Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 02-19-2017, 11:58 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 6.5
Courses Played: 22
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 1,672 Times in 734 Posts
Default Champion Eagle-X, Banshee, Firebird. Lighter weights?

These are three discs I have a lot of experience with, but only in 170gr+

How do these fly in 150gr, or 160gr champion, or Star plastic compared to max weight? Just looking for info on what's current off the shelf variety.

Why do I want to know? Recently I started to disc down in weight as an experiment and I have had some real interesting results and if there is no wind, playing wooded courses or throwing from a standstill in mud/snow, I find the lighter weights have some real advantage. I'm also getting older and planning for my future disc golf needs.

I already have quite a few lighter mids and drivers, but only one 160gr Teebird, but I prefer the Eagle to the Teebird.

Not looking for other companies discs, I plan on sticking with what I know.
Sponsored Links

Last edited by Keller; 02-19-2017 at 12:02 PM.
Old 02-19-2017, 12:54 PM
Birdie Member

Niced 25 Times in 20 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keller View Post
These are three discs I have a lot of experience with, but only in 170gr+

How do these fly in 150gr, or 160gr champion, or Star plastic compared to max weight? Just looking for info on what's current off the shelf variety.

Why do I want to know? Recently I started to disc down in weight as an experiment and I have had some real interesting results and if there is no wind, playing wooded courses or throwing from a standstill in mud/snow, I find the lighter weights have some real advantage. I'm also getting older and planning for my future disc golf needs.

I already have quite a few lighter mids and drivers, but only one 160gr Teebird, but I prefer the Eagle to the Teebird.

Not looking for other companies discs, I plan on sticking with what I know.