#1  
Old 11-19-2021, 01:48 PM
drk229 drk229 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 25
Niced 25 Times in 7 Posts
Question Making the mando and being behind it

Had this one happen a little while back. It was a New England Team Challenge so, competitive, but casual. No caddy book or anything.

Hole shape is mando about 70 feet up the fairway, must pass tree on right, fairway is wooded on either side, and the hole doglegs left after the mando.

Player throws his drive, it makes the mando but hits the next tree and comes backwards on the left side of the mando.

On his next throw does he have to go through the mando?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2021, 02:19 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 1,078
Niced 823 Times in 430 Posts
Default

https://www.pdga.com/faq/rules/qa-ma...k-around-other

I think this picture addresses the situation you're describing:

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2021, 02:22 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 48
Courses Played: 479
Posts: 6,275
Niced 3,592 Times in 1,637 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drk229 View Post
Had this one happen a little while back. It was a New England Team Challenge so, competitive, but casual. No caddy book or anything.

Hole shape is mando about 70 feet up the fairway, must pass tree on right, fairway is wooded on either side, and the hole doglegs left after the mando.

Player throws his drive, it makes the mando but hits the next tree and comes backwards on the left side of the mando.

On his next throw does he have to go through the mando?
At this point, it's probably better to wait for the 2022 rules to come out before trying to figure this out.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2021, 02:48 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 15.8
Courses Played: 237
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,004
Niced 945 Times in 539 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
At this point, it's probably better to wait for the 2022 rules to come out before trying to figure this out.
Yep. Tomorrow the ruling on that is very clear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2021, 03:22 PM
GripEnemy's Avatar
GripEnemy GripEnemy is offline
Thread_Killer :::crickets:::
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Years Playing: 20.1
Courses Played: 43
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,028
Niced 2,030 Times in 998 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
At this point, it's probably better to wait for the 2022 rules to come out before trying to figure this out.
Is there sarcasm in your post? No rule change should effect this question.

To me, once beyond the mando like OP stated it's nullified. Tree kick or rollaway doesn't matter. They successfully went right of the mando regardless of what happened afterwards.

Why would they alter anything about this rule(s)?

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2021, 04:04 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 48
Courses Played: 479
Posts: 6,275
Niced 3,592 Times in 1,637 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GripEnemy View Post
Is there sarcasm in your post? No rule change should effect this question.

To me, once beyond the mando like OP stated it's nullified. Tree kick or rollaway doesn't matter. They successfully went right of the mando regardless of what happened afterwards.

Why would they alter anything about this rule(s)?
Since 2018, the concept of "making" the mando has been gone. It's all about getting a penalty for going on the wrong side of the mando.

The wrong side of the mando is a prohibited route, rather than the correct side being a required route.

Here is the 2022 rule:

Quote:
804 Regulated Routes
804.01 Mandatory Routes
A. A mandatory route restricts the path the disc may take to the target.
B. The restricted space is a vertical plane marked by one or more objects or other markers which define the edges of the space.
C. If a throw clearly and completely enters a restricted space, the player receives one penalty throw. The lie for the next throw is the drop zone for that mandatory. If no drop zone has been designated, the lie for the next throw is the previous lie.
The mando is never nullified.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2021, 05:18 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,800
Niced 1,289 Times in 720 Posts
Default

I think I have an understanding of this new rule....

With the new rule, there's no mention of where the disc comes to rest. It used to be that if the disc passed to the 'wrong' side of the mando, but came back around the mando marker, finally coming to rest on the 'good' side of the mando...the throw was good. Now, with no mention of the disc coming to rest, if it fully enters the restricted area the thrower gets the penalty.

Look at my crappy drawing of a double mando....everything between the double mando and the road (OB) is restricted area. The double mando is shown by the line between the two mando poles. It used to be that if the disc followed the brown line and ended up to the right of the mando, it was good. But with the 2022 rule, the disc completely entered the restricted area, so the player has to take a penalty and go to the drop zone.

Imagine if the OB rule was worded the same, then a disc that entered the OB would be OB regardless if it came back inbounds somewhere.

--Disclaimer, I don't know if the proper term for that is a double mando, or just a mando. There's two mando poles, but a line is from one to the other.
Attached Images
File Type: png Mando.png (12.6 KB, 63 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2021, 10:10 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 48
Courses Played: 479
Posts: 6,275
Niced 3,592 Times in 1,637 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post
I think I have an understanding of this new rule....

With the new rule, there's no mention of where the disc comes to rest. It used to be that if the disc passed to the 'wrong' side of the mando, but came back around the mando marker, finally coming to rest on the 'good' side of the mando...the throw was good. Now, with no mention of the disc coming to rest, if it fully enters the restricted area the thrower gets the penalty.

Look at my crappy drawing of a double mando....everything between the double mando and the road (OB) is restricted area. The double mando is shown by the line between the two mando poles. It used to be that if the disc followed the brown line and ended up to the right of the mando, it was good. But with the 2022 rule, the disc completely entered the restricted area, so the player has to take a penalty and go to the drop zone.

...
Close.

The "restricted space" is a vertical plane, not an area on the ground. You're not allowed to throw your disc through the vertical plane.

On your drawing the mando was missed when the brown line first crossed the green line. Nothing after that matters. Take a penalty and go to the drop zone.

(Important note: This particular example would be a crappy way to design a mando because of the difficulty of actually seeing whether the brown line ever passed between the poles or not.)

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2022, 09:36 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 77
Posts: 1,555
Niced 720 Times in 335 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post
Imagine if the OB rule was worded the same, then a disc that entered the OB would be OB regardless if it came back inbounds somewhere.
Then it would be a mandatory, not OB. OB and mandatories serve two different purposes. One is based on position, the other on flight. There is a reason they are written differently.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 01-01-2022, 01:55 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 33.2
Courses Played: 743
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,764
Niced 4,169 Times in 1,674 Posts
Default

Think of the Restricted Space (Missed Mando) plane as a pane of fragile glass. If your disc breaks the glass coming through its front OR back side, you get penalized.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a missed mando ? araytx Rules Questions & Discussion 108 08-15-2016 09:24 AM
What is your mandatory disc for making mando's? tu-f-o Discs 56 06-11-2014 11:28 PM
Mando or no mando JoakimBL Rules Questions & Discussion 16 05-12-2014 09:45 AM
Drive hits the mando object.. second throw mando? jeverett General Disc Golf Chat 19 02-08-2011 04:17 AM
Quadruple Mando? Cgkdisc Disc Golf Courses 44 07-16-2010 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.