#1  
Old 09-05-2018, 12:55 AM
discgolfer25 discgolfer25 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Years Playing: 13.5
Courses Played: 6
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 276
Niced 105 Times in 41 Posts
Default Ace in Playoff - Do you get the Ace Pot?

Apparently this happened in a local mini. A player tied for first, was in the playoff and hit an ace to win it. He was in the ace pot. In your opinion, should he get the ace pot money? Anyone else heard of anything similar and the result of it?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2018, 12:58 AM
Nova P's Avatar
Nova P Nova P is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Courses Played: 66
Posts: 321
Niced 427 Times in 114 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discgolfer25 View Post
Apparently this happened in a local mini. A player tied for first, was in the playoff and hit an ace to win it. He was in the ace pot. In your opinion, should he get the ace pot money? Anyone else heard of anything similar and the result of it?
If I were at a tournament and this happened, and the TD refused to pay out, I would organize a riot.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2018, 01:07 AM
ThrowaEnvy's Avatar
ThrowaEnvy ThrowaEnvy is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pender Is. B.C.
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 5
Posts: 1,097
Niced 220 Times in 154 Posts
Default

I say nope, they have already played the hole and no one else gets the same opportunity, if everyone threw the hole then sure. It's the same as a second shot Cali ace, counts for score and points but no money. It is also similar to a ctp playoff it's hardest shot to beat but it is a playoff not the round, happens here all the time

Niced: (3)

Last edited by ThrowaEnvy; 09-05-2018 at 01:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2018, 07:57 AM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 38.7
Courses Played: 94
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,385
Niced 303 Times in 128 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

Ace pots are only for holes everyone gets to play. So I would say no, you shouldn't get the ace pot on a playoff hole.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:15 AM
lines's Avatar
lines lines is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Asheville NC
Courses Played: 29
Posts: 471
Niced 272 Times in 151 Posts
Default

Ace pot only pays out for a '1' on the card.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:16 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,717
Niced 2,019 Times in 862 Posts
Default

I lean no, it doesn't win the ace pot. It's an extra throw that no one else but the playoff participants got to play. Seems unfair to the field.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrowaEnvy View Post
It's the same as a second shot Cali ace, counts for score and points but no money.
This, though, I'm not sure I agree with. A player shooting Cali is essentially his own doubles partner. The Cali throw should be treated no differently than if he had a partner that aced (or parked the first throw to set him up for the ace run). I'd pay out a Cali ace. I don't even think I'd ask which throw it was if a Cali player reported an ace.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:50 AM
lines's Avatar
lines lines is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Asheville NC
Courses Played: 29
Posts: 471
Niced 272 Times in 151 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
I lean no, it doesn't win the ace pot. It's an extra throw that no one else but the playoff participants got to play. Seems unfair to the field.



This, though, I'm not sure I agree with. A player shooting Cali is essentially his own doubles partner. The Cali throw should be treated no differently than if he had a partner that aced (or parked the first throw to set him up for the ace run). I'd pay out a Cali ace. I don't even think I'd ask which throw it was if a Cali player reported an ace.
Agreed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:55 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.4
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,172
Niced 148 Times in 86 Posts
Default

This is why it is always good to have these policies spelled out in advance. The FAQ for my events states that aces during playoffs do not qualify for the ace pot. I'm also of the opinion that all players for the day get the same number of attempts.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2018, 09:38 AM
bbwrenn's Avatar
bbwrenn bbwrenn is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 100
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 216
Niced 29 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I agree with most on here about the playoff ace. Nobody but the players in the playoff can make that shot, which isn't fair to anybody else that paid in.

On the Cali, around here the argument is that you're only paying once, and so you only get "your" chance for the ace. In the closest organized doubles around here, you can pay for your "partner"'s ace pot if you want to have 2 chances. In other words, dubs is $5, and ace is $2. If you draw Cali, you pay $7 to play normally. If you want two chances to ace, it's $9. That seems fair to me as nobody paid for the second "partner" otherwise.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-05-2018, 09:52 AM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 98
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 946
Niced 101 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
I lean no, it doesn't win the ace pot. It's an extra throw that no one else but the playoff participants got to play. Seems unfair to the field.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrowaEnvy View Post
It's the same as a second shot Cali ace, counts for score and points but no money.
This, though, I'm not sure I agree with. A player shooting Cali is essentially his own doubles partner. The Cali throw should be treated no differently than if he had a partner that aced (or parked the first throw to set him up for the ace run). I'd pay out a Cali ace. I don't even think I'd ask which throw it was if a Cali player reported an ace.
Exactly THIS ^^^^

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Progressive ace pot JC17393 LC's Corner 17 06-28-2017 09:22 PM
Biggest Ace Pot Ever? CrazieJ General Disc Golf Chat 19 11-08-2015 12:12 AM
Ace Pot Okdiscgolfer General Disc Golf Chat 18 08-17-2014 05:42 PM
League Ace, No Ace Pot? @iDiscGolf General Disc Golf Chat 64 08-01-2014 02:20 AM
Baby Ace Pot zenbot General Disc Golf Chat 5 04-12-2010 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.