#11  
Old 12-01-2018, 01:38 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Lets' review the rule:


The 30 seconds starts AFTER all of the above. So yes, the 30 seconds restarts if the playing area is not clear and free of distractions.
That's definitely my interpretation. But I'd say the rules don't explicitly state that it must remain clear/free of distraction. That's just my interpretation of their intent. And I have to wonder why they used the word "after" instead of "while" if my interpretation is correct.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-2018, 01:55 PM
markmcc's Avatar
markmcc markmcc is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wherever the RV is parked
Years Playing: 6.7
Courses Played: 241
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 559
Niced 128 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Aside from the 30 second rule, is there an issue of fair play? Part of playing doubles is strategy. If you know that your partner shanked his drive, you might play a more conservative drive. If they're parked, you would "go for it". On a blind fairway do you want each team to send their first player forward to evaluate their drive and advise the second partner on how to proceed?

I think that the spirit of doubles is for both to throw their drives (using whatever information they can gather from the tee) and then go down the fairway and choose their best drive. But moving forward only after all teeshots have been thrown. Sending a spotter forward on a blind drive (as discussed above) is a different scenario in my mind.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2018, 02:27 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Aside from the 30 second rule, you still have a responsibility to pace of play. You must do your best to keep up with the group ahead of you. Aside from that, you are not to advance farther down the fairway than the lie of your group members.

It is clear the group had decided already to not use a spotter, or they would already know how they lie.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-2018, 07:43 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.1
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,841
Niced 2,217 Times in 941 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Lets' review the rule:


The 30 seconds starts AFTER all of the above. So yes, the 30 seconds restarts if the playing area is not clear and free of distractions.
The 30 seconds starts after all of the above, yes. Where does it say that those conditions must persist after the clock starts and through the moment the player makes his/her throw? Nothing in the rule suggests that a player is guaranteed a full 30 seconds of the playing area being clear and free of distractions.

Courtesy dictates that one must not throw if the throw could injury someone. So I think that the clock can be paused for safety concerns (e.g. a player or a pedestrian or an animal pops up on the fairway after it was believed to be free and clear). But I don't believe it goes so far as to allow a reset of the clock.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2018, 09:21 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
The 30 seconds starts after all of the above, yes. Where does it say that those conditions must persist after the clock starts and through the moment the player makes his/her throw? Nothing in the rule suggests that a player is guaranteed a full 30 seconds of the playing area being clear and free of distractions.

Courtesy dictates that one must not throw if the throw could injury someone. So I think that the clock can be paused for safety concerns (e.g. a player or a pedestrian or an animal pops up on the fairway after it was believed to be free and clear). But I don't believe it goes so far as to allow a reset of the clock.
"Clear" and "free of distractions" are given as equals in the rule, imo. I don't see a reason to allow for one over the other to be given leeway.

I think the intention of the rule is a persistent 30 seconds of the conditions being met. However, I agree with you the wording does not support that. Easy fix, though; like I said; change "after" to "while".

Last edited by Dan Ensor; 12-01-2018 at 09:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-01-2018, 09:27 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Perhaps it's determined that you're not the away player . . . That would be quite the conundrum. Either courtesy violation for playing out of turn, or 30 second violation (and perhaps several) . . .
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-02-2018, 10:13 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.6
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,193
Niced 182 Times in 101 Posts
Default

So a player is taking his full 30 seconds, at about the 28 second mark and just as he was to throw someone walks out in the middle of the fairway. Are you saying that once that person leaves, the player needs to rush and make his throw in under 2 seconds?

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-02-2018, 10:36 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.1
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,841
Niced 2,217 Times in 941 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
So a player is taking his full 30 seconds, at about the 28 second mark and just as he was to throw someone walks out in the middle of the fairway. Are you saying that once that person leaves, the player needs to rush and make his throw in under 2 seconds?
No. I'm saying he doesn't get a new full 30 seconds just because someone walked out in front of him before he threw. I don't think he needs to throw in 2 seconds after that, but I don't think he's entitled to a new 30 seconds either. Just throw promptly once it's safe to do so. I mean, whatever preparations occurred that took up the 28 seconds shouldn't all need to be repeated, no? A new 30 seconds shouldn't be necessary anyway.

If we had an actual shot clock in the game and people actually timed every throw to the second, then maybe the concern over "what if the safety concern happens at the 28-second mark" would be a justifiable argument. We don't do that. The only time the clock gets brought up (aside from these types of threads) is if a player seems to be taking too long. Otherwise, we're just guessing at the time that has lapsed.

My point is that unless the wording of the rule is changed to support the notion of re-setting the clock entirely, the emphasis should be on throwing as promptly as possible once the conditions for the 30-second clock have been met, even if one has to pause for safety concerns on occasion.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-02-2018, 11:06 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 7.9
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 593
Niced 35 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Whole it is correct that there is nothing in the rule directly indicating that the 30 sec. resets, there is also nothing indicating that it pauses or that you don’t get a new 30 seconds. So there is no rule directly addressing the issue, so whe come 801.01, and the closest existing rule is that you have 30 seconds. There is nothing in the rules allowing you to penalize a player for taking up to 30 seconds again., so by default you are allowed to do so

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 12-03-2018, 03:46 PM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 14.7
Courses Played: 160
Posts: 566
Niced 63 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
No. I'm saying he doesn't get a new full 30 seconds just because someone walked out in front of him before he threw. I don't think he needs to throw in 2 seconds after that, but I don't think he's entitled to a new 30 seconds either. Just throw promptly once it's safe to do so. I mean, whatever preparations occurred that took up the 28 seconds shouldn't all need to be repeated, no? A new 30 seconds shouldn't be necessary anyway.

If we had an actual shot clock in the game and people actually timed every throw to the second, then maybe the concern over "what if the safety concern happens at the 28-second mark" would be a justifiable argument. We don't do that. The only time the clock gets brought up (aside from these types of threads) is if a player seems to be taking too long. Otherwise, we're just guessing at the time that has lapsed.

My point is that unless the wording of the rule is changed to support the notion of re-setting the clock entirely, the emphasis should be on throwing as promptly as possible once the conditions for the 30-second clock have been met, even if one has to pause for safety concerns on occasion.
This is just one person's made-up interpretation and carries no weight, probably because it's vague and completely unenforceable. 30 seconds is measurable. "As promptly as possible" is so ambiguous that it effectively has no meaning.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this shoe DG legal? jenb Rules Questions & Discussion 24 08-09-2016 06:15 PM
Legal or not? VINCENT25149 Rules Questions & Discussion 39 04-11-2013 11:51 AM
Is this legal? Kaikias Rules Questions & Discussion 4 03-19-2012 04:43 PM
Is this shot legal? netposer General Disc Golf Chat 72 06-20-2011 08:01 AM
Is my basket legal great white buffalo General Disc Golf Chat 10 10-06-2010 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.