East Bethel, MN 
Blue Ribbon Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 129
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Premier Midwest Course

2-4    5/20/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: jland969
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Fantastically maintained
-Diverse throw styles required
-Just enough hazard to add challenge
-Multiple tee
-Mid-course Tiki Bar
-Well-stocked club-house
-Extended play
Cons: -Minimal elevation change
-Often busy
-Plan to spend money (beer, discs, fees). Not enough to hinder most, though.
-Could benefit from expanded night throw schedule.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, definitely one to check off the list. An all-around great destination course that has a bit of everything for a variety of throwers. Price recently subjected to inflation (early 2017). $8 if I recall?

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lives up to the reputation

1    5/24/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As the title says, this course lives up to it's reputation. The course was in phenomenal shape from 1 through 27. The baskets are excellent Mach V's that are all in great shape and catch nicely. These are some of my favorite types of pins. They are all powder coated blue which doesn't necessarily help spot them but look nice to the eye. The tee pads are mixed. Almost all are concrete but a few are brick. Makes no difference (at least in May) as all gripped fine and were level and plenty big enough for most players. Hole 14 and 25 share a huge brick pad by the snack shack. There is a great mix of left, right and straight shots here. Hole 4 IS crazy as said before. It's a dead straight par 4, 444 ft. tunnel shot with maybe a 12 foot corridor the whole way. Fantastic! Speaking of the snack shack. It wasn't open when we went (on a Wednesday) but is an absolute awesome feature. How cool is it that you can play like 10 holes, order some burgers, play a couple more then end up at the shack to take a breather and eat then just continue right along where you left off? That's amazing. The Pro shop here is on point too. This is the biggest I've seen I believe. The only one close is Rollin Ridge but I think this is slightly larger. The course is $8 per person per day which is totally worth it. They offer excellent maps/scorecards in the pro shop too. Even without them the flow is pretty intuitive. The course is permanent and the tees are apparently shoveled regularly too which is always awesome to see. There isn't too much elevation but what is here is used well. There are couple ponds that are used on a number of holes to make things interesting and a small creek runs north to south in the middle of the course. There is a cool hanging basket, a basket in a pit, an elevated driving range style basket with markers every 50 ft. that's over 700 ft.....I mean c'mon. Enough said.
Cons: A few of the holes are basically just wide open shots. Even then this is nitpicky as they add unique features to make these more challenging. Like the 700 ft. driving range hole and couple island style holes. uhhhh....I can't actually think of anything else.
Other Thoughts: I've played over 230 courses, mostly in WI, but around 20 in MN and this is one the best in either state. Besides Rollin Ridge I'd say. I don't give out 5 discs because I haven't played every course out there but this would be a 4.8 minimum if I could rate it as that. Closer to a 5 than 4.5 for me. If you are near here just play this. You will NOT be disappointed I promise. The twin cities in general have some just ridiculously great courses but this is the gold standard, blue ribbon winner for sure.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses I have played

5+    7/2/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.4 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes, you will use all your shots and all your discs. One of the best course I have played.
Cons: The only thing this course is missing is elevation.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion either this or Bryant Lake is the best course in MN (with VisionQuest just a hair behind).

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enchanting

5+    6/4/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: iiTANTALiiZE
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very well kept, extremely fun to throw. I find the long corridor holes very challenging and a blast to try to throw properly. Great variety of hole placement, and neat approach designs. very well thought out tee and pin placement/utilization of land. Tees were all very nice and taken care of. Tee to pin markings were accurate. each time I have thrown, there seems to have been changes made to improve overall integrity of the course. Very much worth the 5 dollar day pass to play here. Food/refreshment shack is a nice touch on one of the double tees.
Cons: Not much for cons here. This course attracts very large groups as it is a fun course to throw, in turn potentially slowing play. I would suggest going early if you would like to try to avoid this from happening to you. The only other thing I can think of to improve the course is next hole signage to show next tee from completed hole. Not a necessary but would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I am very impressed with the staff that I have been in contact with. They have all been very accommodating and friendly, and are willing to share knowledge about the growing sport. Additionally, I lost a disc in the pond in front of hole 22, played a second round and saw a stack of discs that had just been pulled from the pond at the food shack. I saw my disc in the middle of the stack, and mentioned that it was mine to the employee working the food stand. She asked for my ID which matched the name on the disc, and she gave the ok to grab it! I was lucky to have seen it, and appreciated retaining that disc :)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

If you play disc golf and you haven't been here. You are missing out!

2-4    3/7/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: Hazard
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/29/2016
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1) This course has 27 holes that all pose different challenges.

2) The course is Very well maintained and you'll have no issue finding the next tee box from the basket.

3)Concrete tee boxes.

4) Has a great choice of discs to buy inside the main building.

5) Great place to meet other players.
Cons: 1) Usually it's pretty busy here, so chances are you'll need to stop and wait for others to finish the hole a couple of times.

2) Has lots of water hazards, so there is a chance of you loosing a disk.

3)

Other Thoughts: This is a great place to come with a group (3-5) of friends, grill out and play some disc golf. There is a small fee of $5 to play the course for the day, but it is well worth it. The holes are challenging and this course is meant for skilled players. 27 holes gives you plenty of time for your score to go up and to go down.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very well kept course in a disc golf only property. High quality tee pads and baskets. Navigation is easy. Clearly marked out of bounds areas. Scorecard, map, and pencil included with price (a steal at $5). The snack area is a great place to take a rest halfway through. Nice landscaping and tree protection throughout. Garbage and recycling at every hole. What more can you ask for really?
Cons: A bit of a drive from the cities and not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I liked Bryant Lake a little better but this is definitely top notch.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Every thing you read about this coarse is true.

1    7/2/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 112  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: World class disc golf.
Professional tee pads and greens.
Well stocked pro shop.
Cons: The last 5 holes seemed repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This was the 5th coarse my wife and played on summer vacation, and the first in the top 10. We were super excited to get there and were not disappointed. The price is fair and I look forward to playing here again in the future.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    7/9/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Gorgeous property, highly maintained, professionally landscaped
- Some very iconic holes, such as the hole 4 tunnel of pines, and the hole 18 bomb gauge
- Snack shack and bathrooms around hole 10
- Nice variety of tight, technical and open holes
- Unique basket placements - such as down in a bowl, hanging from a chain, and up on a man-made pyramid
- Professional signs, teepads and baskets. Easy to navigate without a map.
Cons:
- Pay to play. $5 is totally worth it, but it's not free, like most course
- Not a ton of elevation change. Would have loved to see some steep incline and declines if the property had such features
- Mosquitoes were pretty bad in the woods, as one would expect in Minnesota
Other Thoughts:
If you're anywhere close to this area, this is a must-play course. It is run and maintained by a landscaping company, and it shows. That being said, it was very disappointing to see graffiti on some benches and signs. It still boggles me that someone would pay to play at such a well-maintained course and then think it's a good idea to write things like, "420 hole" or phallic diagrams on a bench. I know 99% of disc golfers have more class than that, but if you see it happening, don't tolerate it, and if you have the ability to sand it off paint over it, do it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Is This Heaven? No, It's BRP.

1    6/12/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is basically a whole new world that revolves around disc golf. This land used to be a sod farm that was then taken and turned in the the most well maintained disc golf course I have yet to see. The evidence of work on this course is present on every hole. There are phenominal tee pads and beautiful baskets that are both well maintained. There are tee signs and the course is super easy to follow from one hole to the next. The design of the course may have been done by multiple people, but there is fun at every twist and turn.It seems that every hole is rather unique and the land is very well used. In particular the land features, such as creaters in the ground and downed trees are all brought in to play on different holes. Getting off the fairway can be extremely punishing. There is a little creek that comes into play on multiple holes and is used in various different ways to cause players to think about a particular shot. There are man made lakes in a couple of places that really come into play and force a particular shot. There are so many trees on parts of the course that you will be required to throw good shots down long alleys. There is a good pro shop near the start and finish. There is a snack shop centrally located on the course. There is a nice indoor bathroom at the pro shop. The course hosts weekly events and works hard to draw a good crowd, though that is not difficult with the quality of this course. Hats off to the owners of this property for putting so much effort into this course and truly making it feel like a country club experience.
Cons: You do have to pay to play this course, though I am sure that is part of the reason why the course can be so amazing. There are a few holes that may add some fun factor to the course but are simply super short and/or not championship quality holes in and of themselves. The rest of the course makes up for that of course. There is one shared tee pad which may slow play a bit on tournament days or very busy days. Not always beginner friendly though some holes are.
Other Thoughts: This course is an experience that really shouldn't be missed in the avid disc golfers lifetime. It is so unique compared to everything else I have seen and the local crowd as well as owners clearly love this course. While I was able to come up with a few cons, they are so minor in comparison to the great things about this course that it doesn't really matter. I really had a bad round when I palyed and yet I still had a great time from start to finish. I did loose two discs during the round and got one back, but be aware of where the water is on this course. Also there are 27 holes most of the time I believe so the rounds are long, and even longer if you have to look for your disc off the fairway. The experience is well worth the price of admission and the money clearly goes back into the course. That really makes paying worth it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/8/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course.
- Many well knowledgeable players all over the course to assist and give tips to beginners, like myself.
- 27 playable holes, quite longer and more advanced than any other courses I have played.
- Snack shack halfway through is great, cold beer and pop, grills cooking up hot dogs and burgers are a plus.
- Great change of pace compared to normal courses, the well maintained course is just fun to play on.
- Great employee's and very friendly.
- Dogs are welcome to come along for the day.
- Great course to spend a whole day out at and play multiple rounds.
- Basket at Hole 1 off to the left of tee pad to practice putts and approaches.
- One of the cleanest courses I have ever played, trash and recycling bins on every tee, along with a 5 gallon pail for the smokers to throw their butts in.
- I personally think it's a very challenging course, I have only been playing for 3 years though.
- If you lose a disc more than likely it will either be put in lost and found at the pro-shop or you'll receive a phone call about your disc, that's why I love playing here.
Cons: - Of course everyone will say it's a con so I will list it as a con, $5 to play, doesn't bother me whatsoever.
- Very congested come weekends, recently it took me 4.5 hours to play all 27 holes, without stopping at the shack.
- A lot of the fairways have had some standing water due to the amount of rain we have received in the last few weeks.
- Bugs are a major problem later in the evening and after a heavy rainfall, but that should be expected with any course.
Other Thoughts: - Would love to see another 9 holes made and turn it into two 18 hole courses that could possibly free up some major delays and waiting around to tee off each hole.
- Pump out the water of the holes that are way over what they should be at, too much water isn't a good thing when it comes to BRP, the pines can really mess up a good shot and send you into the drink.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center