#11  
Old 04-11-2014, 02:09 PM
Broken Shoulder's Avatar
Broken Shoulder Broken Shoulder is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 13
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 3,803
Niced 1,983 Times in 766 Posts
Default

I think you have to make all your throws yourself in a tournament. You can't have your friend executing your tap-ins.

Sorry.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-11-2014, 02:24 PM
jchoate7's Avatar
jchoate7 jchoate7 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 663
Niced 18 Times in 10 Posts
Default

I mean we were screwing around a bit and throwing it about 10 ft max. And for those of you saying I can't have a friend tap in, that was never the question.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2014, 04:46 PM
Broken Shoulder's Avatar
Broken Shoulder Broken Shoulder is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 13
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 3,803
Niced 1,983 Times in 766 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchoate7 View Post
I mean we were screwing around a bit and throwing it about 10 ft max. And for those of you saying I can't have a friend tap in, that was never the question.
I know. It was sarcastic.
(That's why I apologized at the end.) Probably should have used a smiley.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-11-2014, 11:16 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 18
Courses Played: 397
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,289
Niced 9,260 Times in 3,641 Posts
Default

Bet this technique would work just as well with a Blowfly or Gum Putt

Todays PSA: It's the interwebz, folks - tone of voice doesn't come across. Therefore attempts at sarcasm can't be subtle, or they'll likely be missed because the reader has little context to frame your response.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-12-2014, 01:44 AM
Broken Shoulder's Avatar
Broken Shoulder Broken Shoulder is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 13
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 3,803
Niced 1,983 Times in 766 Posts
Default

I'll do better next time.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:11 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 1,077
Niced 820 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Apologies for the necro bump, but I figured it would be better than creating a new thread.

Seems like wadding up a disc would definitely alter the flight characteristics. I also don't see anything in the rules about flight modification needing to be permanent to be illegal. As far as I can see, rolling a blowfly up into a ball and throwing it would be illegal while throwing it once it has returned to its original shape would not be illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:23 PM
The Shide's Avatar
The Shide The Shide is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Years Playing: 45
Courses Played: 320
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 715
Niced 374 Times in 194 Posts
Default

Saw Matt Bell ball up a Blowfly in a tournament video this past season. Gotta believe it's still legal. It's not permanent altering of a disc.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:30 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 1,077
Niced 820 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Shide View Post
Saw Matt Bell ball up a Blowfly in a tournament video this past season. Gotta believe it's still legal.
I've seen him do it as well, and it's part of the reason I'm making this post. Just because a player does something and doesn't get called on it doesn't mean it's legal

Quote:
It's not permanent altering of a disc.
"Other modifications to a disc after production make the disc illegal, including but not limited to:
Modifying the disc in a way that alters its original flight characteristics;"

There's no mention of the modifications needing to be permanent to be illegal in the rules that I can find. In a reddit post from 6 months ago here, a user comments that "Temporarily modified is temporarily illegal. The PDGA responded to questions sent in about this very putt." that to me makes the most sense, but I don't see any proof about the PDGA's response
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:42 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,799
Niced 1,287 Times in 719 Posts
Default

Per 813.01 Illegal Disc and all the rules they give about it, bending/folding/balling up a disc does not meet the requirement of 'modification' that is intended by the rule. The exception is if that causes the disc to be permanently 'modified'. In the case of the "taco" throw by Matt Bell, the disc returns to its regular shape, so it isn't permanent. Yes, the rules don't specifically say the modification has to be permanent.

I don't recall seeing a Q&A about this and I've never heard anyone "call out" Matt Bell over his putting style. Unlike timing issues or stance violations...this one is pretty obvious....so I would have expected him to be called out over it if it was illegal.

I'd be curious to hear what the Rules Gurus on this forum have to say.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:47 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 1,077
Niced 820 Times in 429 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post
Per 813.01 Illegal Disc and all the rules they give about it, bending/folding/balling up a disc does not meet the requirement of 'modification' that is intended by the rule.
Where do you see that bending/folding/balling up is OK in 13.01? Or is this something that you're inferring? They're not explicitly listed as illegal modifications, but the examples of illegal disc modifications listed are "including but not limited to:..."

Quote:
The exception is if that causes the disc to be permanently 'modified'. In the case of the "taco" throw by Matt Bell, the disc returns to its regular shape, so it isn't permanent. Yes, the rules don't specifically say the modification has to be permanent.

I don't recall seeing a Q&A about this and I've never heard anyone "call out" Matt Bell over his putting style. Unlike timing issues or stance violations...this one is pretty obvious....so I would have expected him to be called out over it if it was illegal.

I'd be curious to hear what the Rules Gurus on this forum have to say.
Also curious to see what the Rules Gurus say. Chuck said legal previously in this thread, but that was back in 2014.

I also really don't think that we can use the "other players haven't called him on it, so it is probably legal" as a convincing argument. The pros don't know all the rules, and they don't care to enforce some of the rules that they do know
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disc Claw by Hive Disc Golf- Disc retriever Aim For The Chains Other Gear 1 07-26-2016 02:08 PM
1 Disc, 2 Disc, Red Disc, Blue Disc: New&Used, Pearly/Gummy & Cheap! GripLock13 The Marketplace 8 03-19-2013 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.