Old 05-09-2020, 07:45 AM

Niced 17 Times in 16 Posts
Default Building my form

Greetings and salutations.

Im a 40 year old Icelander looking for help in building my DG form. Ive been playing for about 2 years and quickly started thinking about form technique but I injured my shoulder last year so Im kind of starting over now. I have been reading alot both here and on Heavydisc.com and trying to figure out how to get that proper form I want.

The faults that I can see that I have right now, looking at the video of me are:
1. Im not falling backwards enough at the top of the backswing. Maybe I need to work more on the Hershyzer drill? Also wondering wether my arm is coming up too high.
2. My shoulder is definitely collapsing in the forward swing. Its an issue I have from last year and I need to fix that. Any ideas on how to fix that?
3. Im tilting backwards in the power pocket. I dont really know wether this is an issue or not, but it looks weird.
4. My front leg seems to turn out when the ankle comes down. I didnt realize I was doing this until I recorded myself and saw it. I dont know why Im doing this, but it looks weird, and Im probably not bracing correctly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hivXlIr77Og

You guys can probably see other thing that Im not seeing and I would greatly appreciate any insight from you and advise on how to fix.
Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links

Last edited by StandingOnShoulders; 05-09-2020 at 07:49 AM. Reason: forgot something
Old 05-09-2020, 08:05 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 14.3
Courses Played: 227
Niced 4,113 Times in 2,494 Posts

I really like the way are setting everything up moving your feet and swinging. I agree with your assessment, and would say 1-4 are all related to each other and boils down to one fundamental thing... you are turning/spinning everything open before shifting forward from behind you, or closed.

https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forum...d.php?t=136487

Attached Images