KenanFlagler01

Member Info.
Recent Reviews
58190 DGCR Number
Rolesville, NC Location
Nathan Real Name
41 Age
10.3 Years Years Playing
RHBH Main Throwing Style
892 DGCR Player Rating
77785 PDGA Number
881 Player Rating
154 /
Total Reviews / Avg. Score
220 - 30 Voting Record
5 Fans
4/25/2015 Joined On
7/08/2020 @ 08:46:40 AM Last Login

View Forum Posts Forum Posts Send a Private Message Send PM Add as Friend Add Friend Follow this Reviewer
Achievements:
                
Other Info/Notes:
BIO

I played disc golf off and on for years - even designing and building a tone pole course in Costa Rica in my 20s, not knowing anything about the sport - before finally dedicating myself to course bagging in 2015. Now in my 40s, what I enjoy most is playing with my family and bagging new courses. I've got three generations hooked on disc golf: my dad, brother, and two of my four kids. I will play any track anywhere, but when given the chance, I try to bag courses ranked in the top 25 for the state on DGCR. I live in North Carolina, so I have played many, many more courses here than anywhere else. To date I've played 14 of the top 25 courses here and I've played tracks in 43 of the state's 100 counties (not all of those counties have courses though...last I checked, 76 NC counties have courses). I'm still an intermediate-level player and only sporadically get the opportunity to play C-Tiers and leagues, but really enjoy challenging courses and good design. I review, rate, and rank courses mostly for my own OCD personality, but hopefully others will benefit too.

~~~

REVIEWS

I attempt to write my reviews with the goal of helping other players determine the opportunity cost of playing that course versus other ones in the area. "If I have one afternoon to play a course in this city or town, which one should I play that's right for my skill level and preferences in a course?" That's the question I seek an answer to when reading others' reviews and that's what I attempt to answer in the reviews I write.

The factors I weigh when reviewing a course:
- Fun factor
- Challenge
- Aesthetics
- Upkeep
- Unique design features
- Course flow
- Variety
- Fairness
- Scoring separation
- Elevation
- Risk/reward
- Wow factor and signature holes
- Tough and interesting greens (obstacles on the green, fast greens, death putts, elevated baskets, etc.)
- Multiple ways to play holes
- Navigation and signage
- Tees and baskets
- Soft spot for water carries and sweeping downhill hyzer holes
- Bathrooms and park amenities can earn a ratings bump, but I won't dock courses without them
- Big points off for poor safety for golfers or other park goers

~~~

RATINGS

I believe that the average course rating across the thousands of courses in DGCR should be 2.5. I also believe that there should be more 2.5-rated courses than any other rating, followed by 2.0's and 3.0's, followed by 1.5's and 3.5's, then 1.0's and 4.0's, and then 0.5's and 4.5's. 5.0's and 0.0's should be exceedingly rare. It should be a bell curve. You can see that my ratings basically follow this bell curve theory, although I don't "force" myself to maintain a perfect bell curve as the courses I play are not necessarily a perfect representative sample of all courses. (For example, if given the choice to play a 4.0 course or a 2.0 course in a city I'm visiting, I'm obviously going to play the 4.0 course.)

I think there is some rating inflation in DGCR, but not much. Most of the rating inflation, in my opinion, is at the bottom of the scale (2.5 courses that should be 2.0, 2.0 courses that should be 1.5, 1.5 courses that should be 1.0, etc.). I actually think many courses rated 3.5+ are *underrated.* I have my theories on this, but won't bore you with them. Overall, as long as lots of DGCR reviewers continue to review, the ratings - and especially the rankings - tend to work themselves out. There is wisdom in crowds.

As of July 2020, I have played 159 courses and written 154 reviews. The average DGCR rating for the courses I've played is 2.91. My average rating is 2.52.

Of the 159 courses, I've played 104 "full tracks" (18+ holes). The average DGCR rating for these 104 tracks is 3.40. My average rating for these courses is 3.10.

I've played 55 "half tracks." (Most of these are 9-holers, but there are a handful of 6-hole courses, one 12-holer, and a 2-hole practice area.) The average DGCR rating for these 55 tracks is 2.00. My average is 1.40

Based on the rating averages above, I'm a little tougher in my ratings than DGCR as a whole, especially on 9-hole courses. I tend to be *more* generous to courses on the upper end of the scale and tougher (ratings wise) on courses at the bottom of the spectrum.

~~~

OVERALL TOP 10

1. Black Jack (Sugar Grove, NC)
2. Rolling Pines (Wilkesboro, NC)
3. Indian Creek (Huntsville, AL)
4. Nevin (Charlotte, NC)
5. Hornets Nest (Charlotte, NC)
6. Rockness Monster (Roxboro, NC)
7. Circle C Metro Park (Austin, TX)
8. The Blockhouse - Sunnyside (Spotsylvania, VA)
9. Fox Chase (Albemarle, NC)
10. Foothills Disc Golf / "The Bear" (Hickory, NC)

~~~

ACES

1. 2010: Buncombe Sports Complex #1, 101 feet
2. 2016: Isle of Palms #1, 94 feet
3. 2016: Marcom Woods #9, 130 feet
4. 2017: Eager Beaver #1, 197 feet
5. 2017: Downtown Urban Open #4 ("The Gap"), 42 feet
Favorite Courses (21)
Played Courses (159)
United States
Alabama
Huntsville, AL Indian Creek DGC
1 Course(s)
Florida
North Carolina
Sugar Grove, NC Black Jack DGC
Huntersville, NC Bradford Park
New Hill, NC Buckhorn DGC
Albemarle, NC City Lake Park DGC
Albemarle, NC Fox Chase
New Bern, NC Glenburnie Park
Charlotte, NC Hornets Nest Park
Holly Springs, NC Jones Park
Charlotte, NC Nevin Park DGC
Cornelius, NC Robbins Park
Pittsboro, NC Rock Ridge Park
Roxboro, NC Rockness Monster
Wilkesboro, NC Rolling Pines DGC
Hickory, NC The Bear
15 Course(s)
South Carolina
Charleston (John's Island), SC Trophy Lakes
1 Course(s)
Texas
Virginia
Spotsylvania, VA The Blockhouse - Darkside
Spotsylvania, VA The Blockhouse - Sunnyside
2 Course(s)
Course Wish List (79)
United States
Connecticut
Orange, CT High Plains DGC
Wallingford, CT Lufbery Park
East Haddam, CT Nichols Field
Manchester, CT Wickham Park
4 Course(s)
Florida
Panama City, FL Florida State University
1 Course(s)
Georgia
Maryland
Gaithersburg, MD Seneca Creek State Park
1 Course(s)
Massachusetts
Warren, MA 501 Disc Golf
Leicester, MA Maple Hill DGC
Leicester, MA Pyramids
Leicester, MA Pyramids Pink
5 Course(s)
North Carolina
Ahoskie, NC Ahoskie Creek
Lillington, NC Anderson Creek
Jefferson, NC Ashe County Park
Kinston, NC Barnet Park
Washington, NC BCCC DGC
Oak Island, NC Bill Smith Park DGC
Davidson, NC Brackett's Bluff
Boiling Springs Lakes, NC Cougar Country
Marion, NC Creek Wise Park
Burlington, NC Deep Creek Dreams
Monroe, NC Dry Creek
Greenville, NC East Carolina University
Emerald Isle, NC Emerald Isle Woods
Williamston, NC Farm Life Disc Golf
Fontana Dam, NC Fontana Village Resort DGC
Wilkesboro, NC Ft. Hamby Park
Pleasant Garden, NC Garden Grove
Richfield, NC Goose Landing
Halifax, NC Halifax County DGC
Rockingham, NC Hinson Lake DGC
Hendersonville, NC Jackson Park
McLeansville, NC Keeley Park
Jacksonville, NC Northeast Creek Park
Charlotte, NC Reedy Creek Park
Charlotte, NC Renaissance Park - Gold
Richlands, NC Richlands-Steed Park
Asheville, NC Richmond Hill
Mount Airy, NC Round Peak Vineyard DGC
Roxboro, NC Sasquatch DGC
Laurinburg, NC Scotland County DGC
Mooresville, NC Stumpy Creek
Newland, NC Sugaree
Oxford, NC The Incinerator
Matthews, NC The Scrapyard
Elizabethtown, NC Tory Hole Park DGC
Concord, NC Vietnam Veterans Park
Hampstead, NC Wild Turkey DGC
Fairview, NC Wintersun - Long
Fairview, NC Wintersun - Short
41 Course(s)
Rhode Island
Richmond, RI Willow Valley
1 Course(s)
South Carolina
Beech Island, SC Boyd Pond Park DGC
Burnettown, SC Langley Pond DiscGolfPark
2 Course(s)
Tennessee
Fall Branch, TN Harmon Hills
Knoxville, TN Morningside Park
Morristown, TN Morristown Kiwanis DGC
Morristown, TN Panther Creek State Park
Alcoa, TN The Claytons
Knoxville, TN Tommy Schumpert Park
Knoxville, TN Victor Ashe Park
Kingsport, TN Warriors Path State Park
8 Course(s)
Virginia
Richmond, VA Bryan Park
Spotsylvania, VA Loriella Park
6 Course(s)
West Virginia
Paw Paw, WV The Woodshed
Paw Paw, WV Whippin' Post
2 Course(s)
United States
Alabama
Huntsville, AL   Indian Creek DGC 6/23/2018
1 Course(s)
Florida
Orlando, FL   Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator 10/9/2019
Orlando, FL   Bill Frederick Park - The Woods 10/9/2019
Orlando, FL   Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake 10/9/2019
3 Course(s)
Georgia
Savannah (Pooler), GA   Tom Triplett DGC 10/6/2019
1 Course(s)
Kentucky
Lexington, KY   Jacobson Park DGC 7/1/2017
Lexington, KY   Veterans Park DGC 7/2/2017
2 Course(s)
Maryland
College Park, MD   Calvert Road Park 5/27/2018
1 Course(s)
North Carolina
Burlington, NC   Alamance Reserve DGC 12/27/2016
Carrboro, NC   Anderson Park DGC 7/6/2016
Apex, NC   Apex Nature Park 5/7/2015
Wilmington, NC   Arrowhead Park 7/12/2016
Apex, NC   Avalon Peaks 6/5/2015
Cornelius, NC   Bailey Road Park DGC 4/25/2015
Greensboro, NC   Barber Park 8/24/2015
Winston-Salem, NC   Bethel DGC 11/12/2015
Durham, NC   Bethesda Park 6/6/2015
Sugar Grove, NC Black Jack DGC 7/5/2020
Black Mountain, NC   Black Mountain 9/5/2016
Plumtree, NC   Blind Squirrel - Mountain DGC 9/3/2016
Huntersville, NC   Bradford Park 10/8/2017
New Hill, NC   Buckhorn DGC 5/22/2015
Candler, NC Buncombe County Sports Complex 6/6/2015
Charlotte, NC   Cameron Yards 4/25/2015
Kill Devil Hills, NC   Casey R. Logan DGC 2/17/2018
Wilmington, NC   Castle Hayne Park 7/27/2018
Wilmington, NC   Castle Hayne Park - Old Layout 4/25/2015
Salisbury, NC   Catawba College 10/6/2017
Morganton, NC   Catawba Meadows 2/4/2016
Raleigh, NC   Cedar Hills Rotary Park 4/25/2015
Burlington, NC   Cedarock Park 7/4/2015
Charlotte, NC   Chantilly Park 10/6/2017
Pittsboro, NC   Chatham County Comm. College 7/20/2016
Albemarle, NC   City Lake Park DGC 5/16/2019
Durham, NC   Cornwallis Road Park 7/31/2015
Archdale, NC   Creekside Park - Beginner Loop 6/12/2017
Archdale, NC   Creekside Park - Main Loop 6/12/2017
Concord, NC   Dorton Park DGC 6/12/2017
Cary, NC   Downtown Urban Open 11/28/2015
Clayton, NC   East Clayton Park 1/27/2019
Knightdale, NC   East Wake Middle School 4/25/2015
Charlotte, NC   Elon Park - Angry Beaver 10/6/2017
Charlotte, NC   Elon Park - Eager Beaver 4/25/2015
Rocky Mount, NC   Englewood Park 4/28/2017
Rocky Mount, NC   Farmington Park 4/28/2017
Durham, NC   Forest Hills Park 11/5/2017
Wake Forest, NC   Forest Ridge Park 2/24/2018
Albemarle, NC   Fox Chase 5/16/2019
New Bern, NC   Glenburnie Park 4/25/2015
Durham, NC   Glenn Elementary School 7/13/2018
Nashville, NC   Glover Park 6/14/2015
Goldsboro, NC   Goldsboro Municipal Golf Course 5/20/2016
Greensboro, NC   Guilford Meadows 12/13/2017
Browns Summit, NC   Haw River Nature Trail 4/14/2016
Creedmoor, NC   Hawley Middle School 12/3/2018
North Wilkesboro, NC   Highland Hills DGC 11/12/2015
Hildebran, NC   Hildebran Community Park DGC 3/20/2016
Winston-Salem, NC   Horizons Park 11/8/2019
Charlotte, NC   Hornets Nest Park 10/10/2018
Research Triangle Park, NC   IBM Research Triangle 4/12/2017
Kure Beach, NC   Joe Eakes Park 4/25/2015
High Point, NC   Johnson Street Park 9/20/2019
Holly Springs, NC   Jones Park 5/22/2015
Salisbury, NC   Kelsey Scott Park 10/6/2017
Kenansville, NC   Kenan Park 5/9/2019
Raleigh, NC   Kentwood 4/25/2015
Charlotte, NC   Kilborne TPC 8/24/2016
Goldsboro, NC   Kiwanis DGC 10/22/2015
Wilson, NC   Lake Wilson 12/10/2015
Durham, NC   Leigh Farm Park 4/25/2015
Leland, NC   Leland Municipal Park 5/9/2019
Morrisville, NC   Lenovo DGC 7/23/2018
Cary, NC   LORD Corp 12/17/2018
Troy, NC   Lowe Warner Park 5/17/2019
Lumberton, NC   Luther Britt Park 6/18/2015
Morrisville, NC   Marcom Woods 8/21/2015
Cary, NC   Middle Creek DGC 5/22/2015
Fayetteville, NC   Middle River DGC 8/26/2016
Mint Hill, NC   Mint Hill Park 5/16/2019
Rocky Mount, NC   Nash Community College 6/14/2015
Raleigh, NC   NC State Centennial Campus 4/25/2015
Charlotte, NC   Nevin Park DGC 3/17/2017
Sanford, NC   O. T. Sloan Park 6/10/2018
Kernersville, NC   Patriot DGC 5/26/2016
Charlotte, NC   Pinewood Elementary 8/22/2016
Thomasville, NC   Pleasant Grove UMC DGC 2/13/2018
Gastonia, NC Rankin Lake DGC 4/25/2015
Charlotte, NC   Renaissance Park - RenSke 8/22/2016
Southern Pines, NC   Reservoir Park 6/10/2018
Hope Mills, NC   Resurrection Park 3/18/2018
Louisburg, NC   River Bend Park 1/14/2018
Midland, NC   Rob Wallace Park 5/16/2019
Cornelius, NC   Robbins Park 3/5/2018
Charlotte, NC   Robert L. Smith Park 8/23/2016
Pittsboro, NC   Rock Ridge Park 11/20/2015
Roxboro, NC   Rockness Monster 12/3/2018
Rocky Mount, NC   Rocky Mt. Sports Complex 5/16/2015
Rolesville, NC   Rolesville HS - Nightime 11/11/2018
Rolesville, NC Rolesville HS - Wooden Pond 6/28/2019
Wilkesboro, NC   Rolling Pines DGC 11/12/2015
Research Triangle Park, NC RTI International DGC 7/30/2015
Cary, NC   SAS Institute 1/11/2017
Cary, NC   Scottish Hills 6/5/2015
Clayton, NC   Shotwell 8/9/2019
Smithfield, NC   Smithfield Community Park DGC 3/3/2020
Polkton, NC   South Piedmont Community College 8/24/2016
Wake Forest, NC   Southeastern DGC 12/13/2015
Chapel Hill, NC   Southern Community Park 11/22/2015
Burlington, NC   Springwood Players' Course 4/25/2015
Goldsboro, NC   Stoney Creek Park DGC 9/17/2015
Charlotte, NC   Sugaw Creek Park 3/18/2017
Rocky Mount, NC   Sunset Park 4/25/2015
Raleigh, NC   Sunshine Acres DGC 12/11/2015
Surf City, NC   Surf City DGC 7/3/2018
Moncure, NC   Swinging DB's 5/30/2018
Franklinton, NC   Tar River 6/11/2015
Cary, NC   The Airborne @ WakeMed DGC 7/21/2017
Hickory, NC   The Bear 2/1/2020
Rocky Mount, NC   The Community @ NCC 4/22/2020
Germanton, NC   The Rock at Stonewall 11/8/2019
Carolina Beach, NC   Trinity DGC 7/11/2016
Asheville, NC   UNC Asheville DGC 11/12/2016
Chapel Hill, NC   UNC DGC 4/25/2015
Durham, NC   Valley Springs Park 9/30/2015
Pinehurst, NC   Village of Pinehurst DGC 6/10/2018
Waynesville, NC   Waynesville DGC - Old Layout 4/25/2015
Thomasville, NC   Welborn Woods DGC 9/20/2019
Burlington, NC   Wellspring 7/4/2015
Wendell, NC   Wendell DGC 4/9/2017
Greenville, NC   West Meadowbrook Park 3/3/2016
Wilson, NC   Williams Day Camp 10/22/2015
Yadkinville, NC   Yadkin County Park 4/25/2015
Yadkinville, NC   Yadkin County Park - The Outback 11/13/2015
Zebulon, NC   Zebulon Community Park 4/25/2015
126 Course(s)
South Carolina
Rock Hill, SC   Boyd Hill 10/7/2017
Conway, SC   Coastal Carolina (CCU) DGC 10/21/2017
Isle of Palms, SC   Isle of Palms Recreation 1/1/2016
North Charleston, SC   Park Circle DGC - Old Layout 4/25/2015
Awendaw, SC   Sewee Outpost 1/1/2016
Myrtle Beach, SC   Socastee Rec. Park 10/21/2017
Charleston (John's Island), SC   Trophy Lakes 3/17/2018
Myrtle Beach (Garden City), SC   Tupelo Bay DGC 6/17/2015
8 Course(s)
Tennessee
Knoxville, TN   Admiral Farragut Park 5/28/2016
Nashville, TN   Cedar Hill Park 3/19/2016
Gatlinburg, TN   Mills Park DGC 7/13/2019
Nashville, TN   Naval Hill DGC 3/18/2016
Knoxville, TN   Pellissippi State Community College 12/26/2017
Roan Mountain, TN   Roan Mountain DGC 4/25/2015
Chattanooga, TN   The Sinks 6/22/2018
Nashville, TN   Two Rivers Park - Old Layout 3/19/2016
Sevierville, TN   Walters State DGC 7/12/2019
9 Course(s)
Texas
Austin, TX   Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek 11/10/2015
Austin, TX   Zilker Park 11/10/2015
2 Course(s)
Virginia
Arlington, VA   Bluemont Park 9/10/2019
Spotsylvania, VA   The Blockhouse - Darkside 9/9/2019
Spotsylvania, VA   The Blockhouse - Sunnyside 9/9/2019
Spotsylvania, VA   The Blockhouse - Tiki Course 9/9/2019
Abingdon, VA   VHCC Wolves DGC 3/17/2016
5 Course(s)
Costa Rica
Orosi, Costa Rica   El Jardín Sagrado 10/3/2015