East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #21 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 400ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 131
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 14
Definitely a blue ribbon. But there's just a little more to be desired.

1    6/5/2020   9/18/2020
Review By: Surge5
Played: 20  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely top-notch maintenance. Fairways are pristine, greens are mulched, signage is always current.

The front 11 provide the toughest challenge, which is a good thing when the course has 27 holes.

There are several holes you will always remember playing. Teeing off right by the clubhouse on 1, the pines hole, the gimmick hole. the hanging basket, 18 coming out of the woods, the driving range hole, the stepped green on 26, and finishing off at the island green on 27. It's an incredibly memorable round.

The water is a real challenge on several holes. 7, 11, and 22 present some real lost disc danger. Fortunately, the course will send you a message if they fish your disc out of a pond.

So many of these holes (especially the par 4s) are very clear as to where your shots should land. Hole 7 you'll tee off and stay short of the water, then shoot across the water and try to get through the guardian trees for a putt. Hole 22 you can run the risk of crossing the pond for a birdie putt, or lay a nice fairway driver down off the tee for a straightforward par. hole 18 (my favorite) you'll shoot out of a thin tunnel and over the water off the tee, then have a nice fairway driver shot the finishes down the hill. The holes don't feel stuffed into a piece of land, they feel like they were built to leave a grin on your face... because they were.

If you're into night golf, they've got that too. Each basket has a light on top of it that starts up automatically at dusk.
Cons: There's really not a ton of elevation change. While this isn't always necessarily a bad thing, there are no insane uphill or downhill shots that aren't artificially made (e.g. elevated tees or baskets).

The holes that cross the the "hallway" (13, 14, 15, 20, 24) really become a bore after the first two (15 does have a nice dogleg left once you're across the hallway) unless there's some wind. The creek doesn't provide any challenge to cross so hole 20 and 24 really are just a bomber with no obstacles in the way

The massive popularity can attract some really, really slow groups who don't know how to let people pass through.

Some holes are not very challenging. I know that's a small thing when most park-style courses have boring holes, but 23 and 25 are very underwhelming when compared to the rest of the course, especially since they're toward the back end of the round.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely worth making the trip north of the Twin Cities for. The $8 is 100% worth it too. Playing here will leave you with many memories. I was lucky enough to play here the day before the Minnesota Majestic and almost had a birdie on one of the combined holes (5 and 6 I believe it was)

It's up there as one of the best courses in the world with shot variety, maintenance, and natural beauty. With a bit more in the way of elevation change this course would be pushing top 3 status. If the creativity put into some of the holes had been applied to all of them, this could easily be the best course in the USA. Regardless, I will be back for more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bit of a Letdown

1    9/21/2018   8/15/2019
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 84  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.4 Years
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Equipment is top notch. Tee pads are fantastic and baskets are all in great shape. Fairways are well-defined and cleared. It is obvious this course is very well taken care of. Signage was good although it got a little confusing around holes 9-11. Benches abound if you are into that sort of thing.

- Some fantastic holes in the woods. 3, 6, 7,10, and 17 are all fantastic holes. Great design and beautiful scenery.

- Variety of left- and right-turning holes, straight holes, tunnel shots, and open shots.
Cons: - The redundancy of the field holes kills the vibe in the middle of the round. The driving range on 18 is neat but it is still just a 750-foot wide open hole. There is a little OB there but if my group of 6 didn't throw into it, it is easily avoidable.

- The worst part of my experience was the standing water in the field. I realize it had rained quite a bit the night before but there appeared to be no drainage whatsoever. There are almost mini-dams at each end of the field to trap the water in. At one point I was standing in 2 inches of water in the middle of the fairway. If it has rained at all within 24-36 hours of you playing this course you better have waterproof footwear. EDIT: it was brought to my attention that the amount of rain the day before was indeed rather extreme. Perhaps the field wouldn't flood so easily under more normal circumstances.

- Very few elevation changes. I understand that not every course can have elevation but this is a detractor for me.
Other Thoughts: My reviews are written based on the quality of the holes first and everything else is secondary. We didn't play all 27 holes or the field holes would have gotten even more redundant. My review is based on holes 1-18 and 27. This course has some really nice touches that I didn't get around to mentioning above. The pro shop is very well-stocked and the rakes next to the water hazards on numbers 10 and 27 came in handy. This is an excellent course, hence the 4.0 rating. There are quite a few great holes here as I said in the pros. But there are just as many ho-hum holes and that detracted from my enjoyment of the course. All in all, a fantastic course with just a couple warts.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2019   6/26/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 160  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where do I even begin!
Best clubhouse I've ever seen with 100s of disc and BRP merchandise. Also you can get shots of alcohol inside the clubhouse. Snacks and pretty much anything you'll need for a round. Not to mention they have a burger shack mid course and also a putt for a buck to win 10 mini game. Restrooms are available everywhere on the course and the tee pads and baskets are in amazing shape. The greens our well taken care of. The course layout itself is incredible and there's not one bad hole to be found. Hole 4 is the signature through the trees hole and is worth a picture for sure. The ob lines on every hole our clearly marked and there's just to many great holes to go over. Couple island shots elevated baskets throws over the water pretty much everything you could want in a course. The driving range hole 19 is awesome throwing over the big BRP sign and so many cool signature shots. Very accommodating workers
Cons: They do a huge ultimate tourney that closes some of the holes however they were nice enough to let us shotgun start and play everything so not really a con but some holes might be missing if you show up at wrong time. There's truly no cons here but if I had to find something maybe the fact baskets don't have hole number on them and 15 and 25 share a tee pad but it's a massive brick pad and works.
Other Thoughts: Mosquitos bring bug spray for woods but that's any course in Minnesota this time of year. The work put in here is incredible and this should be on every disc golfers bucket list

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the US

1    9/11/2017   9/15/2017
Review By: boozegob
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Scenic views around every corner.
Unique lines on every hole.
Challenging, but not brutal.
Great mix of long and short holes.
Simply a fun course that you'll likely never forget.
Easy to find with GPS
Well marked holes/signage
Good flow from hole to hole.
Nice pro shop.
Too many things to list...This review doesn't do this course justice, MUST CHECK IT OUT for yourself.
Cons: $8 to play
Gravel road (don't drive your clean ride)

Other Thoughts: There are some course that I play, where I think if I had 100 acres, I'd build something like this. Well BRP is one of those courses. Simply well designed, beautiful, and fun to play.

Wish I were closer, as I would love to play this one every week.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Best in MN

5+    9/8/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: SillyBrute
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: - variety of tight/open, water/dry, and short/long holes
- pro shop with discs, snacks, and adult beverages
- will store discs found in water hazards for pickup
- snack shack in middle grills burgers & dogs on weekends
- immaculately maintained and always evolving
Cons: - none really. can get busy but I view that as a positive, and it honestly spreads out evenly as it's such a long course.
Other Thoughts: Glow rounds here are phenomenal, but bring your Gore-tex. Course often gets foggy with dew on grass at night. Best course in Minnesota, by far.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Premier Midwest Course

2-4    5/20/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: jland969
Played: 69  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Fantastically maintained
-Diverse throw styles required
-Just enough hazard to add challenge
-Multiple tee
-Mid-course Tiki Bar
-Well-stocked club-house
-Extended play
Cons: -Minimal elevation change
-Often busy
-Plan to spend money (beer, discs, fees). Not enough to hinder most, though.
-Could benefit from expanded night throw schedule.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, definitely one to check off the list. An all-around great destination course that has a bit of everything for a variety of throwers. Price recently subjected to inflation (early 2017). $8 if I recall?

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Most cared for course anywhere.

1    8/14/2016   6/14/2017
Review By: benny34
Played: 49  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: + Multiple holes that would be signature holes elsewhere(hole 4, hole 5, hole 6, hole 16, hole 17, hole 18, hole 26)
+ Variety in length, shape, OB, water, open, tight
+ Perfectly maintained grounds
+ Proshop on site stocked with discs, snacks, drinks, scorecards/maps
+ Getting off the fairway is a fair amount of punishment. It will cost you strokes, but not discs.
+ 27 holes
+ Benches/Trashcans at every tee
Cons: - Tee signs could be improved. Although the maps from the pro shops were very detailed.
- Pretty flat, but has some artificially built up tees/greens.
Other Thoughts: This is a special disc golf course. You will not find a course that is maintained better than this. Signature holes at every turn. Really tests every part of your game. Hats off to the people who run this course. Many legitimate par 5/5s which require multiple good shots to get to the green. Great job of designing holes which have a line or two in mind but are not too flukey.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    6/12/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: OriginalGangsta
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Excellent course, very nicely maintained, great variety and for a modestly skilled player like myself it was very challenging.
Cons: It's pretty far away from the South Metro. Quite a haul, but I truthfully have no real quarrels.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Lives up to the reputation

1    5/24/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 496  Reviewed: 273  Exp: 16.4 Years
14 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As the title says, this course lives up to it's reputation. The course was in phenomenal shape from 1 through 27. The baskets are excellent Mach V's that are all in great shape and catch nicely. These are some of my favorite types of pins. They are all powder coated blue which doesn't necessarily help spot them but look nice to the eye. The tee pads are mixed. Almost all are concrete but a few are brick. Makes no difference (at least in May) as all gripped fine and were level and plenty big enough for most players. Hole 14 and 25 share a huge brick pad by the snack shack. There is a great mix of left, right and straight shots here. Hole 4 IS crazy as said before. It's a dead straight par 4, 444 ft. tunnel shot with maybe a 12 foot corridor the whole way. Fantastic! Speaking of the snack shack. It wasn't open when we went (on a Wednesday) but is an absolute awesome feature. How cool is it that you can play like 10 holes, order some burgers, play a couple more then end up at the shack to take a breather and eat then just continue right along where you left off? That's amazing. The Pro shop here is on point too. This is the biggest I've seen I believe. The only one close is Rollin Ridge but I think this is slightly larger. The course is $8 per person per day which is totally worth it. They offer excellent maps/scorecards in the pro shop too. Even without them the flow is pretty intuitive. The course is permanent and the tees are apparently shoveled regularly too which is always awesome to see. There isn't too much elevation but what is here is used well. There are couple ponds that are used on a number of holes to make things interesting and a small creek runs north to south in the middle of the course. There is a cool hanging basket, a basket in a pit, an elevated driving range style basket with markers every 50 ft. that's over 700 ft.....I mean c'mon. Enough said.
Cons: A few of the holes are basically just wide open shots. Even then this is nitpicky as they add unique features to make these more challenging. Like the 700 ft. driving range hole and couple island style holes. uhhhh....I can't actually think of anything else.
Other Thoughts: I've played over 230 courses, mostly in WI, but around 20 in MN and this is one the best in either state. Besides Rollin Ridge I'd say. I don't give out 5 discs because I haven't played every course out there but this would be a 4.8 minimum if I could rate it as that. Closer to a 5 than 4.5 for me. If you are near here just play this. You will NOT be disappointed I promise. The twin cities in general have some just ridiculously great courses but this is the gold standard, blue ribbon winner for sure.

14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Minnesota's best course -- And there are many

5+    10/31/2016   11/13/2016
Review By: EJBusch
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes -- and they're always utilizing different tees/pins/holes to make sure basically every time I go to the course it's slightly different, fresh and exciting.
-$5 for all day pass, it could be $10 for the day and still be an amazing deal
-EVERYONE who works at BRP is amazing. They work incredibly hard, they are very friendly and they always want you to have a great time. Can't say enough about how great these people are!
-Very near VisionQuest, absolutely worth playing this one and then that one if you want an amazing day full of disc
-There is a shack that you pass by a couple of times in your round that has a nice sit and eat/drink area. It's great to be able to snag a brat and a beer and take a quick break before returning to your round.

Updated: This course is also fantastic in the winter.
Cons: -Although Mach V baskets aren't terrible, once you get used to Mach X, Prodigy T1, etc. they don't seem quite as nice. That said, all of the baskets are in great shape.
Other Thoughts: A must play. It's the best course in Minnesota, and that really is saying something. Hole 4 may eat you alive and yet you will still be forced to appreciate how beautiful it is.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 14

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.