Allen, TX 
Bethany Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #3
3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Bethany Lakes

1    6/30/2017   7/1/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 175  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good little 9 holer than makes the most of the land that was provided and takes advantage of the limit trees. The first few holes are open holes. As long as you stay to the right you won't be near the water hazard. The next holes are shorter and make use of the water hazards the courses provides. These holes provide the risk/reward shots with the pond in the backdrop of the baskets. You can go for it or lay up and take your 2 and move on. I liked hole 7 alot as you have the pond to the left. When I played there was a pretty strong wind off of the creek I had to factor in. This was my first time playing the course and I really liked how they had alternative pin locations as well. I'm not sure how often they are moved but they were in the longs when I was out there.
Cons: My main issue with the course starts after hole 7. It wasn't marked vey well to indicate where to go for hole 8. Hole 8 was in terrible condition when I played. The rough was really rough. The hole hadn't been mowed in weeks. There was a 5 foot window for the tunnel shot and that is all. Once again their weren't signs pointing you in the right direction for number 9.
Other Thoughts: This course could drastically improve if they put arrows under the previous baskets indicating which direction to go. Overall, the designer made great use of the land that they were provided by maximizing the minimal trees and the water hazards. Hole 5 was a cool shot if you wanted to be aggressive and try and split the trees over the water for the birdie run. This is definitely one of the better laid out 9 holers in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Well Kept 9 Holer

2-4    5/6/2017   5/10/2017
Review By: waterdog44
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice 9 hole course that is well maintained, being next to the Allen recreation center and all. This was my second time there and my first completion of the course, went halfway first time. No. 1 is open and a bit lengthy - had to ask a nice lady and her dog if I should go ahead and shoot ( hanging under a shade tree not noticing any disc action ). They kindly moved on and I made a nice upshot and putted for par. The wind was light and southerly like you want it. I nearly put the no. 2 drive in the water but a tree kicked it back in play. I did put it in the water on 3 about 5 feet out, there was a handy stick so I took my penalty and proceeded with my recovered disc. No. 4 drives over 125ft of water or so. My shot was hard enough to go across even though hitting one of the big tree branches on the other side. I lost a disc there last time ! Five went ok, I was asking if the fishing guys over there were ready. Had never seen hole 6 - found it no problem. Some trees in the way , no water on that one. From there hole 7 - I went to the right too far and across the back parking lot. You really want to stay to the left of the back parking area and you'll run right into the no. 7 teepad. 7 is a fun left hander around the edge of the lake, a little downhill. Would be a good backhand shot, though I'm typically gonna use a forehand. Head south towards Bethany and you'll find the no. 8 teepad heading back left through the trees, kind of narrow. The basket was in the middle for my visit. Thick branches and brush both sides, but if you penetrate to the left you'll go down the hill into the lake. I found an extra disc while looking for mine in the left side brush. Yellow Hornet midrange. I found my disc too. No. 9 is my water nightmare! I had stood on the teepad once before just to gauge it. Nope I can't throw that far LOL. I threw one straight into the water, reshot from the tee curving one to the right edge stayed 3 foot out in the water. A nice girl fishing with her Dad helped me get the disc with her pole LOL. I'm adding penalties as I go. From there I tried to sail it over the trees, but it landed 35 ft up in a tree and stayed. From my new estimated lie I threw across the width of the water. Then threw a great upshot from the grass over there. That put me at 8 and I two putted to finish. Gave myself a much deserved 10. I was looking at the way across the water on satellite map and it's shorter across by the fountain, not straight on. Difference of over forty feet, which I can't handle. Several fisherman around this part of the water wondering when I would leave , I'm sure. If I can figure out hole 9 across the water it will be a lot of fun. It was anyway - beautiful spring day !
Cons: Kind of short teepads. Hole 9 is a bit much for some of us still in training.
Other Thoughts: This isn't the only course with water threatening your precious discs. Enjoy!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Didn't care for it at my skill level

1    4/2/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: Len Averyt
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice clean and neat course.
Cons: To me, no other really unique character other than it being all water hazards. if your a right handed ,back hand player that hyser bombs from time to time, You will loose discs.
It seemed that all the baskets were placed right where all the other, non disc golfing public was making use of the park. Kids fishing, playing football and soccer.
If your a player like me that is novice and scores in the mid 70's and up. I really don't think you will like this course because your skill level just won't let you enjoy it.
Other Thoughts: I didn't care for much for the course, by hole 3-4 I was already beat down from playing Shawnee close by and tired. The course, at that point, just kind of P!$$ed me off.

To me it was just one water hazard after another just for the sake of it.



1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nicest 9 hole course I've played

1    1/6/2016   1/7/2016
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offers a variety of shots from finesse to power.
Most shots are pretty with intended trajectories over "nice" ponds.
The first 9 hole course i've played where i really want to play 2 rounds for 18 holes.
Cons: Signs don't include par info, though im pretty sure they are all par 3. Course is relatively easy to follow, but the walkway from 8 to 9 is lacking a few needed arrows to help navigate. tee signs do show next tee.
Almost no shade in summertime except for hole 8.
Other Thoughts: Only 9 hole course ive played that i would make a 30 minute drive for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the better 9 hole courses

2-4    9/10/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mixed shot selection holes. Several challenging holes with water danger. Close to the highway. Beautiful scenery. Concrete teepads. Nice for a 9-hole course. Multiple baskets that are changed out.
Cons: A LOT of water! There are signs saying no swimming or wading, which are clearly directed at disc golfers retrieving discs. I assume if you did go in to get your disc you would be kicked out of the park. On hole #7...just forget it if your disc goes in the water. It is very far down and the water is very deep. You would literally be risking life and limb for your plastic (and I am the riskiest person i have ever met at going after discs) Poor continuity on some holes. The signage is lacking. Obviously, its only 9 holes, not 18. There is poison ivy and poison oak. The first couple of holes are really just open field shots. You really need a big arm for some of the holes on the course...especially hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1. Wide open. Boring. Hole 2. Either wide open with a few trees or the alternate pin is on the edge of the water. OK. Hole 3. Once you are at the pin of hole 2, look northeast to the corner of the park for the hole 3 teepad. It is right by the stream and behind a big pocket of trees. (This is the first of 4 teepads that are quite difficult to find.) This hole plays through trees, over the creek, and by the pond. Nice! Hole 4. This also ends near water so be careful. Hole 5. Big risk reward. Its over the pond and past trees. If the wind or a tree catches you (or just a bad throw), your water bound. Hole 6. Shorter hole with some trees. You NEED a birdie here. Hole 7. It took me at least 15-20 mins to find this teepad. After the hole 6 pin, keep walking east and head diagonally. It is past the building, benches, and trees. Look for the tee sign, which is inconspicuous. It is close to the walking path. Throw cautiously. If your disc goes in the water, it is gone for good since this is a very deep quarry. Awesome hole with great scenery though. Hole 8. Another tough one to find. After pin #7, keep walking ahead right along the very edge of the park. It is in the woods, about 400 feet ahead. Great tunnel shot hole. There are several cleared ground "lanes" heading to the pond on the left, so if you hyzer out slightly, your disc could be gone...even if its just rolling. Hole 9. The single most difficult teepad I have ever had to look for in my life!! Either walk back up the fairway, turn left at teepad #8 and go far around the woods to the left, or continue past the pin on 8, winding through the hansel and gretel style woods trail (you seriously may want to leave crumbs to find your way back), and when you get to the concrete overspill area, walk to the right. If you have come to a playground or to a building, you have gone too far. The actual teepad is right by the street close to where the parking lot is and the pin is right by the parking lot and the front building. This shot is 300 feet plus of solid water, and a bunch of trees on the right before the pin. If you don't have at least a 350-375 foot arm (and can easily throw it consistently and accurately), then you should play around it to the right, by the street. Awesome hole however. The course started off boring, but just got better and better as I played. Big risk-reward holes. I'm sure tons of people lose discs here. The signs need improvement however...like...now.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/22/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best 9 hole courses I have played. Almost all the holes have a water hazard. Whether you have to throw over water or the basket is right next to the water. They have a monster water hole on hole 7. it used to be a quarry that was filled in with water. Do not expect to get your disc back if you go in there.
Cons: It is just 9 holes. Since most of the holes have water hazards you might lose a few discs. I like the challenge but others may not. On top of that, they don't allow swimming or wading in the ponds so you cannot go get your disc. If you wait around till night you could probably sneak in and retrieve your disc.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 surprising 9-holer

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 280  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete pads (maybe a little short for the longer holes) and discatchers
-surprising amount of variety for 9 holes: big distance, constant water hazards, shorter holes, tunnel shot, 2 tee shots over water.
-alternate pin locations
-beautiful park is well manicured
-not crowded
-parking lot right next to holes 1 and 9
Cons: -navigation from 7-9 is long and tricky (try and follow the obvious paths). i don't know why they don't just put another hole in between 6 and 7, looks like there is plenty of room.
-very little shade for texas summer days
-distance and/or water are the only challenges on the first 5 holes
-as the reviewer below said, alternate tees would be more beneficial here than alternate pins
-water smells horrible, full of trash, and looks pretty deep
-not a lot of trash cans and one of the few i did see was placed directly on top of hole 9 tee when i was there. no idea why.
Other Thoughts: This city park 9-holer is full of surprises. My first surprise came when seeing the distance on the first 3 holes. Not what I expected for a little 9 hole course. Not having a big arm, I was disappointed by 3 back to back wide open distance holes. Water comes slightly into play on these 3 but it is easily avoided if you have any accuracy.

The next 3 holes are shorter and take better advantage of the water. Hole 4 backs up to the water, hole 5 throws directly over it, and hole 6 throws from under one tree to a basket in the middle of a patch of trees.

The last 3 holes are the best, IMO, and made the round for me. Hole 7 plays right up next to water on your left. It looks like a hyzer shot but the pin is really just straight ahead and that hyzer is guaranteed to go right in the water. This hole must claim a lot of discs. Hole 8 was my other big surprise. After 7 wide open holes, 8 is a 200' tunnel. At the end of the tunnel you have a downhill upshot through some trees to a basket below just in front of a creek (very shallow). This hole was the highlight of the course for me. Tricky navigation through the woods leads you to the last hole, 300' over water and then the pin is up and around to the right. There is a path off to the right for those not willing to risk the water.

After my initial disappointment this course came through with a little something for everyone. Not the most interesting round but I wouldn't complain if it were down the street from my house. I wouldn't travel any great distance to get here but it's worth a try if you're in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

1    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 204  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not a dinky course - has some good "D".
Water comes into play on most holes.
#8 is a great tunnel shot to a pin close to the creek.
Great signage.
Cons: Multiple tees would be more useful than alternate basket locations.
Poison Ivy on 7 thru 9 paths is extensive
Other Thoughts: This course has something for every golfer to not like - the big arms won't like the technical shots and the technical golfer won't like the open shots, but fact is few 9-hole courses have such a diversity of holes. And the wind on #1 thru 7 can be brutal.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Water, Itís Not Just for Drinking!

1    5/17/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 236  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a Risk Reward lovers dream 9-hole course. This place has slight elevation, lots of water, OB, woods, wide-open shots, a tunnel shot, and much more. Yes, it is hard to believe this is just a 9-hole course. Unlike other course that have lots of looks in one place, these different types of holes actually seem to transition nicely from one to the other. The first hole is a nice long wide-open warm up hole. Hole 2 incorporates water and a "sidewalk and beyond OB" that creates a narrow but fair fairway. 2 other holes are shot over lakes with #9 being a beast of a drive. #9 does have a long route to avoid the water if you are squeamish. #8 is a semi-heavy wooded tunnel shot with a hard right down to a basket just in front of a creek. This course is just beautiful and is very well maintained. Bathrooms at the building, plenty of trash cans, and some seating areas are all here. One last thing to mention here is that the wildlife here was really amazing (Geese, ducks, lizards, turtles, fish, ...).
Cons: At the time of this review, #8 basket had fallen down the pole to the ground, but I doubt that is a long-term issue. Oddly enough, I did need the map to play here the first time, as the direction of where the last couple of holes were not real obvious. #9 shot over the water is not for the beginner. It will take a good long shot to clear it. There are poisonous plants are in the wooded hole, but that is common in many Texas courses with heavy woods.
Other Thoughts: If you hate courses with risk/reward situations and holes where you could lose a disc, this may not be one of your first choices to run out and play. However, I love all types of courses for the most part and the Fun Factor here for me was pretty good. There were a few holes that I wanted to just keep driving on. I wish this was closer to my home as I would play it more often. I would recommend stopping here or even making it a stop on a road trip. It was a real surprise for me.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eater

5+    6/4/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 16.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs, pads, and baskets. Holes 9 is a sweet shot and it looks great when standing on the tee pad and the grass is super green. Pretty open which allows for pretty much any kind of shot. Mostly everything is reachable with a good shot but the score can skyrocket with a bad one. Doesnt favor a righty or a lefty. Bring sidewalk into play and the course gets even tougher.
Cons: Bring lots of junk plastic....there is tons of water and mostly all of it it deep and is gone if it goes in. Not alot of shade and it gets hot quickly. Long walk once you get started..even for a 9 holer. Lots of people walking around after working hours.
Other Thoughts: The wind is something else that can get you and its usually always windy. I liked this course when it was a temp 18 but it just seems it lost some of its lure over time.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.