Mt Juliet, TN 
Ethan Page Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #7 (Taken 9/2018)
3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
What's Up Shot?

2-4    11/3/2018   11/3/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The pins are spectacular. The baskets are very large, very visible (bright yellow), and catch discs well.

The signs are accurate and descriptive, and the course flows easily from one hole to the next. Navigation is a breeze.

For only exceeding 200' a couple times, this course still provides a pretty large variety of shots. It is fantastic for working on your upshots and your long approaches, and if you hit one of the many trees on the course, you will have a difficult throw to save par.
Cons: There are no driver opportunities. Not a surprise, considering it's an intentionally short course, but it would have been cool if there were one or two holes involving some longer tunnel drives. Or just some slightly longer (~250') holes period; there were a couple "Par 2" holes that, in my opinion, add nothing to the course; they should have been made a little more difficult to bump the par up to 3.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is fantastic for what it is -- a true Par 3 disc golf course. It is great for working on the short game or introducing someone to the sport (if they don't mind hitting some trees). It's worth the drive if you are willing to work on that up shot (you can play the course several times within a couple hours), but outside of that purpose, Ethan Page is not a destination course. It is a very nice Par 3 course, though, and worth the occasional play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Everlasting Ace Runs

1    9/3/2018   11/1/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.263 Rating) A 2,749 foot 18 hole disc golf course.
- ACEABILITY - Well, well well. Any player looking for their first ace should set up camp here. I could see the local ace addict running 4 continuous rounds here on a free day. The ace potential on a hole to hole basis is substantial and continuous throughout the entire layout. My gosh, 11 shots under a 150 feet and 16 shots under 200 feet. Rec players will ring up the chains here every 25 rounds or so. Advanced players with technical instincts, could tally one every 10 rounds or less. Honestly, I came away a bit dissatisfied that I didn't hit metal one time.
- FUN FACTOR - This course is going to be oodles of fun for beginners and novice level players. In addition, it's going to produce addicts out the ying yang. Sure the terrain is a little scraggly here and there at the moment, but almost all the heavy low lying overgrowth has been removed. Very little searching for discs and low disc loss possibility. However, for the players needing a serious challenge to be satisfied, this course won't ever deliver.
- RAW BEAUTY - I was impressed that such a short layout could produce this many nice looking lines. Mostly heavily wooded and with constant minor elevation movement. The course is fairly secluded with very few manmade structures in view. There are no epic looking holes here, but no eyesores either. My favorite shot was on (18) where I got to see my car behind the basket. If anyone ever wanted to see what I roll with, they can check out the pictures on DGCR for this hole.
- CHAINS - Personally not my favorite style of basket, but for a course this short, perhaps it was wise to not use a big generous model. MachIIIs with yellow power coated tops and bottoms, with the typical hole number placard sign on top.
- NAVIGATION - Great for a brand new course. Course map and tee signs are already in place. Not the most detailed ones I've seen but adequate enough to get this solo player seamlessly through on first attempt. Most next tees can be seen from the prior basket. I do wish however that they had put next tee direction on the tee signs.
- QUICK PLAY - I took pictures of all the fairway lines and tee signs, and still got out in 45 minutes. Figure 90 minutes for a typical foursome. This is one of the quickest 18s I've ever played.

Cons: Not really too many complaints other than a complexity deficiency.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - I shot 42 and came away dissatisfied. I warn all experienced players to stay away from here unless they are ok with the idea of running 18 putter shots. An Advanced bomber who reviews this course might give it a 1.0. This is a beginners course and it with teach them accuracy no doubt. To recreational players and above, this is an ace race course with no need for modifications.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - With a layout this short, Ethan Page will struggle to attract players above the Recreational level. If I lived in the area this would not be a course I'd frequent. Throwing putters on just about every hole gets old.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to a string of 18 shorter holes, the appearance of many of the fairways feels the same. Lots of straight heavily wooded fairways. A few have some slight breaks or lightly defined pockets. Elevation movement is nice for a short course, but it's not like I was scrambling for my camera to send pictures to DiscGolfer Magazine.
- MAINTENANCE - I'm sure the course will continue to improve over time, but right now there is a ton of small dead branches lying all over the ground. I'm sure if a club takes root here that this will get addressed. If I had knee pain issues, I'd stay away from this course until this gets addressed.
- SPACING - a bit of squeeze job to get 18 holes in, but it seems like the designer pulled it off without having any egregious adjacency playing hazards. I found myself near other fairways a couple times and ran one up on a next tee once.
- PARKING - A smaller than normal gravel parking lot. Don't park next to the basket at the far left of the parking lot. That's hole (18s) basket and it's a downhill shot from the tee.

Other Thoughts: I'm really not sure what to make of the course. It will definitely find some usefulness in the community for the newer player or for those that have below average arm strength. There are three course now in Mt Juliet and although this is clearly the best example of the three, I don't think I'd be here very often unless I lived within a 5 minute drive. I totality I gave the course roughly a 2.25. I think for Beginners thru Novice this is a 3.0 course, but for the typical Advanced player it may be a 1.5 course. It reminded me a bit of the Cane Ridge short course. Ethan Page trumps Cane Ridge Short for infrastructure, but Cane Ridge short has 5 or so holes that would top the best hole a Ethan Page. I'd give a slight edge to Cane Ridge for these two courses that target similar audiences.
- TEES - Adequate tees for such a short course being 4 by 8. I think 4 by 10 with a tapper to 5 in back would have been ideal though. That's about 40% more concrete and about 95% less disc golfer complaints for the short tees.
- CHARACTER - Adequate. All the basics are fine (tees, chains, navigation, signage and 18 holes.) However there are no extras beyond this. No multi-tees, alternate basket locations or practice basket. Seating was at maybe one hole, but I think it was a walking path bench.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Good Course

1    10/3/2018   10/11/2018
Review By: Jrbacon
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice area, wooded and plenty of trees. Holes are short but challenging for just about anyone. Would recommended to anyone beginning or novice player.
Cons: Watch out for falling Hedgeapples they could knock you out if hit by one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course to work on putting and approach

1    10/6/2018   10/6/2018
Review By: billcoke
Played: 138  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Grab two putters, that is all you will need.
- This looks like the local Scout Troop put in some work on this course and I appreciate that effort.
- Course looks newer but well cleared.
- Good signage, easy navigation between holes.
- Great course to put in some practice on approaches with a putter.
- Great place to learn to play.
Cons: - Very short course, some holes are only 110'.
Other Thoughts: - If you want a long course, don't come here.
- That being said, don't poo poo the course because it is short.
- This is a fun course and someone(s) obviously put in a lot of work.
- Quiet area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/1/2018   10/5/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun short 18 hole course playing in and out of light woods and meadow type land. Every hole has fair and defined paths to baskets. Good variety of flat and slighly sloped. A course of this length could easily be repetitive, but I felt the design offered good variety and an interesting look on each tee.

Great course to introduce new people and a perfect place for kids, as the holes are short yet interesting.

In reality this plays like a par 36-40 for experienced players as most to all baskets are reachable with a putter off the tee. However, there are enough trees and slopes that will likely lead to some scores of 3 or even 4 during your round.

The only time I used a driver was to play a hyzer skip shot, other than that it was mids and putters. But this is a fantastic course to play as a means of practicing your accuracy and short game.

Has everything you need: 18 baskets, concrete tees, and nice tee signs, plus an ample parking area and course map kiosk. Fairways are also already broken in quite nicely for being a new course and this should only improve as long as it gets regular play during the summer months.

Quick play. I could easily see myself coming over here and playing it 2-4 times in a row trying to see how low I can go.
Cons: Not a whole lot. It clearly has the intent of being a short course and does the job admirably. But eventually any serious disc golfer will want to explore more challenging and longer courses.

I would have liked to seen a bit more forced curved shots, especially to the right. Most holes played straight ahead.
Other Thoughts: Clearly the best course in Mt. Juliet. Mundy is getting run down and has terrible baskets. Jones Bark Park is only a mini-marker course. Downside is any locals who become addicted by playing here will have to drive a ways to find a course up a level.

These courses are always tough to rate. As far as beginner courses go, this is one of the best I have played. Reminds me of the shorter course at Cane Ridge but a bit shorter and without the extreme elevation. I gave CR a 2.5, so Ethan Page is just a touch below it at 2.0 (or Reasonable according to the DGCR description) which I think is a fitting way to describe it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short and Sweet

1    9/18/2018   9/20/2018
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily found and located and currently off the beaten path, so traffic isn't a problem.

Being a shorter course where you can hone in on the putter and some mid-range disc work. Another benefit of this course is that by not having length, it plays very quickly too.

Offering some variety in Hyzer/AnHyzer shot shaping on some holes and requires precision on many of the more stable holes too.

Parking here is gravel and is adequate for the size of the course; it is clean and well manicured for a newly created course.

Signs are excellent, and it is very easy to navigate and transition from hole-to-hole. The new Mach III baskets are a pleasure to throw to and do a fantastic service of catching the discs.

The course is mostly level with just slight upgrades and downgrades. This is a bit surprising really as most courses in the area are moderately hilly.
Cons: Seriously this course didn't leave anything to complain about. It was fun, just technical enough to work the P/A disc quite a bit.

If you are not a pro or advanced player looking for a challenge then this course should put a smile on your face.
Other Thoughts: This new eighteen holer adds a sorely needed course for disc golfers in Mount Juliet. The other nine-hole course nearby suffering from relocation issues, vandals and lack of love set the stage for a much-needed course. Some mention that there are three DG courses in Mount Juliet now. Well, the third would be a Mini-DG course, fun but not the same.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.