Disc Golf Center
Round Rock, TX 
Brushy Creek MUD DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #10 (Taken 10/2006)
4 / 498ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Just a bit confusing

1    12/15/2016   12/15/2016
Review By: Keasto
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads
-Good variety of shots and distances
-Course appears to be well maintained
-Course dries fast after big rains
Cons: -Parking is a bit tight
-It is easy to get confused walking between some holes
-New tee signs are needed.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course 4 times now and I've really enjoyed it. I have not heard any one say it is there favorite in the area, but I really think it is an excellent course. Absolutely worth a stop. Just be prepared to have to do a bit our route finding on your first play through. If it is your first time it would be well worth it to team up with a local.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Helpful Locals

5+    9/24/2016   9/25/2016
Review By: Neuromancer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very little trash on course
-Locals guide you through the course
-Technical holes mixed with long holes
-Tradition of shouting "Rusty" after doing well on hole #8, a nod to one of the local veterans that plays the course
-Can play holes 2,3,4, then 13,14,15,16,17 and 18 as a shorter nine.
-Rock bridge is built so people can cross when there is water in the creek bed
-Plenty of trash cans and recyclable cans.
Cons: -Lots of players on the weekend and Wednesday evenings
-High weeds on occasion
-Number 4 cannot be seen from tee box and people might not shout "Clear"
-#5 is much farther away than you expect, people often throw at the wrong baskets by mistaking #6 or #11 for #5
#1 has a terrible canopy of thick brush to the left. Use a spotter on this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Always Dry

5+    5/6/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 105  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.413 Rating) A solid course on Metro Austin's north side.
- UNIQUENESS - The thing I find best about Cat Hollow is the layout and the uniqueness of the holes themselves. Not much of a repetition from hole to hole. Hole one starts off with a nice well defined tunnel play the twists at least 40 degrees right. There are some pocket shots and windows to hit. There are also slight ups and downs, a bunch of blind baskets and a few overhead plays. There are two par 4's, one is a dog leg left and the other is a bomb-it play that can be reached by the big guns. Advanced players I think will feel challenged by this course. Unfortunately no water elements in play to force a line.
- CHARACTER - The pampering is slightly above average. The tees are 50% shaded and have adequate hole signage. The grounds are entirely dedicated to disc golf, so no silly joggers or walkers to wait on. There is some stone work on a few holes. All the holes have seating, There are garbage cans spaced well throughout the layout. It is missing a practice basket, course map, multiple tees, multiple pin placements and a finishing picnic table.
- CHILL AREAS - There are a bunch of secluded areas. Tees 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14,15 and 17 are all tucked away and have seating to plop down and relax.
- TEES - They are all concrete and of adequate length and width. Nothing special, but they do the job.
- ACEABILITY - Some good ace opportunities when comparing this course to others. You'll have good chances on hole 2 and holes 13-15.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although not necessarily a beginners course or a pro level course, the course somehow manages to provide a prefect middle ground. the odds of losing a disc is low, great for beginners. The fairways are tight enough to provide a challenge to advanced players.
- QUICK PLAY - Course can be a quick play at times. usually 2 to 2 1/2 hours for a four sum. But on weekends you may need to plan for an extra hour. I have seen good size mobs out here and the course is generally well packed on weekend when the weather nice.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Definitely one of the more scenic courses on the north side of Austin. However, probably only average for the entire metro area as the south side courses are generally more scenic.
- DRYS UP QUICK - A lot of the north side courses are prone to flooding or have some sort of drainage issue. Cat Hollow has a reputation among the north side courses to dry up first.

Cons: Cat Hollow just has a few ticky tac issues.
- NAVIGATION - Not the easiest on the first time through as there are a bunch of unmarked paths to wind threw. The walk between 14 and 15 is especially confusing. It's a good 300 to 400 foot walk. You'll have to pass 4 tee and 3 basket and then veer off to the right. There is also one perilous journey between 4 and 5. The walk requires crossing the fairways of 12 and 13. There is a map on DGCR that will partially help but it's not the greatest map.
- OVERGROWTH - The rough and terrain is pretty raw in a few areas, especially on holes 1, 6-9 and 17. Lots of scraggly cedar trees, tree roots and rocks scattered about on those holes. I have spotted poison ivy before, but its generally in check compared to other nearby courses.
- FORGIVENESS - Not the tightest layout around, but the cedar trees are not the most forgiving tree species. I've spent significant time here climbing these trees to retrieve a disc.
- SPACING - A few of the holes feel like they partially share a fairway. not the worst course out there by any means, but you'll have to be watchful on a few holes.
- NO NIGHT GOLF - Reputation is that the course is patrolled at night. You may be escorted out of the park after sunset.
Other Thoughts: Generally considered one of the better north side courses. Not as challenging as nearby Williamson County, but more fun loving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Hometown Course

5+    8/28/2014   8/28/2014
Review By: 5c077l20x
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great dedicated parking lot.
-Houck designed. Great for beginners, but provides enough of a challenge that experienced players won't be bored by any means. It's about as good as it gets without being tournament quality.
-Very well maintened. Mowed often. Dense roughs but not thick enough to lose a disc in. Just keep an eye on it.
-Concrete tee pads and innovation baskets. Painted oftw.
-Signage, benches, and trash cans a plenty.
-Pretty decent variety. Some elevation. Some tight, some open. Most holes have multiple options off the Tee.
Cons: -Crowded. This is probably the most popular course in North Austin.
-A little odd to navigate your first time through. Flows pretty well for the most part though.
-Kinda short. But provides some fun ace runs.
-Gets a bit stanky over by the apartments sometimes.
-Floods when it rains. Dries pretty quickly though.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for almost 7 years and I still play it regularly. Very similar to Searight down south. Although it's set in a neighborhood along a trail and some backyards, they never come into play. It's pretty self contained.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost

1    9/22/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Tunnel shots, open shots, blind shots.
Cons: Without a map, it's difficult to navigate where the next hole is. We had to ask a few players where hole 1 was as well as a couple of other holes.
Other Thoughts: In the middle of a residential area. Surrounded by condos and houses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent for all skill levels

5+    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: davids
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brushy Creek is one of my favorite courses for just relaxing and playing a fun game of disc golf. It's tough to lose discs on this course, and it's forgiving while not being too easy. You can bring a complete novice or an advanced player out here and they'll both have fun. This is very much a social course rather than a challenging course.
Cons: It'd be nice to see a few bells and whistles like tee signs and benches at the tees. The course is definitely showing its age.

I also hate #1. Not only is it one of the more difficult holes on the course, which is bad enough for a first hole, but it requires a good deal of touch, which is terrible for a first hole.

It's also very crowded, although it doesn't have the massive groups that Williamson attracts for some reason. People are usually friendly and willing to let you play through.
Other Thoughts: Got my first ace on the old #17.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: noobynoober
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes, decent signage, some elevation changes. Several trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Hard to follow course from hole 4-5 and you must cross in front of a tee box and a fairway from 2 different holes. No practice basket, unless you use 18
Other Thoughts: This is my neighborhood course where I have learned to play disc golf. It is challenging enough for a fun round, but you can also bring a beginner without to much worry. Trash cans are a plus and the Tee boxes are nice. the Tee signs could be better, but at least there is something. There are a few open holes that are almost like throwing in a field. There are a ton of birdie opportunities and shooting Par is not all that difficult. Experienced players could play the course with a handfull of discs. There is a creek but it is usually dry.

I love this course because it is within walking distance and it is a great course for casual rounds with friends.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 166  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the overall rating of this course at 3.5 is pretty accurate. The park has a nice parking lot. I love the tee signs and tee pads, its a typical Houck course. The maps on the tee signs seemed to be fairly accurate. I read one of the previous reviews and I agree that Cat Hollow is similar to Searight. It is not to long but has some open holes if you want to air it out. I appreciated some of the technicallity of the course for example 1,2,6,7,16,17. I liked how on one it was a dog leg and I loved how tight hole 2 was. I threw a comet on most of the technical holes and did great. The course made use of the elevation that was provided by the land. I really liked 17 when you have a tunnel shot then the basket has a stone wall built up so you can fall off sort of like hole 6 at Lake Lewisville( Lewisville, Texas). I appreciate a good risk/ reward type putt.
Cons: The navigation was difficult in a few spots, To get to hole 1 walk by the street and it will be on your left. Also, I couldn't find hole 5 until I walked all the way around and finally found it. Besides that everything else is pretty easy to navigate. I did not like hole 5, 10,11,12 because they were just long open holes. I like some challenge on a hole even if it is a 500ft hole. There were no obstacles on these holes which made them a little bit boring. The front part and back part of course make up for it though. The stone that is throughout the fairs takes a beating on your disc. Many of mine had chunks taken out of the them.
Other Thoughts: The course was also packed. It seems that many recent reviewers also noted how crowded the course can get( I don't know because I was from out of town). I put that here instead of a pro or con because that can go both ways. If you take it as a pro, this means many people find the course enjoyable, and more people playing are sport. If you take it as a con, there could be some long waits on holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for everyone

5+    2/1/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Many Par 3s from 200-300 feet. Perfect distance for beginners.
Both par 4s are very open for players to be able to open up and huck it.
Short enough that even when it is packed you can still make it all the way through in just over an hour.
Tee boxes are nice and have hole maps
Cons: Usually pretty packed
Some holes the brush is pretty thick and it is easy to lose a disc on a bad throw
Other Thoughts: Great place to start out disc golf if you have never played before

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/16/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. A great combination of long, short, wide, and narrow holes. Starts a little wooded and then opens up, gets narrow again, then gets open and so on. A little variety in elevation. You have to throw over hills, up hills, down hills; its pretty fun. This course has something for everyone. Holes that reward Forehand and holes that reward backhand. I find holes really fun to throw tomahawks on. Terrain ranges from grass to gravel to rocks.Tee pads are concrete and signs tell you distance. Basket location is pretty good. Most holes are standard but a couple holes have drop offs directly off the "green" forcing you to make it or take it short. One hole is on a 45 degree hill really requiring precise shots.
Cons: If it's your first time playing it might be a little confusing when trying to find your way around. I most recently went on a muddy day and people wiped their feet off on the tee pads which is a little annoying. Typically a pretty popular populated course. You might run into some traffic. Some houses around the area. Its possible to throw your disc in someones back yard but only for pretty bad throws. None of the holes are really that creatively designed. Typical dog legs and distances but nothing that makes you say wow. A little plain.
Other Thoughts: I will just say I don't write long reviews because I don't like reading them but this course is pretty good. If you are in the North Austin area it is definitely worth your time. Stop by Wanna Play Disc Golf while you are over there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.