Easton, MA 
Borderland State Park Share
Uploaded By: Dean Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 310ft.   4 / 425ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Wish it was close enough to call my home course

5+    3/18/2017   3/19/2017
Review By: parboiled
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of hole types and layouts
-Two tee options, two basket options
-Located in a beautiful state park
-Really strong disc golf community
-Relatively close to Boston
-Each hole seems thoughtfully designed
-Enough trash cans and recycling
-Dog-friendly but also clean
-Many different creative lines that play to different players' strengths
Cons: -No water holes
-Gets crowded
-Not a lot of elevation change
Other Thoughts: Borderlands is awesome. Objectively speaking, Maple Hill is probably the best course <50 miles from Boston, but I love playing these two equally. The course is designed really thoughtfully, with many different options and unique lines to the basket. For example, my forehand drive gets an extra 50 feet of distance at the moment, and I have a friend who's the opposite, but there are many holes here where he will choose to throw forehand and I will choose backhand because we read the hole differently. I've played here more than anywhere else, and while it is a little too far for me (I live in Somerville, MA) to call it my home course, it's definitely near and dear to my heart.

The only two 'meh' holes are IMO 8 and 15 (white baskets) and the blue basket on 2 is kind of insanely long. White to white is fun, basically a par 3 course. B-W and W-B are both challenging and varied. B-B gets pretty difficult and you have to be in the mood for it. It can be confusing and slightly dangerous if there are a lot of people playing different layouts, as you might not realize it until there are others directly in your path. Being vigilant should take care of most of that, however.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have the most fun here!

5+    12/23/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: sharkey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2017
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Borderland State park disc golf offers the best disc golf in eastern Massachusetts. The variety from hole to hole is fantastic, featuring different terrains, open fairways and dense fairways, guarding trees and a constant need for creative shot shaping.

The Blue course and the white course offer multiple layouts so regulars can mix up the routine.
Layout allows for easy access to main parking lot from hole 1 and 18.
Cons: Not too many cons here, it is hard to play 9 holes since, the 9th hole is a long way from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The bottom line is, this place is fun. With so much variety and so much challenge on the course, it draws out the creativity in each player. The parking is a bit Costly parking ($5). Park gates don't open until 7am. Not super easy to find the next tee. Plenty of poison ivy in the late spring and summer, so keep your eyes open, 'leaves of three leave them be.'

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

5+    10/1/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: TSmith
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple tee pads for all levels
- There are so many ways too play the course ( White-White;Blue-Blue;White-Blue;Blue-White-Alternate Blue/White...etc)
- Fairways are well defined and there are multiple routes on most holes.
- Easy hiking compared to most 18 hole courses I have played (very little up and down hiking)
- Blue-Blue will allow you to use multiple drivers/fairways/putters in a single round.
- The course has risk reward shots all over.
- I have played many courses and always will go to borderland for a round.
- Good disc golf community that will return discs and help if in need.
- If get out early in the morning you can have the course to yourself. (grass holes can be wet)
Cons: - It is a heavily wooded course, there are some shots that look great that will be knocked down.
- Your discs will take some damage.
- Can get packed late in the day or weekends.
- Not great elevation holes, it is fun seeing a disc fly for 15-30 seconds down hill.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere south of Boston I would make this course your home course. It is the best in the area. Dacy is a good little course but I would rank borderland head and shoulders above.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    7/19/2016   7/19/2016
Review By: puttsandsmuts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I would give this course a 4.5 if I could because it's an amazing course but not quite at the level of Maple Hill (which I've now played a few times). I live about 10 minutes from the course and I would guess that I've now played it at least 100 times.

Whether playing the Whites (par 3) or Blues (par 3, 4, and one 5), the course is very manageable and is a nice mix of moderately wooded holes, open fields with grass, and a mix of dirt (allowing for some skips) and rocks (prevent skips).

There isn't any water you play over so if you're losing discs it's going to be buried in the woods somewhere although I don't lose many here.

I could go on about this list of pros but bottom line: I'm extremely lucky to have such an outstanding home course and would definitely recommend anyone to play it if they have a chance.
Cons: Walk from hole 4 to 5 is across a decently sized field and annoying in my opinion. You can park, start at hole 5, and end at hole 4 to save some waking but it just doesn't fee right playing the holes out of order.

I'm very allergic to poison ivy and I'd say that about 1/5 rounds I end up with a fresh patch of it on my skin. Definitely not a reason to avoid playing here though.

Also, I feel as if Bland could afford some holes over water for scenery but this is only because I've now played Maple Hill and that is debatedly the nicest course in the country right now.

Not too many cons here get out here and play!
Other Thoughts: Disc return system is completely legit and although some people hold onto discs when they find them, the office at borderland has probably 200+ disc waiting to be picked up from their previous owners.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course, beautiful park

1    6/18/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: Zingelicious
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -18 hole layout
-36 baskets, each hole has a white and blue tee and basket (some share the same tee), providing a shorter, easier course and a longer, harder course
-The signature hole, #17, is absolutely beautiful, with the mansion in the background.
-Provides paper scorecards
-Variety of uphill, downhill, open, and wooded holes
-Sign says there are discs for loan for beginners
-Visitors center has lost and found kiosk for discs
-Has a website: http://www.borderlanddiscgolf.com

-Fee is only $5 for parking or $6 for out of state
Cons: -Small fee for parking
-Hole 2 and 17 can sometimes have pedestrians in the field, which is warned about on the welcome sign, but it wasn't a problem
-Lots of poison ivy in the area, but only if your throws go errant
-Hole 3, 5, and 18 were a little tricky to find the teepad, but not a huge problem. (For hole 5 we had to go across the big field, through the left side of a parking area, onto a small trail on the left, and then we got there. (There is a map at the start, I recommend getting it online too for better quality.)
Other Thoughts: For us it was definitely worth the 50 or so minute drive. We're relative beginners; this was the third course we've been too, and it was a blast. A great park, with some great history. Seems to be a very active disc golf community here :) Awesome time.

(Also only 50 minutes south from Medford, where the Boston Whitecaps play.)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Park but Park It and Play

1    6/1/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 31.6 Years
Pros: Easy to find for visitor
Multiple tee placements adds variety
Very nice hole design, especially some of the back holes
Very scenic course
Cons: pay to play (or park)
as noted on other comments - a lot of potential for conflict with other golfers and/or park users
walk from 4 to 5 confusing for new visitor

Other Thoughts: I played while staying in Providence during a trip from Georgia. Took about 45 minutes or so from Prov. It was an overcast, drizzly day with only one other golfer and a few hikers on the course. I loved the design and course layout but I was shocked at all the trash (coffee cups) around the tees and in the woods. I am sure it was just an aberration but it was enough to keep my rating only at a 3.5. The course itself plays like a 4.25 but the trash and conflict keep score down for me. Would definitely play it again, though. Would even drive up from Providence (after playing Maple Hill and Pyramids, though)

 Great Course

5+    4/19/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: JabbaTheFunk
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borderland is a great course on a great park. It has two sets of tees (white and blue) and two sets of baskets (white and blue). They share parts of fairways but offer different lines from tees to baskets (both lefty and righty friendly). The tees and baskets can be mixed and matched (i.e. white to blue, blue to white, etc.) which provides lots of options and varied levels of difficulty. All of the tee pads are rubber mats and complete with a sign showing the fairways and distances to the white and blue baskets. The baskets are great shape as well. There is a variety of wooded and open fairways. There are some elevation changes and tight fairways that make things interesting. There is also a lost and found box to drops discs that are found. At the end of each day, the rangers collect them and bring them into the office for people to retrieve.
Cons: It gets extremely busy during the weekends and with the sharing of blue and white fairways, it can be tough to have your round go smoothly. Sometimes park goers end up meandering through the course or post up on the fields of hole 2, 17, and 18. Some people can get a little lost going from hole 4 to 5 and 17 to 18. Parts of the course can get very muddy during the spring season (although to a true disc golfer, this will not stop them from playing). Not many trash cans for trash (please carry out what you carry in)
Other Thoughts: For those allergic to poison ivy, beware throughout the warmer months. As a heads up, there is a $5 parking fee for the day. There are also lots of trails and other activities that happen at this park aside from disc golf.

For those that have an issue finding hole 5: walk the path from the hole 4 basket, walk across the hole 18 fairway until you see the dirt road/path going across the field (the mansion will be on your left and the parking lot on the right). You will then reach the entrance to the park. On your left you should see a pathway that leads to the tee pads for blue and white.

For those that have an issue finding hole 18: from the basket, walk up by the right side of the tennis court, and you will see a path. Walk through the little stone garden/fountain area and up the hill. You should then see a little hill and a stone roadway. The tee pads for 18 are just past that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Borderland Bash

1    8/21/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 339  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Borderlands State Park is super crazy awesome. The dual tee, and dual basket layout is the best I have seen at achieving a disc golf double helix, 18 holes that feels like 36. Instead of the white tee being on a similar line as the blue, but shorter distance, here they are frequently carved out on a separate line with a totally different look. Placement on every available tee area or pin location were skillfully chosen, this layout rocks. Tees were good, nicely done rubber mats, usually spacious and level. Very complete signage marking every tee. A pair of Chainstar baskets on every hole, white and blue. All were in good shape, as I recall. While the 4 configurations of each hole optimize versatility, the park is an ideal setting for disc golf. The course mixes in woods, with sometimes extremely rocky fairways, and grassy meadows and hills, with a few scattered trees. Elevation can be a factor, but usually in moderate amounts. Water is never a major issue. Playing the longest blue/blue layout would be epic, I chose to play a slightly less difficult white/blue layout. Did not fare too well. Finished with a 65, 1 over par. It is a short walk from the parking lot and the practice basket, past the visitor center to the first tee. From the first hole you know you're in for a treat. I can't give hole by hole breakdown, but they are all quality just about any angle. 2 is a monster par 5 on the blue pin. 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 15, were all cool, 3 being my favorite. The blue pin is on the edge of a boulder, and if you miss right side you are putting from the bottom of it 8 feet beneath the level of the pin. I did just that, and two putted for par. The rocky outcroppings and stone walls dividing parts of some holes are a great element.
Cons: Parking toll at park entrance $2. The front nine is interrupted by a long walk between holes 4 and 5. After 4, you walk past the 18th tee, across the grass, into the woods again. There are no trash cans, guests in the park should pack out their trash. Should but don't, litter was on the ground throughout. Not a ton, but way too much for a park this nice. Dogs must remain on a leash.
Other Thoughts: One or two average holes, majority good to great. Borderlands was fun and totally worth the visit. Rating of over 4 fully valid. A course that has complex and interesting personality.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, odd criss crossing layout

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Relatively easy to navigate
Most tees are not excessively wooded
Lots of tee signs with measured distances
Multiple basket and tee combos scales course to any skill level and/or keeps course fresh.
Cons: Many tee/basket combos result in potential collision situations as the paths cross and cannot see each other. Watched a group almost huck into another group but fortunately they spotted a disc flying by.

Some baskets are heavily wooded and I could see easily losing a disc.

Many sections are used as shortcuts by wandering park goers.
Other Thoughts: I like what they tried to do with the multiple tee pads and baskets, but this opens up a fair bit of confusion and on a few holes risks of throwing at others.

A few holes are quite heavily wooded and throwing a disc off the fairway not only yields a wasted throw, but stands a good chance of causing you to lose the disc entirely.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 "I want my $2 !"

5+    6/19/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two very well kept, level, rubber pads on each hole.
Two excellent condition baskets on each hole.
4 available layouts to challenge all skill levels.
Excellent layout, flow, and design of course.
Good blend of shots needed to score well here.
Fair lines and basket placement on each hole.
Course favors placement and approach much more than distance.
Practice basket and open field next to parking lot.
Clean, beautiful park, clean beautiful course.
Upkeep is very good here.
Plenty of parking, only $2 to park.
Drinking fountains available in season, bottle water for purchase outside bathrooms.
Bathrooms at hole one (ranger station).
Cons: Course takes on and retains water. Things can get muddy after rains.
No set par for alternate course layouts.
No water holes.
High volume of traffic at peak times.
High volume of rec players lacking etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I would pay $5 to $10 a day to play this gem. The 45min drive from my home is well worth the pleasure and peace I get from playing here. There really isn't a standout signature hole (Blue 2 maybe?) but that doesn't seem to matter. Each hole presents a different challenge in a very even and consistent manner. This is a solid 4 star course that will have you comparing the other coursers you play to it. If you are thinking about playing this one, stop thinking, pack your bag, and hit the tee.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.