#21  
Old 12-03-2021, 04:33 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 15.1
Courses Played: 40
Posts: 1,146
Niced 1,019 Times in 401 Posts
Default

To take the holing out wording change into absurdity, because, well, why the hell not.

B. In order to complete a hole with a basket target, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the tray or the chains below the chain support.

If I decide to make a new basket exactly the same as our usual DGUK Castle basket but with chains hanging on down through the cage towards the ground and another ring holding them at ground height this would still meet PDGA approval ( as far as I can see) and if the chains under the basket caught a disc this would count as holed out as per above wording?

It feels like a wording change to get rid of the issues with extremely rare wedged discs or discs balancing on the cage may have opened up more issues than it solves. Wedgies on new baskets are nigh on never happens so why are we writing rules for antiquated equipment which will be less and less used going forward, why not make the top level basket specs a bit more stringent instead to stop the issue?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-03-2021, 04:40 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 15.1
Courses Played: 40
Posts: 1,146
Niced 1,019 Times in 401 Posts
Default

I like the OB change, this is a good simplification.

With the mando rule change what happens to a disc that goes the right side, hits a tree, stops and rolls backwards through the restricted air space? Is this a penalty throw and rethrow/dropzone? or is this fine and you just need to make sure your next throw doesn't go through the restricted space. IE, is the restricted air space multidirectional or just one direction (throwing side only)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-03-2021, 04:48 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 15.1
Courses Played: 40
Posts: 1,146
Niced 1,019 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillFleming View Post

I'm not happy that my membership money is being used to prop-up a start-up network...especially after the fiasco that recently happened where viewers were shutout from seeing a playoff. I think more members used uDisc than watch DGN.
Not sure I follow? The PDGA aren't putting money towards the DGN (as far as I can tell) , the DGN is just giving a discount to the PDGA member as a marketing tool? What is different between this discount and the former UDisc one, if anything it's better as the PDGA must have been giving some money to UDisc for the free subscription albeit at a discounted price, (I've not looked at the PDGA accounts but I would assume that was the deal)

Why would UDisc need to give out free subscriptions anymore, their marketing worked and worked well, now they need to monetise the new users they bought in.

Finally the PDGA have enough of a carrot to effectively force membership, it would be a strange decision not to enforce membership for B and A tiers and allow C tiers to still work as the entrance level. Ratings are a helluva drug to most am players however much certain loud voices are shouting against them.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-03-2021, 06:59 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 77
Posts: 1,555
Niced 720 Times in 335 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhatton1 View Post
I like the OB change, this is a good simplification.

With the mando rule change what happens to a disc that goes the right side, hits a tree, stops and rolls backwards through the restricted air space? Is this a penalty throw and rethrow/dropzone? or is this fine and you just need to make sure your next throw doesn't go through the restricted space. IE, is the restricted air space multidirectional or just one direction (throwing side only)
If the disc travels any direction across the restricted space, the mandatory has been missed. The goal here was to make it simple and remove the need for a dozen different pictures to try to explain what is / isn't allowed.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-03-2021, 07:07 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 15.1
Courses Played: 40
Posts: 1,146
Niced 1,019 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
If the disc travels any direction across the restricted space, the mandatory has been missed. The goal here was to make it simple and remove the need for a dozen different pictures to try to explain what is / isn't allowed.
So yes it would be a penalty and rethrow/dropzone?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-03-2021, 07:47 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 77
Posts: 1,555
Niced 720 Times in 335 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhatton1 View Post
So yes it would be a penalty and rethrow/dropzone?
Yes it be penalty and relocate lie if you missed the mandatory from either direction.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-03-2021, 07:59 AM
davetherocketguy's Avatar
davetherocketguy davetherocketguy is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southwest Michigan
Years Playing: 17.8
Courses Played: 108
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,566
Niced 3,508 Times in 1,395 Posts
Default

Well this has the potential to be abused:

Quote:
F. A disc that is questioned by another player or an Official is illegal unless it is subsequently approved by the Director.
So if I want to be a royal PITA I could question every disc in a players bag and make them go find the TD for approval before they could begin play. If I were TD I'm not sure how I'd react - probably not in a positive manner lol. Good times.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-03-2021, 08:20 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 15.1
Courses Played: 40
Posts: 1,146
Niced 1,019 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davetherocketguy View Post
Well this has the potential to be abused:



So if I want to be a royal PITA I could question every disc in a players bag and make them go find the TD for approval before they could begin play. If I were TD I'm not sure how I'd react - probably not in a positive manner lol. Good times.
Round one, you've traipsed to the furthest out hole for a shotgun start, the two minute warning sounds and your main competition turns to you...."Hey you, your entire bag of discs are overweight."

I would suggest there is room for disqualification for that player however what do you do in the situation as their disqualification at a later stage doesn't mean you don't have to tee off in two minutes with no discs?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-03-2021, 08:31 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 26
Courses Played: 161
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,444
Niced 1,044 Times in 459 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davetherocketguy View Post
Well this has the potential to be abused:



So if I want to be a royal PITA I could question every disc in a players bag and make them go find the TD for approval before they could begin play. If I were TD I'm not sure how I'd react - probably not in a positive manner lol. Good times.
That exact wording got introduced to the rules in 2013 and hasn't changed since.

And the player can still throw the disc(s) in question. If the TD subsequently approves them, then they weren't illegal and they incur no penalty.

Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 12-03-2021, 08:38 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 15.1
Courses Played: 40
Posts: 1,146
Niced 1,019 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
That exact wording got introduced to the rules in 2013 and hasn't changed since.

And the player can still throw the disc(s) in question. If the TD subsequently approves them, then they weren't illegal and they incur no penalty.
Just made this realisation so ignore my above post. The call is to effectively timestamp when penalties would incur from, not to stop you using those discs. It's up to you to continue if you think they are fine. Or at least I think that's how the rule is meant?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2022 PDGA Champions Cup - 4th Pro Major ToddL Tournaments & Leagues 152 03-02-2022 10:19 PM
Public comment period on 2022 rules updates krupicka Rules Questions & Discussion 67 02-17-2022 07:58 AM
pdga rules question LukeButch Rules Questions & Discussion 2 07-27-2016 02:34 PM
Need help with a PDGA rules chris deitzel Rules Questions & Discussion 21 04-27-2016 08:19 PM
Would you play a PDGA event where the TD does not follow PDGA rules? chris deitzel Rules Questions & Discussion 20 04-07-2016 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.