#11
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
I think you have to make all your throws yourself in a tournament. You can't have your friend executing your tap-ins.
Sorry. Sponsored Links
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
I mean we were screwing around a bit and throwing it about 10 ft max. And for those of you saying I can't have a friend tap in, that was never the question.
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
![]() Quote:
(That's why I apologized at the end.) Probably should have used a smiley. |
#14
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
Bet this technique would work just as well with a Blowfly or Gum Putt
Todays PSA: It's the interwebz, folks - tone of voice doesn't come across. Therefore attempts at sarcasm can't be subtle, or they'll likely be missed because the reader has little context to frame your response. |
#15
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
I'll do better next time.
|
#16
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Apologies for the necro bump, but I figured it would be better than creating a new thread.
Seems like wadding up a disc would definitely alter the flight characteristics. I also don't see anything in the rules about flight modification needing to be permanent to be illegal. As far as I can see, rolling a blowfly up into a ball and throwing it would be illegal while throwing it once it has returned to its original shape would not be illegal. |
#17
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
Saw Matt Bell ball up a Blowfly in a tournament video this past season. Gotta believe it's still legal. It's not permanent altering of a disc.
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Modifying the disc in a way that alters its original flight characteristics;" There's no mention of the modifications needing to be permanent to be illegal in the rules that I can find. In a reddit post from 6 months ago here, a user comments that "Temporarily modified is temporarily illegal. The PDGA responded to questions sent in about this very putt." that to me makes the most sense, but I don't see any proof about the PDGA's response |
#19
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Per 813.01 Illegal Disc and all the rules they give about it, bending/folding/balling up a disc does not meet the requirement of 'modification' that is intended by the rule. The exception is if that causes the disc to be permanently 'modified'. In the case of the "taco" throw by Matt Bell, the disc returns to its regular shape, so it isn't permanent. Yes, the rules don't specifically say the modification has to be permanent.
I don't recall seeing a Q&A about this and I've never heard anyone "call out" Matt Bell over his putting style. Unlike timing issues or stance violations...this one is pretty obvious....so I would have expected him to be called out over it if it was illegal. I'd be curious to hear what the Rules Gurus on this forum have to say.
|
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
I also really don't think that we can use the "other players haven't called him on it, so it is probably legal" as a convincing argument. The pros don't know all the rules, and they don't care to enforce some of the rules that they do know |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Disc Claw by Hive Disc Golf- Disc retriever | Aim For The Chains | Other Gear | 1 | 07-26-2016 02:08 PM |
![]() |
GripLock13 | The Marketplace | 8 | 03-19-2013 07:06 PM |