#11  
Old 01-01-2022, 02:26 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 48
Courses Played: 479
Posts: 6,275
Niced 3,592 Times in 1,637 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Think of the Restricted Space (Missed Mando) plane as a pane of fragile glass. If your disc breaks the glass coming through its front OR back side, you get penalized.
That's a good way to think of it. The point about either side is important.

Keep in mind it's not a violation unless the disc clearly goes completely through the glass. Just making a crack doesn't count as a miss.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-01-2022, 09:31 PM
roblee roblee is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 221
Niced 128 Times in 71 Posts
Default

If a made mando kicks and stops on the back (good) side but with just a part of the disc poking through the plane I recon this is no penalty but how is this marked and how can you legally throw?

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-01-2022, 10:09 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,799
Niced 1,287 Times in 719 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roblee View Post
If a made mando kicks and stops on the back (good) side but with just a part of the disc poking through the plane I recon this is no penalty but how is this marked and how can you legally throw?
Unlike an OB where no part of your stance can be OB....you CAN stand on the restricted side of the mando. By the wording the area is only restricted for the disc.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-01-2022, 10:35 PM
txmxer txmxer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas
Years Playing: 2.2
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,232
Niced 2,060 Times in 1,064 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post
Unlike an OB where no part of your stance can be OB....you CAN stand on the restricted side of the mando. By the wording the area is only restricted for the disc.
But, if the disc is on the plane, your stance is completely behind the plane.

Do you have to make sure your release is beyond the plane? Let’s say you want to throw a Brodie style scoober. That might mean disc release is behind the plane.

I know it’s a technicality, but it is distinctly a possibility

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-02-2022, 03:07 PM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 26
Courses Played: 161
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,444
Niced 1,044 Times in 459 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txmxer View Post
But, if the disc is on the plane, your stance is completely behind the plane.

Do you have to make sure your release is beyond the plane? Let’s say you want to throw a Brodie style scoober. That might mean disc release is behind the plane.

I know it’s a technicality, but it is distinctly a possibility
Diagram?

It sounds like you're standing on the wrong side of your disc.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-02-2022, 03:15 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,799
Niced 1,287 Times in 719 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
Diagram?

It sounds like you're standing on the wrong side of your disc.
Look at my poorly drawn picture...now let's say the disc ended next to the mando line, your reachback could break the plane and enter the restricted area.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-02-2022, 03:24 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,799
Niced 1,287 Times in 719 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Think of the Restricted Space (Missed Mando) plane as a pane of fragile glass. If your disc breaks the glass coming through its front OR back side, you get penalized.
Thank you for this way of looking at it. During a break in a tournament today, my group was discussing this rule and a couple had trouble understanding how to apply it....I brought up your "breaking the glass" and they got it.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-02-2022, 04:56 PM
txmxer txmxer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas
Years Playing: 2.2
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,232
Niced 2,060 Times in 1,064 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
Diagram?

It sounds like you're standing on the wrong side of your disc.
I may be misunderstanding the rule and some of the comments, but this is what I envisioned. The disc clears the mando, gets a tree kick and rolls backward on the wrong side of the mando and lays down on the mando line. It is my understanding, this is not a missed mando?

If it is not a missed mando, the player then must take a stance behind the mando line and make a throw from behind the mando line. Can the player throw the blue path, or must the next throw follow the green line?



Attached Images
File Type: jpg mando2.jpg (14.4 KB, 196 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-02-2022, 08:36 PM
BillFleming BillFleming is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Arizona
Years Playing: 3.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,799
Niced 1,287 Times in 719 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txmxer View Post
I may be misunderstanding the rule and some of the comments, but this is what I envisioned. The disc clears the mando, gets a tree kick and rolls backward on the wrong side of the mando and lays down on the mando line. It is my understanding, this is not a missed mando?

If it is not a missed mando, the player then must take a stance behind the mando line and make a throw from behind the mando line. Can the player throw the blue path, or must the next throw follow the green line?



The MOST important part of the new mando rule is that it isn't about where the disc comes to rest. The ONLY thing that matters is - did it FULLY enter the restricted area.....if so, take a penalty and throw from drop zone or where your last lie was. What the disc does after entering the restricted area doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 01-02-2022, 08:49 PM
txmxer txmxer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas
Years Playing: 2.2
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,232
Niced 2,060 Times in 1,064 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post
The MOST important part of the new mando rule is that it isn't about where the disc comes to rest. The ONLY thing that matters is - did it FULLY enter the restricted area.....if so, take a penalty and throw from drop zone or where your last lie was. What the disc does after entering the restricted area doesn't matter.
Sorry, the above is okay or is not okay?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a missed mando ? araytx Rules Questions & Discussion 108 08-15-2016 09:24 AM
What is your mandatory disc for making mando's? tu-f-o Discs 56 06-11-2014 11:28 PM
Mando or no mando JoakimBL Rules Questions & Discussion 16 05-12-2014 09:45 AM
Drive hits the mando object.. second throw mando? jeverett General Disc Golf Chat 19 02-08-2011 04:17 AM
Quadruple Mando? Cgkdisc Disc Golf Courses 44 07-16-2010 09:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.