Old 04-16-2017, 02:53 PM

Courses Played: 43
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default PDGA Ratings Changes

So I've been reading through the Q&A on the PDGA website pertaining to PDGA ratings and I'm cross-eyed. I recently began playing PDGA tournaments 3 years ago in the Northeast. The majority of tournaments that I played in were very small C-Tiers with an occasional B-Tier sprinkled in here and there. The level of talent at the time I thought was good but looking back the majority of Open players were barely rated close to over 975. 6 months ago I moved to Southern California and have been absolutely blown away with the level of talent here and the popularity of the sport. I considered myself in the Northeast a borderline Int/Adv player I was rated mostly around the low 900's but I had won a few Intermediate Division tournaments and had even won an Advanced Division tournament in the Northeast. Now I've been playing for 6 months in Southern California and have been getting my butt kicked pretty handily in the Intermediate Division. Not only that by I have noticed my round ratings have significantly lowered at the same time, almost to the point where I feel I have to shoot pretty well just to score a round over 900. While I could definitely play better I don't feel as if my game is that off. Another note is that the majority of these tournaments have multiple 1000+ rated players in it. My question is am I just playing bad and need to step up my game (probably couldn't hurt) or am I finding the drastic round rating changes in the fact that higher level players are playing in the tournament and scoring 1000+ rated rounds more regularly than I was finding in the Northeast?
Sponsored Links
Old 04-16-2017, 03:02 PM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 68
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 131 Times in 66 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ermac010 View Post