Lorena, TX 
Southern View Classic DGC Share
Uploaded By: aclay Hole #14 (Taken 6/2020)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Must Play

5+    10/10/2020   10/18/2020
Review By: Charwesbo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained - Multiple layouts - Easy to walk entire course
Cons: - The rough is ROUGH (a lot of poison ivy)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Southern View Classic

1    6/8/2020   6/10/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Good piece of land. Not much elevation, but enough trees/bushes to make you work, and one water feature. Maintenance seems outstanding. OB is marked for many of the bush areas in or just off of fairways. Avoid those if you can because they are thick with thorns. If you get in there, you will leave some DNA.
-- Multiple tee pads (concrete) on some holes. Don't know is a second tee pad is coming to every hole. Unfortunately, not all pads are the same shape/size. Some are very narrow, and a couple are a little short.
-- Two basket positions for each hole.
-- Good baskets (Innova), including a practice basket.
-- Super friendly owners.
-- Pro shop on site, which includes a good selection of new discs and some used discs.
-- Beautiful seating area (with good shade) between 18 basket and the pro shop.
Cons: -- Tee signs listed as "coming soon" 15 months ago are still not in place.
-- There is also no course map, so navigation is an issue. Baskets are numbered, but most are too far away to read from the tee. Holes are very close together, and from most tees you can see multiple baskets. In some instances, the basket you can see from the tee is not the basket for that hole. Probably half of the time, we had to walk ahead to figure out the correct basket. One time we threw from the wrong tee to the correct basket because that tee pad (and most others) had no marking of any kind. A few tee pads have a very faint number painted in the front right corner.
-- Few trash cans and only one bench.
Other Thoughts: -- The course has a good start toward being a great course, but being privately owned, the work is going slowly. The land and design are there. Tee signs and a map are essential, and some tee pad work would go a long way as well as a few added benches and trash cans.
-- Don't know if there are restrooms or water, but I assume they are available in the pro shop.
-- Course is not that far off of I-35, but you feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere, especially once you get past the first few holes.
-- No. 11 is a blind shot (RHFH/LHBH unless you have a big arm to go RHBH/LHFH) with scary looking water on the right.
-- No. 14 is a tunnel (about 350-400 feet) about 15-20 feet wide with trees/OB on both sides.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth it

1    3/26/2019   3/28/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee boxes
multiple pins
Tee signs coming soon
friendly owners
Pro shop
Cons: Holes are very close together, lots of OB marked to keep you out of other fairways
A few Mando's for the same reason
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a side trip to play. I was supprise to find cement tee pads for both the Red and Blue tee boxes.

I was also lucky in that most of the holes were in the long positions, So I got to play from Blue Tees to long pins.

Don't let the first few holes scare you off, they are on the open side, the course does make use of almost all the land they have.

I have to say my favorite hole was #11, blind shot over the rough. I thought I was in the middle of it as I hit some branches at the top, but I found my disc inside the circle for the easy 2.

2nd favorite hole was #14, the tunnel shot. I was happy with my first shot, about 1/2 way down the fairway, but in the fairway (OB on both sides) But my 2nd shot was wide, it a tree and kicked OB. 3rd shot was short and I missed the putt. Only 5 on the course.

Would I play here again? Heck yea, I really want to visit the pro shop too. Unfortunately it was closed the day I showed up. I would enjoy playing a tournament here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SVCC

5+    11/25/2018   11/25/2018
Review By: MSELLERS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads, multiple pin positions changed regularly. Lots of possiblities. Beautiful piece of land in Central Texas with friendly people overseeing property. Short pins are fun. Short pins with long boxes are fun as well. Been there a number of times and have never had the pleasure of playing long boxes to long pins.. And short boxes and long pins are also a challenge. Pins change frequently as demand of weekly tournaments. Plus there's a proshop :)
Cons: Flooding can be an issue in lower areas..
Other Thoughts: Weekly minis when daylight allows. Regular casual rounds. Lots of fun

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.