#1  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:27 PM
gcanter2376's Avatar
gcanter2376 gcanter2376 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bristol, TN
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 88
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 751
Niced 18 Times in 11 Posts
Default Major Violation?

Played in a 2 round tournament today. Upon starting the second one of the players on the card was nowhere to be found. This was top card in my division. We waited as long as possible but he didnt show. We tee'd off and finished the first hole and asked the TD what to do. He said to give him 3 strokes over par on each hole until he shows up. Everything was par 3 so he kept getting 6"s. 4 holes in we he runs up and we tell him sorry but we had to give him a six on each hole. He says "I'll see you guys later" and walks off. 2 holes later he catches us and says the TD said he could make up the holes he missed after we finished. He shot very well and finished 2nd overall. No big deal to me as I finished 1st but the more I think about it the more wrong I think it was. The 4 holes he took 6"s on he got deuces on them. Can the TD make a call like that?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:33 PM
elnino's Avatar
elnino elnino is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: dc
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 15
Posts: 2,090
Niced 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

you can't make up holes the guy should have gotten 6's! i would def not allow it... basically he needs to add those 16 strokes for holding you up!

if pdga then you can complain and get the TD in trouble but i would call him up and let me know it doesn't sound right.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:35 PM
gcanter2376's Avatar
gcanter2376 gcanter2376 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bristol, TN
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 88
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 751
Niced 18 Times in 11 Posts
Default shady

I thought it was very shady. He said he told the TD he drove 5 hours to get there blah, blah, blah and TD said he could rethrow them. This knocked someone out of cashing out most likely as the 4 holes he had 6's on he birdied when he replayed them. not fair to people below him if you ask me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:38 PM
Scared_Discless's Avatar
Scared_Discless Scared_Discless is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Flossmoor, IL
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 23
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,305
Niced 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Actually, it's par + four strokes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:41 PM
gcanter2376's Avatar
gcanter2376 gcanter2376 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bristol, TN
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 88
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 751
Niced 18 Times in 11 Posts
Default Par +3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scared_Discless View Post
Actually, it's par + four strokes.
Thats what I thought to. TD said par +3 lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:50 PM
Lucero 1's Avatar
Lucero 1 Lucero 1 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tampa Bay
Years Playing: 7
Courses Played: 16
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 256
Niced 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

That's BS, and I'd call out the TD on it...especially if I was the guy who got bumped out of a paying spot!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2013, 10:54 PM
plastic cannon's Avatar
plastic cannon plastic cannon is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Eugene, ORYGUN
Years Playing: 8.6
Courses Played: 15
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,200
Niced 40 Times in 32 Posts
Default

If that happened here, I would be livid. Especially if it affected my outcome. There is no way he should have been allowed to re-throw those holes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:01 PM
jeverett's Avatar
jeverett jeverett is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Eugene, OR
Years Playing: 10.7
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,201
Niced 48 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcanter2376 View Post
Played in a 2 round tournament today. Upon starting the second one of the players on the card was nowhere to be found. This was top card in my division. We waited as long as possible but he didnt show. We tee'd off and finished the first hole and asked the TD what to do. He said to give him 3 strokes over par on each hole until he shows up. Everything was par 3 so he kept getting 6"s. 4 holes in we he runs up and we tell him sorry but we had to give him a six on each hole. He says "I'll see you guys later" and walks off. 2 holes later he catches us and says the TD said he could make up the holes he missed after we finished. He shot very well and finished 2nd overall. No big deal to me as I finished 1st but the more I think about it the more wrong I think it was. The 4 holes he took 6"s on he got deuces on them. Can the TD make a call like that?
If it's a non-sanctioned event, technically the TD can do whatever the heck he feels like. For a sanctioned event, though, no.. the player *should* be given a 7 (par + 4) on each hole they missed playing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:10 PM
gcanter2376's Avatar
gcanter2376 gcanter2376 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bristol, TN
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 88
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 751
Niced 18 Times in 11 Posts
Default shady!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeverett View Post
If it's a non-sanctioned event, technically the TD can do whatever the heck he feels like. For a sanctioned event, though, no.. the player *should* be given a 7 (par + 4) on each hole they missed playing.
It was a sanctioned event. And I know there is a rule bout strokes for each hole that is missed. I actually thought it was straights 7's but par+4 sounds right. BTW it did not affect my outcome but he did finish second but wouldnt have eve cashed out if those strokes are added back in.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:15 PM
bbutch's Avatar
bbutch bbutch is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fairborn Ohio
Years Playing: 9.5
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 370
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So he got to replay those holes solo? Thats extremely shady.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courtesy violation hem1t General Disc Golf Chat 27 01-11-2016 05:36 PM
Possible courtesy violation? robdeforge Rules Questions & Discussion 1 10-08-2015 01:32 PM
Stance Violation on Tee General Scales Rules Questions & Discussion 10 04-10-2014 04:39 PM
Violation, would you call this? BradC Rules Questions & Discussion 35 08-21-2011 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.