Old 09-15-2017, 11:28 PM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 2.5
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 143 Times in 78 Posts
Default Starter Set and Info for a Newbie?

I'm a 50 year teacher from NC who has never played disc golf in my life. Coached regular golf for 5 years at the middle school where I teach but that's it...avid tennis player though

Anyway, a guy I teach with is a disc golfer and has been nice enough to invite me to play with him and another guy I work with, even though I'm older that both of them combined.

I don't want to put a good deal of money into it to start with...I'm used to playing tennis 3 or 4 times a week and with a 10 year old and a daughter in college I don't have a lot of extra time or money. So I want to start out cheap, under $30, and if I see I'm wanting to go golfing more than play tennis then I will look at putting more money into it if needed.

I've searched for beginner/starter sets for under $30 and the higher reviewed ones are:

Innova Disc Golf DX Starter Set (160g-175g) that includes Aviar putter, Rok midrange, Leopard driver $25

Innova Disc Golf DX Starter Set (160g-175g) that includes Aviar putter, Cobra midrange, Beast Distance Driver $25

Driven Disc Golf Starter Set that includes Aviar putter, Roc midrange, Valkyrie driver $27

Would one of these three make a great place to start my disc golf career? If so, which one would be the best one to go with?

btw: what should I carry my disc in around the course? Would a draw string bag work for now?

also: can someone shoot me a link to some videos that show me the ins and outs of how to hold/throw/etc. a disc properly and some strategy advice?

Thanks for any and all advice you can give!!!

TripleB
Sponsored Links
Old 09-15-2017, 11:56 PM
Eagle Member