Gladstone, MI 
North Bluff DGC Share
Uploaded By: BlazedOrangeHat Hole #1 (Taken 10/2019)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Gem above Lake Michigan

1    7/6/2020   7/6/2020
Review By: cornellrams09
Played: 254  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - professional design
- multiple baskets/tees allow for lots of options
- some good par 4s and mix of open/wooded
- lines are fair
- threw equal RHBH and RHFH off tee
- understory is beautiful
- new tee pads, signs, baskets (can tell an investment was made in this course)
- nice amenities at park, course was not busy
- maintained fairly well, some fairways were a little shaggy but it was the height of growing season
Cons: - Course Flow (there is a next tee stock arrow on blue basket, but) This could be easily improved with some small signs or as this gets more use paths will become more visible. Honestly I'm surprised Dynamic doesn't have a next tee indication on their nice tee signs.

- holes 19-23 felt like a bit of an add on to the course (I'll be honest didn't play the ski hill holes)
Other Thoughts: What a gem, will definitely be stopping in to play anytime I head up to the UP. Would love to play a tournament here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I hated this course

1    6/7/2020   6/8/2020
Review By: littlemacwin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has 2 baskets and 2 tees for every hole
Cons: It is a long walk to get to the place. There is no signage telling you it's there. No parking next to the course because of the baseball diamonds. No signage to tell you where the first hole even was. There are not 27 holes only 23(will change course info when done with this.) They must never cut their grass because I see roughs that are worse than this. There is garbage everywhere. I was more interested in the weird stuff we found more than the course. Someone needs to start taking care of this course. It was awful.
Other Thoughts: I might have a slight bias because this was a big trip for me and my friends. We traveled from Green Bay Wisconsin just to be horribly disappointed. We went to another course because this one was so bad.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

NICE

1    8/30/2019   8/30/2019
Review By: franman27
Played: 145  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.8 Years
Pros: Very nice, highly visible baskets
Fabulous signage, I really liked that each tee has a unique sign with all the info for that tee and both baskets.
Four possible playing options for each hole.
Good concrete tee-pads.
Course is easy to follow, a good path leads from each blue basket to the next tees.
Nice mix of wooded and open shots.
Very nice seats made of LARGE rocks.
Cons: It's just a personal thing I guess, but I hate when a course starts with one of /the longest hole, maybe I need to warm up more.
The tiny flies are bad.
No signage at road showing there is a DG course there.
Other Thoughts: I fully expected to find the course to be a series of tunnel woods shots, I was pleasantly surprised to find far fewer trees in my way than many courses in Texas.
A very nice addition to U.P. disc golf

North Bluff Coming Along Nicely

5+    9/4/2019   6/11/2019
Review By: XC_Eddy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: Giving an in depth hole by hole review is especially ambitious with four possible layouts on each hole. This review will give a sense of the course as a whole, but cannot cover everything for each layout. I am also focusing my review on holes #1-#18 as they are the main layout at this time. #19-#27 now in and have signage

-North Bluff dgc boasts two teepads and two permanent baskets on every hole, which is the course's flagship feature. Red-Red is the shortest and easiest layout, but even this short tee to short pin layout is far from pitch and putt. Blue to Blue has enough length for MPO level players. Eric McCabe did a great job designing the course. Each hole feels unique and the four possible layouts makes the course very replayable.

-Practice baskets present to left of hole 1 tee area.

-Good hole variety demands right finishing and left finishing shots. Most of the holes are moderately to heavily wooded with #13 and #16-#18 being the most open.

-Great signage on each tee shows a helpful hole map and distance for each possible layout. Signs mounted on large rocks should be relatively vandalism resistant. Looks nice, too.

-Useful directions to #11 teepads that may be difficult to find otherwise.

-The parcel of land is relatively flat, but the elevation that does exist has been put to good use. #3 red basket sits on a mound while the blue basket sits downhill. #7 plays along a valley with blue tee at top of hill and red tee at the bottom and plays to red basket at the top of the other side and blue over the crest of the hill. #12 features a downhill drive and both pin placements on precarious mounds. #14's red basket sits at the bottom of a short valley that is quite difficult to access from the tee. #15 begins by throwing over yet another short valley.

-#12 and #15 to blue basket function as signature par 4's and stand as the course's most memorable holes.

-#19-#24 has a different feel than the first 18. They are deeper in the woods and see less traffic, but are good holes. #25-#27 are good, too. It's a decent jaunt from #24 to #25

#Next Tee arrows in bottom of baskets are helpful.
Cons: -North Bluff still needs breaking in. The course still feels a little raw, which is expected for a new track. Over the course of 2019 the course got much more beat in. The rough is still rough, and more and more traffic will help immensely.

-Could maybe use a few more next tee signs. Course layout is mostly intuitive. Much easier now that signage has been installed. If players are not careful, they may attempt to throw to the wrong blue basket on #3. Pay attention to the tee signs and you'll be fine.

-Hole 11 is the product of redesign and feels like a filler hole. The blue tee provides no intuitive line to either basket. Players can expect to score TONS of 3's from #11 blue tee. Don't expect much in the way of scoring separation on this hole unless playing from reds.

-Hole 5 from red to blue is a tweener hole if there ever was one. Too long and left to ever get a birdie 2 without a throw in. Too short to be a true par 4.

Similarly, the original design included a par 5, which would have been awesome. Probably not fair to judge the course on what could have been rather than what is, but having a par 5 would elevate North Bluff to a true "championship level" course. Even without a par 5, it is still one of the best courses in the UP and is likely on its way to becoming THE best course the UP has to offer.

-Nitpicking, but some of the alternative basket locations do not change the hole's line much if any. The blue baskets generally add 50-100ft of length, with blue tees doing the same.

-Not the most beginner friendly course. Course is very wooded and most holes even on the shortest layout are near 300ft or more. Would be a difficult course to learn on.

-The rough on #16-#18 is very rough and eats discs on errant shots. Tall prairie grass stands between #16 and #17's fairway. Don't throw in there. You won't have a good time.

-Ticks are thick out at North Bluff in the spring and early summer. Once the ticks are gone in July, the sand flies show up. There's also a season of gnats in August. Bugs are annoying.

-Portions of the land used to be a landfill and still show remnants of car parts and other trash objects partially buried. This is improving as the course develops.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully big things are coming 2020 out at North Bluff!


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

North Bluff DGC

5+    9/19/2018   9/19/2018
Review By: da Crippler
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 50.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2018
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of shots for all skill levels, a great course to learn the sport on
a nice mix of long and short holes
multiple tees and baskets
large concrete trapezoid tee pads
bright basket colors, very visible
the course has a nice flow, fairly easy to navigate
cart, stroller and kid friendly
Cons: punishing rough, knee-high ferns off the fairways throughout the course, getting a reputation as a disc eater
no par 5 as originally promised
lack of elevation change, a redesign took away the long downhill bomber on the ski hill, poor utilization of the ski hill in the redesign
the course is built on the old city dump site and garbage can be seen sticking out of the dirt in places
Sand flies are horrible



Other Thoughts: Still under construction so it gets 2.5 stars. Still a great deal of work to be done but it has a solid design and will definitely be a 4 star course when finished.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.