Course Extinct
Naniloa Volcanoes Golf Club
Hilo, HI 
Reviews 4
Avg. Rating:
Filter/Sort
Reviews between: and
Sort By:
Exp. (in years):
Played:
Reviewed:
Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Amongst The Banyan Trees
Rating:
Review By: kindableu
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 0 Years
5+ 7/10/2018 7/10/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not

Pros: -27 holes
-great pin placements, use of the available land
-clubhouse has some sweet discs for sale with stamps from the local club
-round is free if you a guest at the hotel
-considering its on a ball golf course still had some lines you need to hit to score well

Cons: -golf course grounds crew knocks over the signs so navigation can be a little tricky when there are multiple baskets visible (club house has a map)
-ball golfers have the right of way and on a average are pretty terrible so sometimes you have a bit of a wait before a fairway clears
-getting up to 27 holes means some of the baskets aren't in in great shape but they catch well

Other Thoughts: If you are coming to the big island it's definitely worth it to pack some discs and play this course. The local club owns all the baskets and has done a great job designing a 27 hole course that plays along the 9 hole ball golf course. There are some really nice pin placements that definitely make you feel like you are playing a round in a tropical paradise. Hole 15 is a particular highlight with a mando forcing you between two trees and then a basket location perched up on a hill. And a great finishing hole with RHFH flex shot to get around and last the hanging banyan tendrils.

This course is a must play if you are on the island.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
 Great Potential!
Rating:
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 88  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 20 Years
2-4 5/6/2016 5/9/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not

Pros: Course plays on a well-manicured golf course in downtown Hilo right near the waterfront

Good design: because of the well-manicured and short grass, there is plenty of opportunity for rollers and big skips, in addition to a good mix of holes requiring right to left shots and left to right shots, nice varying distances between 200 and 800 feet

GOLF CART OPTION! Call me lazy, but you feel like Superman when you aren't walking or shouldering a bag....why not play 4 rounds?!

Minimal problem integrating with golfers, but course wasn't too packed when I played

Map provided, pretty accurate so navigation not an issue

Some hanging baskets

Cons: Looks like the design on hole 10, 15, and 18 has changed a bit since they last did scorecard and map; tee areas the same, so no difficulty finding tees, but basket positions on 10 and 15 CLEARLY make a par 4

Scorecard claims par is 58, but that is added incorrectly and should say 61; with holes 10 and 15 more than likely changing since last card print, those would be 4's, making a 63 pro par

Some baskets were real disc golf baskets; others looked home-made with single set of chains and a shallow basket or tire; those didn't catch quite as well and could add a stroke or 2 to your round

Other Thoughts: I really had no idea what to expect in a course in Hawaii, as it was my first visit to the Big Island, or anywhere in HI for that matter. I only had time to pick one course to play, as we stayed on the other side of the island, about 2 hours drive from Hilo. I was pleasantly surprised by a pretty well-designed course. I would definitely recommend giving Naniloa a shot!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
 Shoot for uncrowded days
Rating:
Review By: jtencer
Played: 58  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18 Years
1 3/18/2016 3/20/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not

Pros: Disc golf on a ball golf course in Hawaii. That's tough to beat.
The golfers were friendly and seemed genuinely curious. I was alternating back and forth with a couple of locals that had moved out from Colorado.
The course is well laid out. There is a variety of holes here, but I wouldn't call it a long course, especially for one set on a ball golf course. I shot reasonably well here with only a buzz and a putter (only brought 2 discs on vacation). There were a few times I could have used a driver but I would have used a mid off the tee on most of the holes even with my whole bag.

Cons: Safety. This is the big one. The other review stated that the two coexist well here. I don't know that that's true. The first 7 holes play along the perimeter of the golf course and it's no issue but later holes have you in between two golf fairways going opposite directions making it impossible to watch both ways. I was almost hit by an errant drive. The head groundskeeper even drove up to tell me that he wasn't comfortable with it from a safety perspective when the course was busy.

A confounding factor for the safety aspect is that the average golfer here appears to be really bad. The groundskeeper said they have no clue where they're hitting the balls and I agree. I was throwing my buzz further than a lot of them were hitting their drives and the ones that hit further (but with no accuracy) are more dangerous still.

The golfers have the right of way which is fine but it will result in significant waits when there are lots of golfers. One of the holes had a basket in between a green and the next tee making timing a shot to avoid golfers pretty problematic.

Baskets aren't in great shape. They mostly catch fine, but for $10 a round I expected them to be better maintained. Plus I imagine that in their current state they're somewhat of an eyesore for the golfers. The baskets were in worse shape than either of the free-to-play courses I hit on Maui.

Other Thoughts: If there's a tournament of the ball golf is closed or not crowded I think this is a definite play. Otherwise, I'm not sure it's worth it unless you just really need your fix in Hawaii. I didn't get to play any of the other big island courses so I can't comment on this relative to other potential options.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
 Disc golf resort
Rating:
Review By: Bobylon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0 Years
5+ 1/20/2015 5/4/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not

Pros: Well manicured beautiful setting! Good diversity. Long holes for the big gun drivers and technical holes for the craftsmen. The only course I have ever played using a golf cart! Yes, a cart! Check for tournaments, then make reservations. Super fun time!

Cons: It's located on a 9 hole ball golf course. But the two get along very well. I only ran into smiling people the gave the same respect they ask of anyone on the course. The pro shop did not have discs for sale, but they did help me get some from a local source.

Other Thoughts: I stayed in a oceanfront room on the 8th floor of a hotel right across the street!!! Hilo town is fun for any budget... It was a great time, and I plan to try to make the "Fying Hawaiian" tournament every year...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.