Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Improve Your Game > Technique & Strategy

Old 06-06-2016, 10:31 AM
Bogey Member

Courses Played: 3
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Abandoned drivers for mids and putters now I can't throw drivers.

Hello everyone I have been playing for around 3 months now and like most I started throwing super high speed over stable drivers. After posting my form and receiving tips, I abandoned my high speed drivers and started only throwing putters and mid ranges. My game has improved immensely and I am averaging 225-250 with my putters (DX aviar, wizard, and a retro line pure). I am averaging 250-275 with my midranges (shark3, stingray, roc3, Vroc, Kc pro roc). I hyzer flip these discs and get a super straight flight out them which is exciting to me because I've never been able to do that before. Problem is I cannot throw any of my drivers with any kind of accuracy. I'll pick up my Valkyrie or discraft crank and can drive them well over 300 ft but that 300ft is often way right of the pin. Should I stick with the mids and putters for a little while longer or start trying to control my drivers?
Sponsored Links
Old 06-06-2016, 10:37 AM
Double Eagle Member

Courses Played: 16
Niced 30 Times in 27 Posts

Are you throwing right hand backhand? It would be concerning if you are turning over your Valkyrie and Crank after "discing down" since that is the main issue that should be solved by throwing mids and putters for a while. Your drivers should probably be acting more stable rather than less stable...

What weight and plastic are your Valkyrie and Crank? Are they fluttering out of your hand? Post video of yourself throwing these discs and the issue will probably become clear.

It does take a little while to transition back to drivers after discing down for a while.
Old 06-06-2016, 10:58 AM
Bogey Member

Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts