Fairmont, MN 
Cedar Creek - Central Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #1 (Taken 9/2018)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Southern MN's Wooded Gem!

1    10/6/2018   10/12/2018
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 90  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 15.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Portable signs for each hole, I'd assume they plan to be permanent at some point.

-Concrete tee pads

-Plenty of elevation shots including uphill, downhill and across a valley. All making for a cool hole to walk up to

-11 legit holes containing a stream that is in play. These holes don't just line you up right behind the stream and have you throw over; the stream is in the distance bordering or through the fairway making it a legitimate concern on each of the 11 holes. Too often water on courses really doesn't play on the hole, which is not the case here. This water results in plenty risk/reward throws.

-Heavily wooded course which gives you more to be concerned about than just hucking a bomb shot out to an open basket as is the case in many park-type courses.

-Requires a lot of different shots and abilities. Newer players will likely get tore up out here.

-Although heavily wooded usually means shorter holes, the way these holes are set up does allow for the big arm guy to have a clear advantage on a few holes.

-Every hole presents a legitimate challenge that isn't identical to the other holes on the course.

-Beyond hole 18, I was excited to throw every hole I walked up to on this course. This course is peppered with wooded greatness. As a person preferring a bit more of a technical throw with scenery, this course absolutely quenched my thirst for something awesome.

-Brand new this fall, this course will only get better.

-Free to play and there are 2 other courses on the property.

-Bathroom on the property and plenty of woods to take care of any quick reliefs even with others on the course.
Cons: -Being so new, there is plenty of brush clearing and fine tuning to be done on these fairways. This course was plowed out of what was likely fairly thick woods and steep terrain. It takes time to get all the details fine-tuned. It should also be noted that a heavy duty wind storm had recently hit this course prior to me getting there. There were quite a few large trees and limbs laying in and across fairways, so distinguishing what blew down in the storm and what was left there after carving the course was very difficult for me.

-Its 2 hours from my house.

-limited garbages once out on the course, likely due to the terrain demands.

-Steep terrain is still in fairly rough condition and there are plenty of holes where footing going down the hills are a concern. Take your time and watch your step and it shouldn't be a problem however.

-This course will likely yield 2 distinct rating groups, meaning it generally will not satisfy 1 guy from the next in the same way. Guys who enjoy wooded/technical courses will be blown away by this course much like myself. However, guys who prefer more of an open layout tailoring more to a big arm would likely find this to be a 3.5 - 4 rating. No matter how you slice it, though, that still isn't a waste of time and I'm confident all will like what they see is going on out on this course.
Other Thoughts: This course was a hidden gem for my group of players. If you enjoy scenic disc throwing over a deep valley with a stream winding throughout, you will enjoy the landscape this course has to offer. Beyond the landscape, the shot requirements out here are a lot of fun. As a guy who thrives on playing wooded courses like this, I can honestly say this is one of Minnesota's top wooded courses. It is easily comparable to Chain's Edge, except it adds 11 holes with a stream that is in-play. If you haven't been out to this course yet, get there immediately before this property is packed with disc golfers from all over. The other 2 courses on the property looked legit as well, but are not heavily wooded like this one and I cannot speak for them as I didn't have time to play them on this trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Play!

1    10/6/2018   10/9/2018
Review By: iconoclastes
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. It has down the valley shots, up the valley shots, across the valley shots and each hole is unique and fun. There is a great deal of very technical shots, and the few that aren't still have a high level of difficulty with water hazards and a difficult rough. I could go on and on about this course, but the bottom line is this is a great course for anyone but beginners. The big arm guy, the very technical guy, righty's, lefty's, forehand or backhand.
Cons: Not much for cons besides the fact that there were no garbages, and there was a windstorm or tornado recently and there are a few big trees that need to be moved. Lastly some of the new tee boxes that were poured recently have not filled in around them so you need to be careful to stay on the pad or you could get hurt and on a couple holes if you go past it is a steep fall so be careful.
Other Thoughts: When I went I only had time for Central, but there are two other courses at Cedar Creek making it a great destination area for disc. This is possibly my new favorite course in Minnesota along with Chains Edge and BRP. It is a very hilly (as opposed to what the course description says is only moderately hilly) so bring your oxygen tank if you are used to flat courses and are not in good shape.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

And Then There Were Three

1    9/9/2018   9/10/2018
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 165  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the third and newest course to the Cedar Creek disc golf complex. Each course at Cedar Creek has its own identity, so each course will provide players with a different experience. The Cedar Creek Central course offers the most challenge of the three and is also the most strenuous, so come prepared for a hike!

As of this writing, the course is only a few weeks old and still pretty rough(see cons). The tees are the trapezoid, wide back style, which is always a plus in my book. There are detailed temporary signs at each tee and several temporary next tee signs to help with navigation. The course flows smoothly enough and I had no trouble finding the next tees.

For those of you who love elevation changes, well this course has elevation in play on just about every hole. The are a good mix of uphill, downhill, and valley shots and good use of fast greens. The course also features a few doglegs and water hazards on eleven different holes via the creek that winds its way through the park. The creek is murky enough to make discs hard to spot, but it isn't too wide or deep.

The holes on this course are very technical and put a huge emphasis on hitting your lines. The majority of these holes are heavily wooded and do not offer many chance to open up. There is a focus on placement and other aspects to challenge your mental game. Birdies are rewards on this course and there are no gimme holes to be found; this course rewards execution. The technicality and elevation changes are both amplified on this course compared to the other two.
Cons: As stated above, the course is new, and rough! If you get off of the fairway of these holes you will be punished, and not in the good way. The woods are very thick and there is little chance for good recovery shots, so expect to take at least an extra stroke just for getting off of the fairways. When I played here none of the grassy areas had been mowed and I'm not too sure these areas will see much maintenance.

Being that this course is so wooded and hilly, it suffers from having a lot of blind pin placements. Some of these holes require you to hike downhill, after an uphill walk, just to get a look at where the basket is located.

There are no alternate tees or pin placements. And while I love the shape of the tees, they feel a little too small for some of the holes.

The par 4 holes on this course feel very tweener. Good drives to the landing zones will put players less than 100' for their second shot which doesn't play as a legit par 4 in my opinion.

There is quite a bit of high trimming and clean up still needed to polish this course up. And while most of these holes offer a clear line, there are also a few where the pin placements are extremely hard to reach even with a well executed throw.

This course was pretty muddy when I played it. Hole 3 was pretty much all soft mud and creek once I got to the bottom of the hill, which is midway through the hole. Be very cautious while walking around these hills when it is wet.

Way too many right finishing holes. There is not a good balance of left, centered, and right pin placements.

Other Thoughts: A lot of work went in to carving out this course, but it still needs some more work to help it shine. It's pretty awesome that this small community has a complex consisting of three different courses that is free to play for the public. As it stands now, this course is my least favorite of the three, but that could possibly change if some serious clean up is done off of the fairways. It's not a great course, but it does have some really fun moments and it is worth the experience to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    8/18/2018   8/21/2018
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 162  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Freshly installed course in Aug 2018. This is an intense challenge of managing elevation changes through heavy woods and water hazards. Most holes are flanked by punishing rough. There's a murky fast-flowing creek that is either alongside the fairways, but more often crossing the fairway at mid-fairway or near landing zones where shorter shots and tree hits may land. This definitely adds a little extra excitement to the round, especially if you're thinking about throwing a favorite disc. A lot of holes favor left-to-right skills (lefty or forehand friendly) but it takes a variety of throws to score well here. There are some fantastic par 4s that will challenge top-level pro players to think about their landing zones and disc angles/groundplay. Really nice consistent tees that are poured level despite the elevation changes. New baskets (Prodigy).
Cons: I threw more forehands in this round than I've thrown in ages, and I thought that was fine, but I did hear some complaints from people who don't like to throw forehand... they might have a legitimate beef about this course. Although I liked the use of elevation, it would be more manageable if the up and down holes were spaced out with more flat holes in between. A series of holes went straight up, then straight down, then repeat, repeat. On a hot day this is very tough, and in icy/slushy conditions this course might be unplayable (fortunately there are two other courses on site that aren't quite as steep). I like a challenge though, so this design issue doesn't affect my rating that much.
Other Thoughts: Of the three courses on site this is my favorite. The amount of work that went into carving this course out of heavy woods is really remarkable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.