Tyler, TX 
South Spring DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 186ft.   3 / 245ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A Spiritual Experience

2-4    3/26/2021   3/29/2021
Review By: MikeK
Played: 304  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 25.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +4 sets of tees
+lots of shade
+excellent turf teepads
+tight and technical
+pretty wooded scenery
+excellent navigational cues
+several disc retrievers hung throughout the course near creeks
+immaculate grounds on church property
Cons: -only con is that a couple of the extremely tight fairways can make luck more important than skill at times; those who like wide open courses should avoid this one
Other Thoughts: I got to play this gem of a course while I competed in the 2021 Texas State Championships. I tip my hat to the course designer who made a great range of tee difficulties with 4 choices from a relatively easy novice course all the way to the almost sadistic gold level championship tees. The gold fairways average about 10-15 feet wide from tee to basket, so accuracy is tested over and over again. Add several greens with an OB creek only 20 feet behind the basket, or OB ponds in the middle of these tight fairways, and you've got one heck of a challenging course despite its relatively short length. Most holes have decent elevation change as well to add another element of challenge. As I finished each hole I was excited to see what was next. It's rare for me to say this but I would actually spend an entire day here playing all 72 teepads if I could. As the sun was setting on my practice round here, I could sense the presence of a spiritual being. As I walked off the course to the spacious parking lot I thought I saw an apparition. He was tall with long brown hair and a reassuring beard and seemed to glow in the pine pollen-filled sunset. As I squinted into the setting sun I thought maybe I was witnessing the savior himself! Turns out it was just James Conrad's picture on the side of his tour van.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 PLAY IT

1    1/5/2020   1/7/2020
Review By: afjab
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 4 tees on each
clear path markings
signs everywhere to help you get to the right spot
great bridges
fun course
short holes
very technical/tight
Cons: short holes
very technical/tight
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained course (even had somebody out there Sunday doing maintenance) as i said with the pro and con tight and technical so if you don't have the tee shot that's asked for i would very much suggest not trying to pull some miracle off (unless thats what you prefer) because more than likely you're gonna kick and the area off the fairway makes the fairway look like your playing in an open pasture. Loved the course, wouldn't mind seeing a bit of thinning of the fairways but definitely suggest you play it (even with no changes)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    8/10/2019   10/1/2019
Review By: T.Nic
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical. Tight shots. Extremely well marked for having laminated paper markers. Almost entirely shaded for summer play. Distinct tee options. Elevation changes.
Cons: Lots of foliage = lots of spider webs both across trees and at at ground level. Slow moving/still water = swarming bugs. No real complaints about the course itself.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a course

1    1/22/2019   1/26/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Artificial Turf on EVERY tee box
Tee signs on EVERY tee box
4 tee boxes for EVERY hole
signs directing you to EVERY tee box
Very challenging holes
Plenty of parking when church is not meeting
Cons: This is nick picking.
Fairways are super tight in several places.
signs are just laminated paper, I hope they plan on better quality eventually, or at least replace them when they get worn out.
only a 9 hole course
Other Thoughts: One of the best, well maintained, well marked 9 hole courses I have ever played. You can see this is a labor of love. And to top it off, it is on Church property.

9 holes with 4 sets of tee's, it is not just long, shorter, shorter and even shorter. While the Reds are short, it is a different look at the hole than just being shorter. Several holes and duel fairways. So if you played Gold and Blue, every hole would be different, add while in there and even another different look on several holes.

This is a 100% wooded course, every fairway is tight, so a 250 foot hole throws like a 350 foot hole. Then you do have even longer holes thrown in.

From my understanding, 9 more holes to make 18 are in the works.

Would I play here again? Heck yes, I only played the Gold tees this time around, next time I want to play the Blue, White and Red tee's just for fun. In all honesty, this course rivals the Gold course over at Lindsey and far as how challenging it is. Not as long, but tighter fairways.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Fairways

5+    10/12/2018   10/28/2018
Review By: bigmuffnuts
Played: 189  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome turf tee pads, tight wooded fairways, shallow streams and lots of signs to next hole
Cons: Tight wooded fairways, still developing back 9, and beware of ticks.
Other Thoughts: Comparable to Lindsey Park Dogwood, but much shorter

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.