Old 02-11-2013, 10:39 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 28.7
Courses Played: 654
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,062
Niced 368 Times in 211 Posts

It's as good as when your disc lands completely supported by another disc in the basket. My rule of thumb (actually 801.01A) as a marshal is if an obstruction in the basket is preventing your disc from meeting the full holing out criteria, if removing the obstruction would result in your disc officially holing out, then you've holed out. Simiar things have happened where a branch has fallen into the basket or been deliberately jammed in it. A disc landing on or partly supported by the obstacle but in the basket is considered holed out.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-2013, 02:09 AM
crusadersounds's Avatar
crusadersounds crusadersounds is offline
Sweetest Throws on Earth
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hamburg, PA
Years Playing: 8.5
Courses Played: 113
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 728
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post

I talked to our groundskeeper today, and he would like the basket moved (which is a FANTASTIC idea from a golf perspective). It is on a private course, and definitely won't be used for any sanctioned rounds (I shot a -16 on 9 holes last night and hit the outside of the cage on one putt...) Anyway, yes, it needs trimmed/moved, I was just curious about the situation in regards to rule 801.01. Thanks for answering my strange/weird question!
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.