#1  
Old 12-28-2019, 01:34 AM
Rayph1n Rayph1n is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NE Ohio
Years Playing: 0.5
Courses Played: 2
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 90
Niced 28 Times in 22 Posts
Default Newb question about throwing

I have been focusing on my form and using the one step drill in my practice routine and it has really helped to get my throw in sync and help with a lot of other issues I'm having. My question is are you aloud to use that during a round? Like if I tee off can I just do a one step throw? Would this also be considered a run up when using it from the fairway?

I googled a bunch and couldn't find anything and the rules didn't say anything specifically about this.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2019, 06:10 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.8
Courses Played: 127
Posts: 15,405
Niced 3,902 Times in 1,646 Posts
Default

I'm not sure what the one-step drill is, but this generalized summary might help:

Off the tee, at the moment of release, at least one foot must be on the pad. The other can be in the air, but not touching the ground off the pad.

For a fairway shot, at the moment of release, one foot must be on the lie (immediately behind the marker). The other foot can be anywhere on the ground behind the marker, or in the air.

The important part is "at the moment of release". Whatever happens before that moment, or after that moment, doesn't matter. (Once you're within 10 meters of the basket, "after that moment" matters, but I presume that's not what you're thinking about.)

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2019, 06:53 AM
Rayph1n Rayph1n is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: NE Ohio
Years Playing: 0.5
Courses Played: 2
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 90
Niced 28 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Thanks for the help. Basically the drill is the last part of the x step. Eliminates the run up to concentrate on reach back to follow through.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pleUjYKwf0g
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2019, 08:05 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 220
Posts: 15,644
Niced 3,222 Times in 1,962 Posts
Default

Legal.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2019, 09:34 AM
DiscFifty DiscFifty is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,643
Niced 1,163 Times in 673 Posts
Default

I would also recommend learning how to throw form a stand still where you don't pick up either feet off the ground. Will come in handy for fairway/approach shots. The 1 step can be a little hard to always plant your lead foot behind the marker.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2019, 11:13 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 23.9
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,068
Niced 460 Times in 210 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
The important part is "at the moment of release". Whatever happens before that moment, or after that moment, doesn't matter. (Once you're within 10 meters of the basket, "after that moment" matters, but I presume that's not what you're thinking about.)
Do a run up, stand still, run 20 steps, take 1 step, do a somersault, walk on your hands ... absolutely none of that matters. The ONLY thing that matters is what David said above. One point of contact has to be right behind your disc, and no points of contact can be closer than your disc. (And you do it within 30 seconds and don’t break any tree limbs in the process)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2019, 02:52 PM
zontar zontar is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: lincoln ne
Courses Played: 53
Posts: 761
Niced 357 Times in 218 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
Do a run up, stand still, run 20 steps, take 1 step, do a somersault, walk on your hands ... absolutely none of that matters. The ONLY thing that matters is what David said above. One point of contact has to be right behind your disc, and no points of contact can be closer than your disc. (And you do it within 30 seconds and don’t break any tree limbs in the process)
you can walk on your hands, but must hold the disc in your teeth. if disc touches the ground, it's a penalty stroke, I believe....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2019, 03:54 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 366
Niced 213 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zontar View Post
you can walk on your hands, but must hold the disc in your teeth. if disc touches the ground, it's a penalty stroke, I believe....
I believe... that what you believe... is not true.

You can drag the disc along the ground if you want. There's nothing in the rules about what a disc touches. The propulsion and release of a disc in order to change is position defines a throw. And coming to rest defines 'the end' of a throw.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2019, 09:22 AM
zontar zontar is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: lincoln ne
Courses Played: 53
Posts: 761
Niced 357 Times in 218 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
I believe... that what you believe... is not true.

You can drag the disc along the ground if you want. There's nothing in the rules about what a disc touches. The propulsion and release of a disc in order to change is position defines a throw. And coming to rest defines 'the end' of a throw.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
dang. now I have to completely rethink my "hand-walk x-step" that I was crushing with
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 12-31-2019, 09:49 AM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 213
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,305
Niced 350 Times in 212 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zontar View Post
you can walk on your hands, but must hold the disc in your teeth. if disc touches the ground, it's a penalty stroke, I believe....
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
I believe... that what you believe... is not true.

You can drag the disc along the ground if you want. There's nothing in the rules about what a disc touches. The propulsion and release of a disc in order to change is position defines a throw. And coming to rest defines 'the end' of a throw.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by zontar View Post
dang. now I have to completely rethink my "hand-walk x-step" that I was crushing with
I. B. L.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newb Question Psyboth Newbie Intros and Q&A 14 09-12-2017 12:22 PM
NEWB Question about PDGA membership DukeSilver79 Newbie Intros and Q&A 3 09-29-2014 09:39 PM
Throwing question dkoz Discs 9 06-08-2014 04:29 PM
Non-newb asking a newb-ish question Darth Anovin Technique & Strategy 7 12-04-2013 09:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.