#1  
Old 08-27-2018, 11:00 AM
c_a_miller c_a_miller is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston
Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 231
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 339
Niced 38 Times in 22 Posts
Default When is a sanctioned round "complete"?

There is a conversation on Reddit around the topic when is a sanctioned round complete. When do in-play rules especially around practice throws end? Is it once you turn in your scorecard or when you finish out your last hole? I have always known it to be when you finish your last hole.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2018, 11:11 AM
Future_Primitive's Avatar
Future_Primitive Future_Primitive is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Courses Played: 117
Posts: 1,315
Niced 342 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Strictly opinion, but for me its when the last hole is completed and everyone has reviewed the scorecard for accuracy and signed off on it being correct. Once the group and or designated person heads back to tourney central with the card the round is officially over.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2018, 11:50 AM
ru4por's Avatar
ru4por ru4por is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dearborn Michigan
Years Playing: 35.5
Courses Played: 233
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,385
Niced 831 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Score card rules are in effect until card is turned in. Once the round is complete, any score changed on the card would still count. I am guessing that you could be courtesy violated after the last putt, on your way to the TD area, as well. I am going with sanctioned rounds complete when card is turned in.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2018, 12:05 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,717
Niced 2,020 Times in 862 Posts
Default

The round is complete when the last putt is holed out. If you want to practice after that, go for it as long as it does not interfere with players still active in their round.

It has nothing to do with the scorecard being turned in. In fact, in the rules regarding scoring and the scorecard (808), it states that the scorecard must be turned in within 30 minutes of the completion of the round (the italics are actually in the book). If the round isn't complete, that 30 minute clock can't really start, can it? Is everyone required to sit on their hands waiting for the round to be complete in order to practice or do anything else that might incur a penalty during play?

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2018, 12:11 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.4
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,242
Niced 2,055 Times in 980 Posts
Default

I'm inclined to agree with JC.

Plus, often players disperse, with one heading back to HQ with the card and the rest off to cars, or elsewhere. It would might be tricky to determine whether a violation occurred before or after the card was turned in, if they happened in different places.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2018, 01:44 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,301
Niced 279 Times in 140 Posts
Default

One test case is courtesy violations, where the second violation during a round causes a penalty stroke assessment.

Say a player gets a courtesy warning during a round (let's say for a 30 second violation). After completing that round, that player razzes a competitor in a later group and draws courtesy violation. Is a stroke added to the round the player just completed?
Reply With Quote
 

  #7  
Old 08-27-2018, 02:08 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,717
Niced 2,020 Times in 862 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
One test case is courtesy violations, where the second violation during a round causes a penalty stroke assessment.

Say a player gets a courtesy warning during a round (let's say for a 30 second violation). After completing that round, that player razzes a competitor in a later group and draws courtesy violation. Is a stroke added to the round the player just completed?
Just for clarity, a 30-second violation is not a courtesy violation. It is a separate type of violation that can only compound on itself and would not affect a player's status when he commits a courtesy violation.

But the overall premise you pose is a reasonable one for discussion. If a player gets warned for a courtesy violation during the round (razzing a player, shouting inappropriately, whatever) and then after his round is done, he performs another discourteous action and is called on it by a player/group that is still playing, is it a valid test of when is a round officially over for a player?

I'm not so sure, because whether you call the end of his round when the final putt is holed out or when his card is turned in, the same question arises. He could harass a player and draw a courtesy violation en route from his finishing hole to turning the card in, but he could just as easily turn his card in then go and harass another player. In either case, does it prompt a penalty because of the previous warning during the round?

I would say yes to both because the player/group calling him on the second violation isn't finished with their round, and the TD isn't bound by any official end of a round language when it comes to adding or subtracting throws from a player's score.

808 Scoring
G.After the scorecard has been turned in, the total score as recorded is final, except for the following circumstances:
1. Penalty throws may be added or removed up until the Director declares the tournament over, or all awards have been distributed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trent B: first "complete" bag. Trent B Bag Suggestions & Feedback 2 09-05-2017 01:37 AM
Industry Standard "Complete" Bag - Template apparition Bag Suggestions & Feedback 10 03-14-2013 12:38 AM
"Sanctioned" League...? Gdragon04 General Disc Golf Chat 2 06-11-2012 08:52 AM
Do you play better during a "slow round" or a "fast round"? BarkBuster Technique & Strategy 53 01-21-2011 04:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.