Allen, TX 
Bethany Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Hole #8 (Taken 6/2007)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Alt. Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Bethany Lakes

1    6/30/2017   7/1/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 175  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good little 9 holer than makes the most of the land that was provided and takes advantage of the limit trees. The first few holes are open holes. As long as you stay to the right you won't be near the water hazard. The next holes are shorter and make use of the water hazards the courses provides. These holes provide the risk/reward shots with the pond in the backdrop of the baskets. You can go for it or lay up and take your 2 and move on. I liked hole 7 alot as you have the pond to the left. When I played there was a pretty strong wind off of the creek I had to factor in. This was my first time playing the course and I really liked how they had alternative pin locations as well. I'm not sure how often they are moved but they were in the longs when I was out there.
Cons: My main issue with the course starts after hole 7. It wasn't marked vey well to indicate where to go for hole 8. Hole 8 was in terrible condition when I played. The rough was really rough. The hole hadn't been mowed in weeks. There was a 5 foot window for the tunnel shot and that is all. Once again their weren't signs pointing you in the right direction for number 9.
Other Thoughts: This course could drastically improve if they put arrows under the previous baskets indicating which direction to go. Overall, the designer made great use of the land that they were provided by maximizing the minimal trees and the water hazards. Hole 5 was a cool shot if you wanted to be aggressive and try and split the trees over the water for the birdie run. This is definitely one of the better laid out 9 holers in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Didn't care for it at my skill level

1    4/2/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: Len Averyt
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice clean and neat course.
Cons: To me, no other really unique character other than it being all water hazards. if your a right handed ,back hand player that hyser bombs from time to time, You will loose discs.
It seemed that all the baskets were placed right where all the other, non disc golfing public was making use of the park. Kids fishing, playing football and soccer.
If your a player like me that is novice and scores in the mid 70's and up. I really don't think you will like this course because your skill level just won't let you enjoy it.
Other Thoughts: I didn't care for much for the course, by hole 3-4 I was already beat down from playing Shawnee close by and tired. The course, at that point, just kind of P!$$ed me off.

To me it was just one water hazard after another just for the sake of it.



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/22/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best 9 hole courses I have played. Almost all the holes have a water hazard. Whether you have to throw over water or the basket is right next to the water. They have a monster water hole on hole 7. it used to be a quarry that was filled in with water. Do not expect to get your disc back if you go in there.
Cons: It is just 9 holes. Since most of the holes have water hazards you might lose a few discs. I like the challenge but others may not. On top of that, they don't allow swimming or wading in the ponds so you cannot go get your disc. If you wait around till night you could probably sneak in and retrieve your disc.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

1    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 204  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not a dinky course - has some good "D".
Water comes into play on most holes.
#8 is a great tunnel shot to a pin close to the creek.
Great signage.
Cons: Multiple tees would be more useful than alternate basket locations.
Poison Ivy on 7 thru 9 paths is extensive
Other Thoughts: This course has something for every golfer to not like - the big arms won't like the technical shots and the technical golfer won't like the open shots, but fact is few 9-hole courses have such a diversity of holes. And the wind on #1 thru 7 can be brutal.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bethany Lakes

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun and short. It doesn't take any time at all to finish a round. The park is very nice, and well maintained. All tees are in good shape with all the signs present. The baskets are nice, and there are two pins for every hole, so I imagine that the baskets get moved from time to time. It is especially nice at the end of the course. I like the holes that you drive over the lake on.
Cons: Water hazards will swallow your discs on all but two holes. When mine went in, it was easily retrievable, but it could definately be a problem. The park is heavily used, and the sidewalk comes into play a few times in the course. (not always a problem) The whole course plays fairly close to the roads around the park, so there are cars on one side and water on the other. A little confusion going from 8 to 9, but we found it.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun round that makes you think about your shots. We went on an extremely windy day, so that makes things even more exciting. Not a bad little course. I really enjoyed the walk, and there were a ton of ducks and other aquatic wildlife. Hole 8 is awesome. You drive through a tunnel, then the basket is down a nice hill in front of a small creek, very pretty.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I'll take a seven on hole 2

1    2/6/2009   2/7/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 292  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the best out-of-bounds and beyond with water hazard combined of any DFW course,Loved to play here in fifteen-twenty plus mile an hour wind days.Hole two and nine I saw some pretty rough numbers on that scorecard.
Cons: People abound walking and jogging on weekends,You only need a floating disc on maybe two holes.Nowhere to sit,The road comes into play if you over shoot seven.Tire marks on your discs likely.In no wind situations this course is a sinch for easy par.
Other Thoughts: Sac up on hole nine over the pond(best over the water hole in DFW).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ok Course

5+    9/26/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a nice location in a very well maintained park. I don't think I'll ever seen a peice of trash on the ground. The course is pretty challenging. Ecspecially 8 and 9. This is a good course to work on your power. Some of the baskets are pro and some are regular so it makes if interesting. The signs acurrate and none are missing.
Cons: -Water every where. I've lost two discs to this course. One on hole 2 and one on hole 5 . I don't recommend going in after any discs either. The water is a little scarey in places. On the pond by 7 and 8 there are signs up all over that say NO SWIMMING.
-8 and 9 are neat holes to play but getting from eight to nine can be difficult. The choices are to go through the woods and over the concrete overflow of the pond for 9 or too back track to the side walk and walk around.
Other Thoughts: 8 is a tricky hole. From the tee pad you can't see the basket. It is about 150 through the tunnel of trees and 20 to 30 feet down the hill consealed in the woods on the right hand side. You can pick a map of the course in the recreation building buy the parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, it provides a challenge for both beginner and advanced players. The course is well marked and the holes provide a lot of variety keeping the round interesting. Never crowded.
Cons: The course can be extremely frustrating. The water hazards can wreak havoc on your bag. they are deceivingly difficult. Disc retrieval is all but impossible in many of the holes dues to the depth of the water even only a few feet from the edge. The occasional sighting of cotton mouth snakes in and around the largest of the lakes also discourages recovery of the discs.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 7 is strangely difficult. It has claimed at least 13 discs to my knowledge 2 of which were my own PLAY THIS HOLE WITH CAUTION or loss of a disc is likely.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.