Old 12-11-2014, 08:51 PM

Years Playing: 5.4
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Disc Golf Lines

So I am fairly new to the sport and use DGCR all the time to find answers to questions. I have seemed to come up short this time.

When looking up advice for beginners everyone recommend having about 4 disc , usually one in each category (putter, mid, fairway, distance). Which disc to pick and such are usually different, not really surprised here. I get this part.

The next thing is everyone always says to be able to throw all of first 4 discs on any line. What are all of the lines? I understand hyzer, straight, anny. What else am I missing if anything? If there is something I'm missing can you please explain how to throw the shot.

Oh...example what is a golf line and distance line? How are they different? Its things like that that I don't understand and cannot seem to find answers too.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Sponsored Links
Old 12-11-2014, 09:05 PM

Courses Played: 38
Niced 2 Times in 1 Post

"Line" more specifically means shape of flight-path. Hyzer/Anhyzer refer to release angle. If someone throws a "hyzer line" or "hyzer shot" for instance, the flight will start and stay on hyzer. Some examples...

Hyzer-flip: starts hyzer, flips up to flat or anhyzer
Turnover: starts hyzer, turns over to anhyzer
Distance line: any line that sacrifices accuracy for distance. Usually a high hyzer-flip with understable disc.
Golf line: A predictable, intentional, and precisely shaped shot.

Playing with the local crowd is a great way to pick up on vocabulary and learn new types of shots.
Old 12-11-2014, 09:16 PM
Verified Jurkface

Years Playing: 12.2
Courses Played: 166
Niced 2,229 Times in 1,044 Posts

Is that a mini in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?

Oh, wait, you're talking about flight lines, mea culpa. Pickle protector summed the major ones up nicely.