#1  
Old 12-01-2021, 05:05 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 48
Courses Played: 479
Posts: 6,275
Niced 3,592 Times in 1,637 Posts
Default 2022 PDGA Rules

Start here:
https://www.pdga.com/news/pdga-offic...l-updated-2022
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2021, 05:20 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 33.2
Courses Played: 743
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,764
Niced 4,169 Times in 1,674 Posts
Default

There seems to be a subtle "gotcha" in the rule updates under Interference that might make you think twice before asking someone to stop your disc going OB in water.

"If a throw is interfered with by request of the thrower, that is considered the same as a player interfering with their own throw."

If you ask a player in your group who's spotting to stop your disc from going into a pond, and they do it, you'll have to re-throw from your original lie with penalty (stroke and distance) whereas if the spotter lets your disc go OB, you mark your lie where it went out with penalty and maybe a lost disc if not retrievable.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2021, 06:18 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 77
Posts: 1,555
Niced 720 Times in 335 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
"If a throw is interfered with by request of the thrower, that is considered the same as a player interfering with their own throw."
That is similar to (but same effect as) ORDG-2013:804.03.G. In 2013, the disc was considered to be a lost disc if intentionally saved from certain peril.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2021, 07:48 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 33.2
Courses Played: 743
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,764
Niced 4,169 Times in 1,674 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
That is similar to (but same effect as) ORDG-2013:804.03.G. In 2013, the disc was considered to be a lost disc if intentionally saved from certain peril.
Doesn't mean it's an appropriate penalty.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2021, 06:52 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 28
Courses Played: 122
Posts: 8,252
Niced 5,231 Times in 1,937 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Doesn't mean it's an appropriate penalty.
Also doesn't mean anyone would ever enforce it as written.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2021, 07:26 AM
EllEstar EllEstar is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Iceland
Posts: 189
Niced 181 Times in 86 Posts
Default

Quote:
Where local law and event venue rules permit, players who are of legal age to do so may use or display alcohol between the two-minute signal and submitting their scorecard (see 3.03.B.5). However, players still may not drink to excess or be publicly intoxicated (see 3.03.B.6).
You can now drink in PDGA leagues. I guess they realized that the vast majority of leagues aren't sanctioned and wanted to remove one barrier.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2021, 07:31 AM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 18
Courses Played: 397
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,289
Niced 9,262 Times in 3,642 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EllEstar View Post
You can now drink in PDGA leagues. I guess they realized that the vast majority of leagues aren't sanctioned and wanted to remove one barrier.
Great seque!

From stopping a disc from going in the pond to drinking at a sanctioned league.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2021, 07:38 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 33.2
Courses Played: 743
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,764
Niced 4,169 Times in 1,674 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EllEstar View Post
You can now drink in PDGA leagues. I guess they realized that the vast majority of leagues aren't sanctioned and wanted to remove one barrier.
That's been allowed since sanctioned leagues started as long as the park allowed it. Many don't.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2021, 08:15 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 26
Courses Played: 161
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,444
Niced 1,044 Times in 459 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EllEstar View Post
You can now drink in PDGA leagues. I guess they realized that the vast majority of leagues aren't sanctioned and wanted to remove one barrier.
Has always been legal.

https://www.pdga.com/faq/leagues#t136n21309
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 12-02-2021, 08:41 AM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 1,078
Niced 823 Times in 430 Posts
Default

Just so I understand the no cash without a PDGA number rule:

I started playing tournaments in 2014, and then cashed a few times from 2015-2017. never had a PDGA membership though, always paid the $10 fee. Starting next year, I will need to have a PDGA membership (not necessarily pro level?) to be able to accept cash at the same tournaments as 2015-2017?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2022 PDGA Champions Cup - 4th Pro Major ToddL Tournaments & Leagues 152 03-02-2022 10:19 PM
Public comment period on 2022 rules updates krupicka Rules Questions & Discussion 67 02-17-2022 07:58 AM
pdga rules question LukeButch Rules Questions & Discussion 2 07-27-2016 02:34 PM
Need help with a PDGA rules chris deitzel Rules Questions & Discussion 21 04-27-2016 08:19 PM
Would you play a PDGA event where the TD does not follow PDGA rules? chris deitzel Rules Questions & Discussion 20 04-07-2016 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.