Course Extinct
Houston, TX 
Watonga DGC Share
Uploaded By: ken1645 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2019)
3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
the twin

1    12/27/2019   1/1/2020
Review By: blake833
Played: 142  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some crazy reviews, since it was only a 6 hole course for a short time, and maybe had multiple pins at one point? I dunno. But this review is for the Watonga DGC that made it to the end of 2018, had 18 holes, tee posts, and white dynamic disc veteran baskets.

Playing around the same bayou as TC Jester, this course kind of felt exactly the same. The elevation was flat, but played across or near the big bayou a few times, there are some wooded holes (and some VERY wooded holes), variety of length and left/right and right/left holes.

I enjoyed my round at Watonga. You go through the small but dense patches of trees, there are some more open holes that play on a path, and a couple holes where you throw across the bayou and if you come up short you'll still be on the hillside.

The hole design is overall pretty good. I enjoyed the varying distances, the lines around the bayou. There were only a couple exceptions that weren't a huge deal.
Cons: I'm going to start with the strangest one here: Holes 0-17 instead of 1-18. It doesn't effect play at all, but you know it just doesn't make sense and that got under my skin. I didn't knock anything off my rating for it, I just want my equally meaningless protest noted!

The more tangible cons are two small things: One, the course is flat. Nothing to be done, just a symptom of Gulf Coast disc golf.

The second is related to the couple holes that are just crazy tight, throw and pray holes. There are a couple baskets that are just kind of weirdly placed as well. I can't remember which hole, but there's a nice tunnel shot, about 260' or so I think, and then a basket pushed back behind a jail of trees. There was a great space for the basket nearby that would've made the hole better, and putting from 10' away not so challenging.
Other Thoughts: This course was basically extended TC Jester though, but I really think I liked this one just a little more. Maybe the design was a little better, the baskets are better, but really, you should play them both while you're there. The courses are right next to each other and you can cross the street at the right time and have 36 holes of disc golf uninterrupted.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course

1    4/30/2019   5/5/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several holes have 2 pin positions
White posts mark tee's with distance to each pin painted on them.
Nice Patriot baskets
Cons: The levee's are not mowed
Hole 17 throws away from the parking area.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice complement to the course across the street, TC Jester. Where Jester is a lot of walking and several longer holes, Watonga has several short technical holes and some more open short holes.

This course is not exactly for rec players as 2 of the holes throw over the bayou. But as long as you can throw 200ft, your all good on those holes.
holes 1 to 6 were put in last year in the small wooded area next to the parking lot, these are short technical holes that are fun ace runs. Hole 7 throws over the bayou and then you have some shorter pitch and put type hold with a very interesting hole 11 till you get to hole 12. Another shot across the bayou.

Hole 14 is the longest hole on the course throwing along the levee of the bayou with trees on the right.

An interesting hole when it is in that placement is hole 15, the basket is between two backstops, throw too far left or right, you got an interesting upshot.

The course is numbered weird in that the designer elected to not renumber the original 6 and started the course on hole #0 by the skate park. That means you finish on hole #17.

Would I play here again? Actually, I enjoy courses like this, there are enough tree's to make the shots interesting even though it is a short course. I really enjoyed the holes in the woods, threw most of them with my putter. So yes, I would enjoy another round here someday.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic new course

1    1/28/2019   1/28/2019
Review By: MikeTorre
Played: 74  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Adjacency to ET Jester makes it the perfect complement -> 40 holes total when you factor Watonga's 'hole zero'

Highly technical finesse holes make this course unique -> the perfect place to run an Ace Race tournament

Beautiful park setting lovingly restored by cool locals -> multiple throws across the bayou & trees with Spanish moss

Lots of artful touches -> look for unique stick gate made by the course designer (JC) and the sexy baskets

Nice area of Houston -> safe and clean with good parking
Cons: Not really a criticism, but the course is new -> look forward to seeing the course evolve with tee-pads, way-findings, etc.
Other Thoughts: If you're a golfer who enjoys technical courses with lots of ace opportunities, this one is for you!

Anyone who likes TC Jester will probably love this addition -> think chocolate and peanut butter. :)

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Watonga

5+    1/24/2019   1/26/2019
Review By: ken1645
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Watonga is an excellent mix of woods, bayou and mowed park golf. Especially memorable holes were 6 in the woods, 7 and 12 over the White Oak Bayou (12 is fun to do a skip shot of the concrete), 14 along the Bayou being the hardest hole out there, then 15 throwing at 2 softball backstops and 17 throwing from a concrete tee pad slightly downhill towards the bayou. Park gets mowed every month which is great. Plays similar scoring to Moffitt in that it is easy to get under par. Multiple pin positions keep it interesting to mix it up too though.
Cons: Lots of people like to walk dogs in the park, so sometimes can be dog poo in the grass.
Other Thoughts: The park was built back in 1962 and some BMX bikers built some ramps in the woods and kept getting hurt, so the city built EZ7 skatepark /BMX park at some point around 1980. The wood's ramps and trails are now holes 2-3 and 6. 3 months of hard work went into clearing out lines for golf in those woods. A few walls were built for safety reasons to separate the holes 1&6 as well as holes 3&5.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 6 Hole Course

1    12/7/2018   12/7/2018
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For being a relatively new course that is 80% in the woods, the course is cleared out nicely. Some brush that is on the sides of the fairways need to be moved out, but it does not interfere with your play.

Unlike its former counterpart, Coyote Crossing, 43rd Crossing is easily accessible and can intertwine easily with the main TC Jester Course. At the former, you had to walk across the train tracks. Here, it is a short walk across 43rd St from the 8th basket, and the sixth hole here ends right at the tee for hole 9 at TC Jester.

The course has big bricks installed in the ground designating tee numbers and nice new Patriot baskets that are permanently installed in the ground. The course is very wooded, and probably outside of Jack Brooks Cedar Hill, has the most testing wooded holes in all of the Houston area, even for being just six holes. The holes are wooded, but they are all fair and have real golf lines to get to each basket. Hole 4 is the only hole that is out in the open; it is the only hole that has a classic TC Jester hole, which is probably a good thig
Cons: The park that the course is on is fairly expansive, but the six holes are in a very small part of the course, and the fairways are very close together. Though I appreciate the fact that there are barricades made of out branches blocking discs from entering the next fairways. Just in case there is more than one group out on the course.

Navigation is a bit of a challenge as the bricks are not visible unless you are right on top of them. The course map on this site is very useful and helpful.

The foliage that the course runs through is/was the home of someone, and their stuff is still strewn around hole number 2. Just be cautious.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing better than throwing a perfect shot through the woods. There is nothing worse than pinballing off of trees through the woods. You can expect both of those to happen here.

I appreciate the work that has been done here, and I was surprised how much I enjoyed these six holes. It is easy on and easy off of the regular TC Jester course, and I recommend the 20 minute detour.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.