#11  
Old 02-12-2020, 06:41 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.8
Courses Played: 127
Posts: 15,425
Niced 3,937 Times in 1,662 Posts
Default

I haven't played local doubles in recent years but, when I did, we paid the Cali guy for aces, just like any other ace. No conditions.

As others have said, there is no right or wrong way to do it (other than to not decide on a rule until after it happens).

One benefit of paying for the Cali aces is simplicity. You don't need a rule or reminders; you just pay for aces, period.

With the theory that aces are rare enough, on most courses, that the increased odds benefitting the Cali player are statistically insignificant; that being Cali was the luck of the draw; and that over the course of time, everyone is likely to be Cali, sooner or later, and get their infinitesimally better shot of their own.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-12-2020, 08:37 AM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 40.1
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,246
Niced 1,415 Times in 543 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

I understand a Cali has a small extra benefit with 2 throws when it comes to ace funds. But I also don't remember hearing about ace pots won by someone playing Cali. I'm sure it's happened before but not enough to be concerned about them getting an advantage over everyone else.

The odds are small so I'll go by the old K.I.S.S. rule.

Keep it simple s....

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-12-2020, 09:29 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 45.9
Courses Played: 373
Posts: 5,131
Niced 1,821 Times in 898 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I understand a Cali has a small extra benefit with 2 throws when it comes to ace funds. But I also don't remember hearing about ace pots won by someone playing Cali. I'm sure it's happened before but not enough to be concerned about them getting an advantage over everyone else.

The odds are small so I'll go by the old K.I.S.S. rule.

Keep it simple s....
Most people get that rule wrong. It's "Keep It Stupid-Simple". As in, that's how simple you want to keep it.

The other way: "Keep it Simple, Stupid!" is just an insult to the person you're giving the advice to.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-12-2020, 10:39 AM
Lazerface Lazerface is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Courses Played: 5
Posts: 845
Niced 500 Times in 239 Posts
Default

It's funny how regional this may be.

In every doubles league around St. Louis I've participated in (a lot) only the FIRST Cali drive counts toward an ace. Same for 50/50s typically, but for other freebie CTPs they usually allow either throw.

I have never seen an option to double the entry fee to have two throws from each lie, nor a double buy into ace pots/5050 for both throws to count.

I have always thought both shots from a Cali should count toward an ace and actually love the double buy idea as well.

Last edited by Lazerface; 02-12-2020 at 10:40 AM. Reason: words
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-12-2020, 10:55 AM
tbonesocrul tbonesocrul is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Detroit, MI
Courses Played: 107
Posts: 121
Niced 54 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Most people get that rule wrong. It's "Keep It Stupid-Simple". As in, that's how simple you want to keep it.

The other way: "Keep it Simple, Stupid!" is just an insult to the person you're giving the advice to.
Thankfully I'm usually misquoting it to myself

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-12-2020, 12:29 PM
GoobyPls's Avatar
GoobyPls GoobyPls is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Years Playing: 3.8
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,575
Niced 928 Times in 442 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampstead View Post
Out of curiosity, why would mulligan get two CTP throws when everyone else only gets one? Is it customary to split CTP's with your partner? If not, you're screwing everyone else who only gets one throw. I'm seriously confused how that works.
Mostly because nobody wants to deal with the headache. Pretty much all leagues in this area are run the same way mine is. It all averages out in the long run anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-12-2020, 12:36 PM
Hampstead's Avatar
Hampstead Hampstead is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spaceship Earth
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,544
Niced 2,172 Times in 702 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoobyPls View Post
Mostly because nobody wants to deal with the headache. Pretty much all leagues in this area are run the same way mine is. It all averages out in the long run anyway.
Are CTP's optional cash buy-in or free prizes available to everyone? If optional cash, not sure how giving people who pay the same number of throws is a headache. If they're just free prizes, still not sure how it's a headache but not as big of a deal as a bonus throw for cash. I just know that if I pay $1 or whatever and get 1 throw that I'd be pissed if someone else paid $1 to get 2 throws.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-12-2020, 12:38 PM
Hampstead's Avatar
Hampstead Hampstead is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spaceship Earth
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,544
Niced 2,172 Times in 702 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I understand a Cali has a small extra benefit with 2 throws when it comes to ace funds. But I also don't remember hearing about ace pots won by someone playing Cali. I'm sure it's happened before but not enough to be concerned about them getting an advantage over everyone else.

The odds are small so I'll go by the old K.I.S.S. rule.

Keep it simple s....
I've hit 3 ace pots as Cali. Around here we split, so throwing solo is extra incentive to ace. Especially when an unsplit ace pays more than 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-12-2020, 12:46 PM
GoobyPls's Avatar
GoobyPls GoobyPls is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Years Playing: 3.8
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,575
Niced 928 Times in 442 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampstead View Post
Are CTP's optional cash buy-in or free prizes available to everyone? If optional cash, not sure how giving people who pay the same number of throws is a headache. If they're just free prizes, still not sure how it's a headache but not as big of a deal as a bonus throw for cash. I just know that if I pay $1 or whatever and get 1 throw that I'd be pissed if someone else paid $1 to get 2 throws.
They're both. I always have two cash CTP's, and about half the time I have prizes as a third CTP (unwanted discs I got from a players pack, donated discs, a micro-basket, a pack of donated socks once). Nobody here has ever come to me complaining about what you're describing. Everybody has been Mulligan Man at some point, or will be. It all comes out in the wash.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 02-12-2020, 12:51 PM
Hampstead's Avatar
Hampstead Hampstead is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spaceship Earth
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 3,544
Niced 2,172 Times in 702 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoobyPls View Post
They're both. I always have two cash CTP's, and about half the time I have prizes as a third CTP (unwanted discs I got from a players pack, donated discs, a micro-basket, a pack of donated socks once). Nobody here has ever come to me complaining about what you're describing. Everybody has been Mulligan Man at some point, or will be. It all comes out in the wash.
Fair enough.


Glad we don't do that



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitting the Ace Pot in Doubles mrDROCK General Disc Golf Chat 63 05-27-2016 12:04 PM
Doubles Ace Pot Etiquette chosenmatrix General Disc Golf Chat 63 04-21-2015 06:23 AM
"DGB" CANBY OREGON ECHO PARK SUNDAY DOUBLES CASH PAYOUT CTP ACE POT Natedawg315 Tournaments & Leagues 0 12-19-2012 12:04 PM
Odd player in doubles toss? robasse Tournaments & Leagues 27 11-15-2010 05:44 PM
Forehand - Odd Man Out mcduffiejc Technique & Strategy 35 07-28-2009 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.