Posts
Default Balled up Disc

So I was out throwing yesterday getting ready for a tourney with a buddy of mine and on a short approach I threw my Soft Vibram Summit to avoid a roll away. For those of you who don't know the soft Vibram rubber can literally be balled up and still bounce back to its original shape. Anyways because I was only a tap in away I had my buddy pick up for me and instead of picking it up he balled it up and threw it into the basket. We got to talking about if it was legal or not. We both came to the conclusion that it would be legal and he told me I should do it in the tourney on Sunday just to see people's reactions. What are your guys' thoughts on this?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2014, 11:23 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 33.2
Courses Played: 743
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,764
Niced 4,169 Times in 1,674 Posts
Default

Legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2014, 11:36 AM
nolangherity nolangherity is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: MPLS
Posts: 2,189
Niced 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

LEGALLLLL

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2014, 12:05 PM
namar's Avatar
namar namar is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: IA
Years Playing: 25
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,355
Niced 9 Times in 7 Posts
Default

totally legit, and it will be hilarious in tourney play.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2014, 12:25 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 24.4
Courses Played: 152
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,959
Niced 3,988 Times in 1,645 Posts
Default

Illegal. There are no "pick ups" or "gimmes" in tournament play.




Oh wait, you were asking about balling up the disc to throw it? Yeah, totally legal. Why wouldn't it be?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2014, 12:55 PM
jchoate7's Avatar
jchoate7 jchoate7 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 663
Niced 18 Times in 10 Posts
Default

I didn't think it wouldn't be illegal I was just seeing your guys' thoughts on the situation. I think I should just do it on the close "gimme" putts just to get a reaction out of the other players on my card and mess with their mental game a bit lol.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2014, 01:02 PM
46YearOldSlinger's Avatar
46YearOldSlinger 46YearOldSlinger is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh NC
Years Playing: 9.1
Courses Played: 133
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,052
Niced 94 Times in 59 Posts
Default

I'm curious, how far do you think you could do that fairly reliably?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2014, 01:04 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Escondido, CA
Years Playing: 20.2
Courses Played: 831
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 14,396
Niced 35 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchoate7 View Post
I didn't think it wouldn't be illegal I was just seeing your guys' thoughts on the situation. I think I should just do it on the close "gimme" putts just to get a reaction out of the other players on my card and mess with their mental game a bit lol.
I wouldn't care a bit if you did that on my card, it would be mildly amusing. I would, however, be happy to laugh when it popped out of your hand wrong and you missed a 10' putt trying to get a reaction.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2014, 01:20 PM
peabody's Avatar
peabody peabody is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Years Playing: 19.1
Courses Played: 55
Posts: 1,414
Niced 177 Times in 89 Posts
Default

I thought modifying a disc was against the rules.?
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-11-2014, 01:45 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Escondido, CA
Years Playing: 20.2
Courses Played: 831
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 14,396
Niced 35 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peabody View Post
I thought modifying a disc was against the rules.?
Is it modifying the disc if the disc pops right back to it's original shape?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disc Claw by Hive Disc Golf- Disc retriever Aim For The Chains Other Gear 1 07-26-2016 02:08 PM
1 Disc, 2 Disc, Red Disc, Blue Disc: New&Used, Pearly/Gummy & Cheap! GripLock13 The Marketplace 8 03-19-2013 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.