#41  
Old 03-12-2013, 08:36 AM
grodney's Avatar
grodney grodney is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Years Playing: 37.7
Courses Played: 119
Posts: 3,265
Niced 8 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Not flight path, lies. That's different. (And it probably should have said "positions".)

"804.02 Mandatories
...
E. ...A line connecting the lies for the hole must pass to the correct sides of all mandatories for the hole.
..."
Oof, that's horrible wording. But it can't possibly mean a line consisting of straight line segments for each throw. I mean, if you hyzer around the good side of a mando, a straight line from your throwing location to the disc can easily pass the wrong side of the mando.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-12-2013, 09:38 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30.4
Courses Played: 677
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,111
Niced 1,464 Times in 662 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Not flight path, lies. That's different. (And it probably should have said "positions".)

"804.02 Mandatories
...
E. ...A line connecting the lies for the hole must pass to the correct sides of all mandatories for the hole.
..."
I had pointed that out to the RC a while back. It was supposed to be "flight path" not "line." That will be corrected in the next rules update.

Last edited by Cgkdisc; 03-12-2013 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-18-2013, 05:15 PM
jgrlars jgrlars is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 17
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So this throw is ok? Double mando between three and lightpole.

Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:24 PM
joegraham's Avatar
joegraham joegraham is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon
Years Playing: 35.3
Courses Played: 111
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 730
Niced 17 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Nope. It didn't pass between the mandos in the intended order-from tee to target. You either now have to throw from the marked drop zone, or if no marked drop zone, from the last lie (tee). Once the disc is past the line between the mandos, it is deemed fair by passing through between the mandos (in the intended order). Once it passes the line and didn't go between, it is considered to have missed the mando and the above throw scenarios are ineffect and a stroke penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:31 PM
jgrlars jgrlars is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 17
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But the throw hasnt ended up on the wrong side of the mando line

Ref:

A throw has missed the mandatory if it passes the incorrect side of the mandatory from the direction of the tee, and establishes a position completely beyond the mandatory line.

In the case of a disc crossing the 'missed' side, the mando has not been missed unless the disc ends up at rest across the 'missed' side. if it first crosses the 'missed' side but then bounces or rolls back to the tee side of the line before it stops, the mando has not been missed but it also has not been 'made' yet.

Some players mistakenly think they have missed the mando on their tee shot if they don’t cross the good side of the line on that throw. as long as their throw hasn’t ended up across the 'missed' side of the mando line, the player is safe. the player then just tries to throw across the 'made' side on their next throw. there are even tricky mandos where laying up short of it on the tee shot then trying to throw across it on the second throw might be a good strategy.

Last edited by jgrlars; 07-18-2013 at 07:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-18-2013, 07:53 PM
joegraham's Avatar
joegraham joegraham is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon
Years Playing: 35.3
Courses Played: 111
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 730
Niced 17 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgrlars View Post
But the throw hasnt ended up on the wrong side of the mando line

Ref:

A throw has missed the mandatory if it passes the incorrect side of the mandatory from the direction of the tee, and establishes a position completely beyond the mandatory line.

In the case of a disc crossing the 'missed' side, the mando has not been missed unless the disc ends up at rest across the 'missed' side. if it first crosses the 'missed' side but then bounces or rolls back to the tee side of the line before it stops, the mando has not been missed but it also has not been 'made' yet.

Some players mistakenly think they have missed the mando on their tee shot if they don’t cross the good side of the line on that throw. as long as their throw hasn’t ended up across the 'missed' side of the mando line, the player is safe. the player then just tries to throw across the 'made' side on their next throw. there are even tricky mandos where laying up short of it on the tee shot then trying to throw across it on the second throw might be a good strategy.
Yup, you're right, I'm wrong. The disc has to establish a position at rest, so this disc is still waiting to establish a position beyond the mando line, so it's in great position to pass it now. It is the result not how it got there. it's just like laying up in front of it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-20-2013, 11:09 AM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 210
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,155
Niced 244 Times in 151 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgrlars View Post
So this throw is ok? Double mando between tree and lightpole.

SO, y'all are saying the answer is yes, it is a legal throw, but be advised that the disc has not yet made the mando. The mando must be made on a future shot. (It's just like laying up in front of the mando).

I think I agree with that.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-21-2013, 01:16 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 8.5
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Not everyone is saying that. I do however agree that that is how the rules are written. However, in a discussion on another forum the I believe the rule commitee disagrees with their own rule, according to Chuck if remember correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-21-2013, 07:38 PM
kerplunk's Avatar
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Red Rock, TX, USA
Years Playing: 11.5
Courses Played: 42
Posts: 1,473
Niced 92 Times in 57 Posts
Default

I like that they removed the "imaginary" drop zone from the rule. We had a tourney a few years ago with a couple of mandos that didn't have a specified drop zone, and some of us played from the "imaginary" drop zone, which I am pretty sure was the correct thing to do, while others that didn't know the rules as well re-teed. I think a re-tee if there is no drop zone specified simplifies the rules, and I am all for simplification.
Reply With Quote
 

  #50  
Old 07-24-2013, 02:47 AM
jgrlars jgrlars is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 17
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Got a answer from the PDGA:

"That's a good question. We should probably add a Q&A about it since it's not something we
considered when writing the mandatory rules.

My ruling would be that the disc has missed the mandatory. The ruling hinges on what it means to be "beyond" the mandatory line. In my opinion, the only mandatory line you worry about is the one on the side where the disc first crossed. The line on the other side of the mandatory should not be taken into consideration. In that way, the disc in #3 has gone beyond the mandatory line on the incorrect
side.

The player goes to the drop zone. The rule to use is 804.02.B.

-Conrad"

"Answer from Conrad edited to just show answer for the situation on the picture"

Last edited by jgrlars; 07-24-2013 at 02:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandatory dropzone aorak Course Design 7 06-12-2016 03:10 PM
Thoughts on the 2013 Rule changes? aardvarkious Rules Questions & Discussion 19 09-13-2012 08:14 PM
Mandatory Question Paulie Rules Questions & Discussion 13 11-24-2011 10:53 AM
Mandatory initially missed zenbot General Disc Golf Chat 28 07-13-2010 01:52 AM
Did they update the rule book? Omega SuperSloth General Disc Golf Chat 9 08-27-2009 04:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.