Bozeman, MT 
Bohart Ranch X-C Ski Center - Lower Share
Uploaded By: Danger Hole #11 (Taken 6/2010)
-- / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Disc Golf Paradise

2-4    7/31/2016   3/13/2017
Review By: hikermk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An awesome course with amazing scenery. Nice teepads and new baskets. Mowed fairways. Lots of technical shots, which I like. Shots with elevation, both downhill and uphill. Bathroom and drinking water near the starting point.
Cons: The first time I played I lost my way a few times on some of the holes. When playing the second time it was much easier to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I have played quite a few courses in several states and the upper and lower course at Bohart is my most favorite course. It is very challenging and you are guaranteed to have a good time. I live 8 hours away, but it is worth the drive to play this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of the best mountain courses in the world

5+    8/16/2016   3/10/2017
Review By: weatherstation
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Two beautiful courses each with their own personality. There is no other mountain course out there that is so well maintained. It's mowed weekly, has fair fairways and rough roughs. It will test every shot in your arsenal, from 200 foot tight liners, risk/reward par 3s, and par fours that demand strategic shots and smart golf.

The course layout is spot on and does a great job of keeping a feeling of exclusivity and immersion of nature. Even on crowded days you'll feel like you're the only people on your own private nature course. The views are absolutely breathtaking.

There is no cell service, so disc golf is the only thing that exists while you're there.
Cons: There is no cell service.

It's not my local course anymore.
Other Thoughts: Bohart really is my favorite place on the planet. I'm two states away now but still make sure to come back for disc golf vacations 3 - 4 times a year.

I'm counting the days until my next trip back to disc golf heaven.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love Both Bohart courses

5+    8/9/2016   3/9/2017
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well layed out. Fun holes, yet challenging. Lots of elevation changes. The fairways are wide, yet the rough is tough to throw out of.
It's proximity to the Upper Course make for a perfect disc golf day, playing two rounds.
Cons: I can't really think of any cons, other than the decent on hole 2, I believe. Very steep downhill "slide", i'm sure is fun on skis, but dragging a disc golf cart makes for a precarious decent.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful ranch dedicated to disc golf during the summer months, and the views and solitude make for a great experience.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very fun golf in a beautiful setting

1    7/30/2016   8/8/2016
Review By: brentjacobs
Played: 69  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 Hole course with 1 set of level concrete tees, tee signs, and DiscCatcher Pros in nice condition that stay in one location.
-Great use of elevation. Almost every hole has a noticable elevation change.
-Differing shot shaping requirements. Some holes dictate your line, some offer multiple lines, and some look like they should be RHBH or LHBH friendly and really aren't. Love this aspect of the golf.
-Fairways are very fair and the rough is manageable. Fairways get mowed frequently and the rough has been cleared and drastically improved in the last few years. You can still find yourself in the proverbial cabbage but if you're there, you probably deserve to be.
-Diverse terrain. The course plays through meadows and woods as well as along hills, ridges, and a creek.
-Beautiful scenery. Course is located at the base of the East side of the Bridger Mountain Range. Spectacular views from a number of places on the course.
-$5 per day for this and the Upper Course. The owners really do invest in the property so I've never felt bad about the fee.
Cons: -Only one pin location per hole. There's a lot of extra space to create new pin locations. This could add more unique looks, some difficulty, and really, overall course value as this is one to come back and play time and again.
-While technically challenging due to elevation change and line shaping, the course lacks in the distance department.
-Seasonal course. Due to geographic location and use as a cross country ski/biathlon complex, the course is only open during summer and fall months.
-Early season can be a bit swampy on some holes which also leads to it being a bit buggy.
-$5 per day. Some folks don't like to pay, regardless of quality.
Other Thoughts: -Really nice mountain course that bridges the gap between traditional mountain golf and manicured fairway park golf. While on the shorter side of great courses I've played, the Lower Bohart Course will still present a challenge for all skill levels.
-Playing at over 6,000 ft of elevation will cause you to adjust you game(unless that's what you're used to).
-Amenities include 3 "forest service" style bathrooms and a ground water tap with some of the most delicious drinking water I've tasted. There are also 2 pavilions if you need to have a sit in the shade. One is at the base before you walk out to the course and the other is on the Upper Course between holes 10 and 11. Some benches have been added at tee boxes as well.
-Bohart is a little out of the way being 20-25 minutes from the town of Bozeman but I drive about 2 hours from Billings to play there because it's awesome golf. If you're even remotely near the complex, do yourself a favor and play Bohart Ranch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I am coming back for you!!

2-4    7/31/2016   8/5/2016
Review By: Risshan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is just a beautiful scenic course set in the mountains of Montana. If you hit your lines you can definitely score well on this course. but if you miss there are definitely still opportunities to scramble and save par.
Cons: DO NOT HIT TREES. haha but seriously there are no real cons except bad play will not be forgiven score wise. and hole 4 completely ate me alive and I want retribution!!
Other Thoughts: The testament to this course is I played decent and only got eaten up by a few holes and immediately when the round ended I wanted to do it againg!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Disc Golf Experience

5+    7/31/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: RCigler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Fairways are always manicured and a lot of work has been done to thin up the rough. DISCATCHERs on all holes and concrete tee pads. This is the easier of the two courses on the property (par 55) and is a great place to play for novice players and experienced players alike.
Cons: None.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Mountain course

1    8/23/2015   1/17/2016
Review By: michael bacon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained scenic course with concrete tee pads and innova baskets.
Cons: Far too many OB's. OB on hole one on lower course. Plenty of space to design course without OB's even if it does wind through a ski hill. Charge per play even though you have to deal with pycho dog on course. Don't care dogs and Discs don't mix. Your dog may be friendly to you but not others.
Other Thoughts: Another course that favors RHBH throwers on the whole but plenty of holes that favor left handers and forearm throwers. Not in favor of course where no clear shot exists when you hit the "green.". Problem with many Disc Golf courses - no greens.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Worth The Trip!

5+    6/28/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: ThrowBot
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
+ All Concrete Tee Pads, All Discatcher 28's as of Last Year
+ Great Variety of Shots: Elevation Change, L-to-R vs. R-to-L, mix of Open and Tight Fairways, some greens are easy whereas others are punishing.
+ High level of maintenance and consistent course improvement. Mowed fairways, somewhat cleaned up rough (still punishing though!)
+ Very Discerning Course: expect a wide variety of scores on most holes and the overall score. This is NOT a course where everyone gets par on every hole--it's a good measuring stick to let you know how well you've thrown.
+ Decent level of signage. Most of the signs have tees with distances and pars noted. It's not too difficult to find your way around the course, even playing it blind.
Cons:
- The weather can be harsh. Let me explain: I'm not a fair-weather golfer. I'll happily play in a little rain, snow, wind...whatever. Believe me when I say that the weather can be really, truly horrible on this course. It's located just downwind of the Bridger Ridge, which creates a micro-climate zone that gets a lot more precipitation than anywhere within 50-100 miles. For the 2014 MT state tourney, it rained consistently for 3 rounds over 2 days. I went through over a dozen towels, but moisture was actively condensing onto my discs as soon as I wiped them dry.
- This course can and will eat your discs. Some of the roughs have been trimmed back, but many are still super harsh. If you have yellowy-green "Day Glow" colored discs, they are camouflaged in the leafy undergrowth when the sun filters through the trees.
Other Thoughts: Talking with the locals yesterday, the new name for the lower course is "Saddle Peak". (The name is inspired by the awesome view of Saddle Peak that you can see when it's not too cloudy, especially from the 11th fairway.)

The course is Pay-to-Play. Back when I was a broke college student that was definitely a CON, but now I'm happy to pay $5 for an awesome day of disc golf. All of the money (and then some!) goes into course improvements.

The course is at noticeable elevation (roughly 6100', depending on where on the course you are). Disc flight characteristics are affected by the thin air, and it also makes your cardio-vascular system work a little harder.

You want to wear quality hiking footwear. The terrain is mountainous and rugged.

Bring insect repellent.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bohart Lower Updated

5+    11/1/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Par 55 - 5,548'
Brand New Discatcher Pros (28 chain).
Brand New 5' x 10' Concrete Teepads.
Lower is a bit shorter than Upper but what it lacks in length it makes up in elevation.
Both the Upper and Lower ask the Risk vs Reward question every time you have a disc in your hand.
Lower is beginner friendly but is also a joy to play by advanced and Open Players.
Some minor changes to the layout have been done over the past 3 years and now the course has a wonderful flow.
Just like Upper it plays equal to the backhand and forehand thrower. Success will be had if you are proficient in both types of shots.
The views are magnificent - Hole # 5 and #11 may be the signature holes for both courses. Views combined with tricky and subtle double fall lines make for a wonderful experience.
Lower also enjoys mown grass fairways in the middle of the forest in the Northern Rockies.
Both courses play over 269 acres of cross country ski trails. The owner likes to be able to open the ski trails with minimal snow so he actually mows every fairway tight.
Its kind of culture shock to look at fairways perfectly mown in the middle of the Rocky's with Mountains tower around you. It is a sight to see.
Cons: Lower still needs better signage for navigation but when it arrives in the spring of 2015 there will be no more cons
Other Thoughts: 2 Amazing courses on one piece of property in the Northern Rocky mountains of Montana.
Home to the new Elite event - Rocky Mountain Disc Golf Championship

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed mountain course

2-4    7/6/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. This course illustrates the difference between the courses that are jammed into a space without much thought and courses that are designed by experienced disc golfers that know what they want out of a course. There are a couple of tight fairways but most holes are somewhat open. But even the more open fairways have some challenge to them, whether it is a clever elevation change, a tricky turn, or a few trees standing in such a way to make your shot difficult. Good risk/reward birdie attempt shots. Overall this course is open enough that beginners could have a fun time while at the same time more advanced players can go for tight shots and low scores but be challenged to do so.
I played here last year as well and the course was in a little rougher shape at that time. There are now pads for every tee (if I remember right) and I think some brush and dead trees have been cleared out since last year. It is nice to see effort being put into the course.
I know some people don't like the hoop hole, but I think it fits in with the local charm of the area and the course.
Beautiful mountain views. I wish I could describe them more but I wouldn't do them justice. Go play this course and find out.
Cons: It can be tricky finding the next teepad on a couple of holes, especially where some of the teepads are close to each other and the course layout crosses itself. This isn't a huge detraction, it might just take you a minute or two to find your way. Once you've played the course, after that you will find your way easily. There are arrows pointing you to the next teepad on some holes, but I don't think on all of them. There is a map that you can grab at the sign in area that does help a little bit, but if you can I recommend printing out the nice one in the links/files tab.
I also wish there were better tee signs that gave the distance to the basket and a better idea of the hole layout on some of the blind shots. Again, not a huge problem after a little scouting. If it is your first time playing this course, some of the blind shots you would want to scout even if there were good tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I played here once last year and three times this year while on vacation. I played the upper course as well, and the upper makes this spot even more of a great disc golf destination. I hope the course owner and the local group continue to make improvements on the course. Good on them for what they have done so far. I will definitely be back next year.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.