denny ritner

Member Info.
Recent Reviews
799 DGCR Number
Austin, TX Location
denny ritner Real Name
50 Age
21.5 Years Years Playing
15497 PDGA Number
933 Player Rating
115 /
Total Reviews / Avg. Score
144 - 368 Voting Record
2 Fans
4/27/2008 Joined On
5/31/2019 @ 11:47:37 AM Last Login

View Forum Posts Forum Posts Send a Private Message Send PM Add as Friend Add Friend Follow this Reviewer
Achievements:
    
Other Info/Notes:
A few words that relate to all my reviews:

My reviews are written primarily for the traveling, experienced disc golfer. I think DCR is a fantastic resource that I use when traveling and deciding where to play. I hope that my reviews are a helpful addition to the site.

I have designed and constructed several disc golf courses, spending over a thousand hours in the process. I know how it feels to recent less-than-glowing feedback on my work. I respect the hard work that all designers have spent and do not wish to step on anyone's toes with my reviews. Having said that, I take my role as a reviewer seriously and attempt to make the best, unbiased assessments of courses and cannot sugar-coat things. I tend to give lower ratings on most courses than the course average.

I view safety in course design very seriously, probably more so than most reviewers. I am also very critical of courses with less-than-intuitive routing and insufficient directional signage. It's especially unnerving when it takes 20 minutes to find the first tee once arriving at the destination. It's nice to arrive at a new course and play with locals, but it sucks when the course cannot be navigated without their assistance. In that vein, multiple basket locations are great for locals, but very frustrating for visitors when it cannot be readily discerned from the tee signs which position a basket is in. Likewise, it's frustrating when many holes are blind, requiring walking up the fairway.

Aesthetics matter, including natural beauty and maintenance. A mediocre design on an amazing piece of property will likely receive a higher rating than a perfect design on a crappy piece of property. Benches, trash cans, bathrooms, and drinking water on the course matter. I do not give bonus points for more than one course at a single location. I do subtract .5 for courses with less than 18 holes. I do not give bonus points for more than 18 holes. In fact, I feel that good courses with 19-26 holes could likely be great 18 hole courses.

In terms of challenge, multiple tees are essential for most courses. I look for each set of tees to be designed for a particular skill level, corresponding with the PDGA skill color guidelines. I prefer courses that are well balanced in terms of power and technical requirements; I hate wide-open holes. Courses that have par 4's and par 5's are superior to those with all par 3's. I value shot choices and required course management highly in assigning a rating. For a course to be great, it must provide a complete test of disc golf at least for the blue level player. I value "beginner" courses and will write about their strengths as such, but the best such course would likely receive a 2.5 rating. If you google the best 100 golf courses in the world, no list would contain "Joe's Par 3 Course".

Blah, blah, blah . . . what, you're still reading? . . . go practice your putting!
Favorite Courses (22)
Played Courses (169)
United States
Florida
Live Oak, FL Magnolia DGC
1 Course(s)
Georgia
Maryland
Gaithersburg, MD Seneca Creek State Park
1 Course(s)
Michigan
Boyne Falls, MI Boyne Mountain
Northville, MI Cass Benton Hills DGC
Climax, MI Cold Brook Park
Traverse City, MI Hickory Hills
Milford, MI Kensington Metro Park
Milford, MI Kensington Toboggan
9 Course(s)
Missouri
Kansas City, MO Water Works Park
1 Course(s)
North Carolina
Charlotte, NC Nevin Park DGC
1 Course(s)
Ohio
Cincinnati, OH Mt. Airy Forest
1 Course(s)
Tennessee
Nashville, TN Cedar Hill Park
1 Course(s)
Texas
Course Wish List (84)
United States
Alabama
Hamilton, AL Aggieland DGC
1 Course(s)
Arizona
Flagstaff, AZ Arizona Snowbowl
1 Course(s)
Arkansas
1 Course(s)
California
Santa Cruz, CA DeLaveaga Park
San Francisco, CA Golden Gate Park DGC
Sylmar, CA Sylmar DGC
Markleeville, CA Turtle Rock Park
7 Course(s)
Delaware
Newark, DE Iron Hill
1 Course(s)
Florida
1 Course(s)
Georgia
Columbus, GA Flat Rock Park DGC
Waverly, GA Honey Creek DGC
Grovetown, GA Patriot's Park
Augusta, GA Pendleton King Park
Dallas, GA White Oak Park
7 Course(s)
Illinois
1 Course(s)
Iowa
Johnston, IA Walnut Ridge
Davenport, IA West Lake Park
Urbana, IA Wildcat Bluff
3 Course(s)
Kentucky
Louisville, KY Charlie Vettiner Park
Elizabethtown, KY Freeman Lake Park
Brownsville, KY Holler In The Hills
3 Course(s)
Maine
1 Course(s)
Massachusetts
Leicester, MA Maple Hill DGC
1 Course(s)
Michigan
Wayland, MI BlueGill DGC
Ann Arbor, MI BRATS
Holly, MI Holly Woods DGC
Kalamazoo, MI Oshtemo Township Park
Ypsilanti, MI The Ponds at Lakeshore
7 Course(s)
Minnesota
South St. Paul, MN Kaposia Park
1 Course(s)
Missouri
Kansas City, MO Blue Valley Park
St. Louis (Mehlville), MO Jefferson Barracks
St. Louis (Florissant), MO Sioux Passage - Original
3 Course(s)
Nebraska
Omaha, NE Hummel Park
1 Course(s)
New Mexico
Rociada, NM Pendaries Village DGC
1 Course(s)
New York
1 Course(s)
North Carolina
Jefferson, NC Ashe County Park
Huntersville, NC Bradford Park
Charlotte, NC Renaissance Park - Gold
Newland, NC Sugaree
Durham, NC Valley Springs Park
Pinehurst, NC Village of Pinehurst DGC
8 Course(s)
Ohio
Dover, OH Deis Hill Park
1 Course(s)
Oregon
Lebanon, OR Camp Tadmor
Estacada, OR Riverbend DGC
4 Course(s)
Pennsylvania
Spring City, PA Camp Sankanac DGC
Whitehall, PA Jordan Creek
Quakertown, PA Nockamixon State Park
Philadelphia, PA Sedgley Woods
Newtown, PA Tyler State Park
Greencastle, PA Whispering Falls DGC
7 Course(s)
South Carolina
Easley, SC Foothills DGC
Newberry, SC Stoney Hill
2 Course(s)
Tennessee
Millington, TN Bud Hill - Original
Fall Branch, TN Harmon Hills
Chattanooga, TN The Sinks
Kingsport, TN Warriors Path State Park
4 Course(s)
Texas
Duncanville, TX Crossroads of Life DGC
Austin, TX MetCenter DGC
4 Course(s)
Utah
Salt Lake City, UT Creekside Park
1 Course(s)
Virginia
Williamsburg, VA New Quarter Park
Spotsylvania, VA The Blockhouse - Darkside
Spotsylvania, VA The Blockhouse - Sunnyside
Spotsylvania, VA The Blockhouse - Tiki Course
5 Course(s)
Washington
Shelton, WA Shelton Springs DGC
2 Course(s)
West Virginia
Paw Paw, WV The Woodshed
Paw Paw, WV Whippin' Post
2 Course(s)
Wisconsin
1 Course(s)
Canada
British Columbia
Kamloops, BC Rose Hill - West
1 Course(s)
United States
Alabama
Semmes, AL   The Admiral 3/7/2018
1 Course(s)
California
Berkeley, CA   Aquatic Park 4/6/2010
South Lake Tahoe, CA   Bijou Community Park 4/19/2017
2 Course(s)
Colorado
La Porte, CO   Cache La Poudre DGC 3/13/2010
Federal Heights (Denver), CO   Camenisch Park - Badlands 3/9/2010
Fort Collins, CO   Edora Park - Old Layout 3/13/2010
Aurora, CO   Exposition Park 5/20/2017
Fort Collins, CO   Heritage DGC 5/20/2012
Arvada, CO   Johnny Roberts DGC 7/13/2016
Arvada, CO   Johnny Roberts DGC - Old Layout 3/9/2010
Denver, CO   Lakewood Dry Gulch 5/21/2017
Golden, CO   Mines Park DGC 3/13/2010
Windsor, CO   Oxbow DGC 5/21/2012
10 Course(s)
Florida
Tampa, FL   22nd St. Park DGC 4/26/2012
Orlando, FL   Airport Lakes Park 3/16/2011
Hialeah, FL   Amelia Earhart Park 1/29/2010
Orlando, FL   Avalon Park 4/27/2008
Orlando, FL   Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake 5/8/2008
Venice, FL   Bird Bay Golf Course 12/18/2013
Bonita Springs, FL   Bonita Springs Rec. Center 5/8/2008
Clearwater, FL   Cliff Stephens Park 5/8/2008
Plant City, FL   Edward Medard Park 6/6/2011
Cocoa, FL   F. Burton Smith Park 3/12/2009
Floral City, FL   Floral Park 5/8/2008
Jacksonville, FL   Fore Palms DGC 5/27/2008
Orlando, FL   Gordon Barnett Park - North 5/8/2008
Safety Harbor, FL   Gregg Paas Memorial DGC 5/8/2008
Dunedin, FL   Hammock Park 5/8/2008
Holly Hill, FL   Hollyland Park 8/12/2009
Homestead, FL   Homestead Air Reserve Park 1/10/2017
Miami (Kendall), FL   Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - East 5/14/2008
Miami, FL   Kennedy Park 6/1/2010
Sarasota, FL   Lakeview Park 3/22/2009
Brandon, FL   Limona DGC 6/6/2008
Lutz, FL   Lutz Executive DGC 6/6/2008
Live Oak, FL   Magnolia DGC 10/28/2008
Elkton, FL   Moccasin Creek DGC 5/13/2011
North Port Charlotte, FL   North Charlotte Regional Park - Old Layout 7/10/2010
Sarasota, FL   North Water Tower Park 3/22/2009
Gainesville, FL   Northside Park 6/20/2011
Ocala, FL   Ocala Greenway DGC 6/6/2008
Palm Beach Gardens, FL PGA National Park
Venice, FL   Pinebrook DGC - Old Layout 7/15/2010
South Daytona, FL   Reed Canal Park DGC 12/26/2008
Debary, FL River City Nature Park - Alpha 3/22/2009
Apopka, FL   Rock Springs Ridge - Championship DGC 5/7/2011
Apopka, FL   Rock Springs Ridge - Executive DGC 4/2/2011
Dunedin, FL   Saint Andrews Links Golf Course 5/28/2008
Largo, FL   Taylor Park 5/28/2008
Ocala, FL   The Preserve @ Pine Oaks 4/20/2009
Brooksville, FL   The Quarry Golf Course 6/6/2008
Crystal River, FL   The Red Hawk 6/6/2008
Coconut Creek, FL   Tradewinds Park 5/14/2008
Gainesville, FL Trilogy School DGC 6/20/2011
Orlando, FL   University of Central Florida 8/13/2010
Orlando, FL   University of Central Florida - Old Layout 4/27/2008
Tampa, FL   USF Riverfront Park 6/6/2008
Inverness, FL   Whispering Pines DGC 6/6/2008
Melbourne, FL   Wickham Park 6/20/2011
Hudson, FL   Word of Life Camp DGC 3/22/2009
50 Course(s)
Georgia
Valdosta, GA   Freedom Park 5/13/2011
Appling, GA   IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial 6/28/2009
Appling, GA   IDGC - WR Jackson Memorial DGC 6/4/2009
Fayetteville, GA   McCurry Park 7/6/2010
5 Course(s)
Kansas
Kansas City, KS   Rosedale Park - Down Under 5/28/2008
Kansas City, KS Rosedale Park - Top
2 Course(s)
Kentucky
Bowling Green, KY   Ephram White Park 6/11/2008
Bowling Green, KY Hobson Grove - Original
Burlington, KY   Idlewild 5/8/2008
Bowling Green, KY   Kereiakes Park 6/11/2008
Independence, KY Lincoln Ridge Park
Bowling Green, KY   Lover's Lane Park 6/11/2008
7 Course(s)
Louisiana
Lafayette, LA   Acadiana Park - Ace Run 5/4/2012
Lafayette, LA   Acadiana Park - Duzee 5/4/2012
Shreveport, LA Clyde Fant DGC
Shreveport, LA Ford Park
4 Course(s)
Maryland
Gaithersburg, MD Seneca Creek State Park
1 Course(s)
Michigan
Clarkston, MI   Bay Court Park 8/2/2008
Boyne Falls, MI   Boyne Mountain 5/14/2008
Ann Arbor, MI Brown Park
Northville, MI Cass Benton Hills DGC
Midland, MI Chippewa Banks
Auburn Hills, MI   Civic Center Park 8/2/2008
Climax, MI Cold Brook Park
Grand Rapids, MI Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue
Grand Rapids, MI Earl W. Brewer Park - Gold
Grand Rapids, MI Earl W. Brewer Park - Red
Grand Rapids, MI Earl W. Brewer Park - White
Troy, MI   Firefighters Park 4/11/2011
Lansing, MI Grand Woods Park
Traverse City, MI Hickory Hills
Dexter, MI   Hudson Mills Metropark - Original 5/6/2013
Grand Rapids, MI Johnson Park
Milford, MI Kensington Metro Park
Milford, MI Kensington Toboggan
Traverse City, MI Northwestern Michigan College
Troy, MI Raintree Park
Utica, MI River Bends
Oxford, MI Seymour Lake Park
Royal Oak, MI Starr-Jaycee Park
Royal Oak, MI Wagner Park
New Boston, MI   Willow Metropark 6/11/2008
32 Course(s)
Missouri
Columbia, MO   Harmony Bends DGC 3/7/2018
Kansas City, MO Swope Park
Kansas City, MO Water Works Park
3 Course(s)
Nevada
Las Vegas, NV   Peccole Ranch 4/8/2017
1 Course(s)
North Carolina
Charlotte, NC   Eastway Park 7/5/2011
Charlotte, NC   Hornets Nest Park - Old Layout 6/29/2011
Charlotte, NC   Kilborne TPC 6/28/2010
Charlotte, NC   Nevin Park DGC 7/5/2011
Charlotte, NC   Renaissance Park - Gold 6/28/2011
Charlotte, NC   Sugaw Creek Park 6/29/2011
6 Course(s)
Ohio
Tiffin, OH   Hedges Boyer Park DGC 7/6/2010
Cincinnati, OH   Mt. Airy Forest 3/9/2010
4 Course(s)
South Carolina
Columbia, SC Earlewood Park
Rock Hill, SC Winthrop Gold Course
2 Course(s)
Tennessee
Nashville, TN   Cedar Hill Park 6/11/2008
Hendersonville, TN Sanders Ferry Park
Nashville, TN Seven Oaks Park
4 Course(s)
Texas
Lago Vista, TX   Arrowhead Point 4/12/2013
Austin, TX   Austin Ridge Bible Church 5/27/2012
Austin, TX   Bartholomew Park 5/23/2012
Leander, TX   Benbrook Park DGC 6/3/2013
Round Rock, TX   Brushy Creek MUD DGC 8/31/2012
Cedar Park, TX   Brushy Creek Sports Park DGC 8/31/2012
Austin, TX   Circle C Metro Park @ Slaughter Creek 5/25/2012
Wimberley, TX   Circle R - Circ Hill DGC 8/2/2008
Wimberley, TX   Circle R - Rolling Meadow DGC 8/2/2008
Manor, TX   East Metro Park 5/21/2012
Lubbock, TX   Mackenzie Park - Mack 5/21/2012
Austin, TX   MetCenter DGC 5/19/2012
Pflugerville, TX   North Town 9/1/2012
Round Rock, TX   Old Settlers' Park 10/26/2012
Austin, TX   Our Savior Lutheran Church 10/5/2012
Austin, TX Pease Park
Georgetown, TX   Rivery Park 10/26/2012
Austin, TX   Roy G. Guerrero DGC 6/11/2012
Georgetown, TX San Gabriel Park
Austin, TX   Searight Park 8/26/2012
Talco, TX   Selah Ranch - Creekside 5/5/2012
Kyle, TX   Steeplechase Park DGC 6/4/2012
Dripping Springs, TX   Twin Parks Country Club - Parkshire 4/12/2013
San Marcos, TX TxState Campus West Park
Austin (Wells Branch), TX   Wells Branch Park 12/18/2013
Austin (Wells Branch), TX Wells Branch Park - Old Layout
Austin (Wells Branch), TX   Wells Branch Park - Old Layout II 5/21/2012
Marble Falls, TX   Westside Park DGC 5/27/2013
Leander, TX   Williamson County DGC 10/10/2012
Austin, TX   Zilker Park 10/5/2012
35 Course(s)