South Lake Tahoe, CA 
Bijou Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A Tahoe treat

2-4    7/21/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: springy101
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes! nice rubber teepads, great signage and brooms at most holes, not very busy, great friendly locals, up and down hill holes, and you can't forget Tahoe's beauty.
Cons: Once you finish hole 15 and you start on the "back side," the holes get really hard and also hard to find.
Other Thoughts: I went camping for 5 days and ended up playing this course 3 times.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Further You Go

1    6/30/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 27 hole course that plays through a great park and mountain medow area. Tees were consistent and the signs were adequate to get the job done. There are a good variety in distance and challenge level as well. Most of this course was donated by locals and as such there is a good local crowd that really keeps this course as good as it is. All the baskets were in good condition and consistent throughout. Lots of trees everywhere to make you throw accurately. There are other things to do at the park for those family memebers who do not DG. The skate park seemed to be getting good use while I was there. The course itself was near everything but didn't seem to interefere with anything. There was little outside foot traffic that could even get in the way outside of a few walking paths. There was not too much throwing traffic when I was there but enough to know that the course does get used. Several holes had old brooms by them to help you get the dust off of the nice tee pads.
Cons: Because of the location, this is a very dirty park in that you will get dirt on everything, not really a con but it would be a good idea to wash your discs afterwards. There are a fw places when the flow of holes does not make too much sense. There are some hole locations that have been added since the signs were put in and there is little to no information on those. This course is really long for begginers.
Other Thoughts: I played this course as part of a long road trip and remember this course because it started out fairly easy for me as I think I birdied the first two holes and by the end of the 27 holes I remember thinking how things seemed to in general get tougher and tougher. It was a really fun around though and I really did enjoy the setting a whole bunch. Once you enter the park driving, you want to make sure that you drive all the way back left to get to the first tee. There is also a donation box by the first tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, distances, types of environment barriers.
The baskets usually had between 2-3 locations, and the one it was at was usually clearly marked at the tee box.
Trees and terrain add big challenges!
Cons: The marker designating the basket location was sometimes missing, and on a few holes, the basket was not at the location marked at the tee box (maybe some hooligans changed the basket markers!)
Other Thoughts: For being "one of the top 10 courses in the country" (according to a guy playing there), I could have used more clarity in where the next hole was after completing one.
The trees were a great challenge, but proved to be HUGE challenges at times... my disc ricocheted off 2 trees per throw on a few holes... there's that many! (Also, a decent amount of sap gathered on the edge of my driver)
Be prepared to get dusty.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

2-4    5/30/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing 27 hole course
Beautiful setting
Great variety of challenging holes to test your different shot types
Long, mid and short holes
Nice facilities (water on 10, bathrooms by 1-2)
Did I mention this is a great course?
Cons: Nothing really.....
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Tahoe area HIT THIS COURSE!!!!! I was only in Tahoe for two days and we played this course twice in one day. This is by far one of the best courses I've played.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Sun

1    11/15/2008   5/2/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots and lots of options
rollers can do well on this course
good combo of wide open and tight holes
Cons: it's long and for those who have trouble with long courses this might have you sore from throwing 27
Other Thoughts: I found myself consistently behind my pal who would flick a shout 100-150ft and watch it roll another 100+ ft

this was especially a good shot on the slightly downhill holes

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 kevin wiens

5+    11/15/2008   3/4/2009
Review By: Kevin wiens
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a nice course played it alot when I lived there for a year. I did some tree work there we fell a tree on one of the holes. Well we where doing the work there i got hit with a disc. The guy that hit me with the disc invited me out to play that weekend. Thats when I was hooked.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: If your in South Lake play this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bijou

2-4    12/28/2006   12/29/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Variety of shots required to score well. Beautiful Tahoe course running through the pines.
Cons: Dirt pads, beer police, and red dust. Seasonal.
Other Thoughts: God I love that Tahoe air. Not so sure I love what it does to discs but wow it's good for the soul. This is a fun course that demands lots of different shots.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This course has almost spoiled me

5+    12/1/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: pineappaloupe
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free, laid back (beware there were rent a cops trying to enforce a no dog and no beer rule this summer), good for beginners but also challenging for pros, course changes every week, locals are great, Russ is great, losing a disc is very rare but the trees can be punishing, doesn't get old after playing 60+ times a year for 4 years... new tee pads!
The course is pretty balanced for left and right handed throwers.
Cons: As the trees and shurbs have grown in some hole placement seem masochistic (but Russ has been working to clear vegetation this year).
Can't be played year round because of snow (just go ski/board instead)
Police station near hole 7 (never been a problem but cops are cops)
Other Thoughts: The best part about this course is that you can try new throws and play aggressive without worrying about losing discs. The course can be very challenging especially when you consider that playing at 6300ft changes how discs fly (throw lower weights).
I love this course.

RE: The other review's comments on local tree huggers saying no to concrete tee pads:
This is kind of true, concrete pads could be built but it isn't worth the effort to get permits.
This problem is solved with rubber tee mats, which have proven to be awesome this year!
Thanks Russ and all of you who donate money to the course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bijou Park South Lake Tahoe

1    5/2/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 170  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 38.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 Holes. Multiple pin placements. Close to everything South Lake Tahoe has to offer. Atmosphere. Pro-level course. Hardly ever crowded. Bathrooms
Cons: no dogs allowed, no alcohol allowed. Dusty, always need to clean up after a round there. Practice basket next to parking lot, potential damage to parked cars.
Other Thoughts: Bijou is a great course to play for the pro level player, i'm not so sure its so much fun for beginner players since its a long course to play. It has a variety of tee shots to execute, lots of trees to get around, the long pin placements are a challenge for anyone, period. The shorter pin placements are almost as challenging but at least theres a chance for a bird or two for the average pro. Shooting under par on a calm day can be done but you need to keep your drives on the straight and narrow and avoid the trees at all costs. Ive heard the tree huggers in the area will not allow concrete teepad development because it "upsets the natural setting of the environment". Therefore the rating is lower than it should be for such a great layout.
***update on the tee pads. they now have rubber tee pads which ive been told has helped the course drastically. therefore my rating is now a 4, from a 3.5. i have yet to play the course with the new tee pads so i can only imagine how much better it is. 03-05-09

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.