Bonita Springs, FL 
Bonita Springs Rec. Center Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Signature hole. Basket is on the other side of the water.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A tale of two different nines.

1    3/19/2017   5/3/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 110  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.879 Rating) A tale of two different nines.
- 9 SOLID HOLES - This course clearly reads a history of 9 holes, added to 9 holes. Holes (1) thru (7) and holes (17) and (18) are clearly the best aspect of this course. They require good technique, moderate power and look fairly beautiful.
- CHALLENGING - Perhaps one of the better aspects to the Bonita Springs course, is the degree it will test your skills. Lots of moderate length technical plays on the front. The back appears on paper to be easier, but with open fields adjacent to the fairways, the winds will have a tendency to punish well intentioned shots.
- QUICK PLAY - I flew thru this course in under an hour on my first time and solo. I even spent a few minutes waiting to throw due to other park patrons. I figure this translates to a group of four at 2 hours.
- GROW THE SPORT - Not all courses have to be gems. I'm glad this course exists as it brings the sport to another area.
Cons: IMO the added second nine actually hurts this course.
- SAFETY ISSUES - Several holes bring other park amenities and roads into play. I'll specifically mention holes (8) thru (16)...
- DUEL USE HAZARD - There are baseball fields that the course winds around. You'll be forced to wait sometimes or even have to skip holes all together if a game is going on. I personally had to modify my play on a hole for safety reasons during my first round here.
- BASKET/TEE SEPERATION - The next tee is often located right next to the adjacent basket. There are many instances where the tee and basket are separated by less than 30 feet. In addition, some tees are in the path of fire from the previous hole.
- UNIQUENESS - Holes (8) thru (16) are about as bland as they come. Not too many trees to weave around or pocket type shots. No par 4's or 5's along the entire layout. No elevation to consider. There is also little hole length differential among the par 3's (270 to 400).
- CHARACTER - Not much in the way of course comfort items. Many of the tees are in disrepair, there is no seating and the course navigation is rough but passable. To point out a plus, there are several holes with an extra set of tees.
- RAW BEAUTY - Half nice, half awful. If you've read this entire review, you'll clearly know what holes are nice and which are awful.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees, wind will likely be a major issue. 25-30 mph gusts during my visit.
Other Thoughts: A appreciate the determination to deliver 18 holes on a site like this. However in this space, the goal to have 18 effective holes is just not a realistic possibility when considering all the site constraints.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Course Needs Some TLC

5+    8/25/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 128  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 42 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the oldest courses in SW Florida and has seen a myriad of changes since its 1997 debut as a 9-holer, leaving the course very hard to navigate for a long time. Holes 1-8 and 17-18 generally have two sets of tees marked by poles with color coding and hole #. These are lightly wooded and feature water holes and are fun to play.
Cons: After hole 8 the course takes a nose dive. You have to head through the baseball fields to find holes 9-16 with zero navigation aids to help you get there. Most of these holes have no # on the tees or the baskets and can be difficult to find. I strongly urge first timers and non-regulars to get the map! These holes mostly throw over roads and sidewalks and crisscross back and forth with each other.

Dogs not allowed. Seems silly to me, though.

Other Thoughts: A fun round of golf can be had here, but I would recommend the nearby newer Estero course for a more modern dg experience (except for new/rec players as there is a lot of water on the Estero course).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Mediocre

1    10/22/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 71  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a decent multi-purpose recreational center/athletic facility. Nice Innova baskets on part of the course with sufficient cement tee pads and nice painted wooden pilings driven into the ground with hole number and distance at each tee. Multiple pin locations at most holes (although I really didn't look closely to verify their existence). An abundance of trees and various other man made barriers and obstacles to challenge you. The course utilizes much of the available land, and water is present near several of the holes.
Cons: Terrible course flow. After throwing hole one, you're staring straight at hole 11 instead of 2. Tee off areas for holes 9 & 18 are parallel to each other, while tee 17 is directly behind tee 8 (I actually did a double take to make sure I wasn't seeing things- am I missing something here?). Baskets lining Pine Avenue are in horrible shape- rusty and battered, and there are no tee off locations on this side of the course. Some baskets have rudimentary gold magnets with hand cut numbers on them, adding to the confusion. The water on the course is typical Florida scunge- hardly a thing of beauty.
Other Thoughts: I do not consider myself a stupid individual, but this place left me totally bewildered. I can only surmise that BSRC is under course renovation- what else could explain the schizophrenic layout of this place? Half of it looks OK with good tees, baskets and signs while the other side of the course is a complete disaster with rusty baskets, no markings and no true tee off areas. There is literally a row of about four baskets lining Pine Avenue. Maybe if I'd played with a local, it would have helped, but I only wound up frustrated. After reading the reviews and playing the sub par Bay Oaks course, I expected a lot better. I would also upgrade the informational board located at the beginning of the course and put a real solid directional map on it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's Ok

1    3/17/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: raaf13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkept very well
Staff very friendly
Easy to navigate
Most holes are well designed
Cons: Only 9 holes (multiple tees for 18)
To much water, fences, etc (to many places to lose discs)
1 of the holes (2 if playing 18) involve a very long shot over deep water.
Signage on each hole is not very detailed, hard to follow
Other Thoughts: I went to Marco Island for Spring Break and this is the nearest course I could find. Maybe I am spoiled by Michigans courses! But its definitly a solid course and worth playing

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not A Bad Course

1    5/12/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: sonicsbeer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seems to be one of the better courses in the Fort Myers area. They came up with a good course design for the limited amount of space available. It was a great idea to place two different tees for each pin, giving the illusion of 18 separate holes.
Cons: Unfortunately, no maps available. It's not a very confusing course at all, but we did spend some time looking around, and a simple map is just nice to have. Also, the signing is somewhat poor. Not terrible, but it could have been more helpful.
Other Thoughts: The lake really DID NOT come in to play for us, I'm right handed and my friend is left handed so that made no difference. You just need to exercise some control, and yes - perhaps a BIT of restraint. It was nice that the rec center had a small selection of discs for sale, nothing expansive though. You can't go all out on this course by any means, but it was fun. We both had a good time. Oh, and ZERO lost discs, too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit

1    2/8/2000   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very good use of a very small piece of property. Attractive and well-maintained. The holes have good variety and challenge. Most of the holes are on the tighter side and favor accurate golfers that can shape shots well. Friendly locals.
Cons: It is possible to lose plastic in the schule and water in a couple places.
Other Thoughts: I understand that this course is now 18 holes. I have not played the new holes. This review applies to the original layout.

Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.