Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 138ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Old and Faithful

2-4    6/1/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 37  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schenley is a Pittsburgh classic. The first permanent course in the area, designed and put in before I was born, this course has history. I was surprised that, as a Pittsburgh player, I had not been to Schenley that many times. I had not felt the need, as people often give it a bad reputation. Well, I didn't see it as a bad course.

The course plays through a classic and beautiful Pittsburgh park, featuring grassy, rolling hills, mature trees, and a beautiful skyline view on the first few holes. Note: Any skyline view of the beautiful city of Pittsburgh is worth it, and pictures never do it justice.

The first few holes play in a large valley, with the second hole being a 500 plus downhill crush, but after that hole, you will not need more than a putter and a midrange. The course will lead you winding through the side woods of the park, not far from the hustle and bustle of the urban environment, but provides some nice, woods-style golf.

Tee signs were helpful with all knowledge that is really needed, the distance to center, tee, and all three basket locations. The Mach-III baskets were in great shape, and although they are not my favorites, they definitely served their purpose, catching most shots that needed to be caught. Concrete tees for the reds and whites were a very nice touch.
Cons: This course is in one of the busiest parks that the Pittsburgh area has to offer. On a Thursday early afternoon, I was still weaving around picnickers, sunbathers, and more non-disc golfers. This could pose a major threat, as I saw many errant throws from some of the people who play the course.

The course is not only busy with other park goers, there were a lot of golfers this day too. It gets very busy, and a lot of the holes cross paths and/or are placed very close together.

This is not a pro style course. Or really a middle level player course. It is a perfect place to work on a technical, shot shaping mid/putter game, even for my rec-level arm. I pulled out my driver maybe three times, mostly just to get stability from an overstable disc, or to throw a thumber. This is a great place to come to show new players the game, as well as enjoy a good walk in the beautiful park and city, however, you will never see a tournament here, as the crowd, holes, and park would never allow it.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my rounds at Schenley. It would be a course that I recommend for people to play, maybe once, just for the experience and the history. It was a quick round for me, taking a total of two hours tops to play two full 18 hole rounds. For an older course, it is very nice. It uses the land provided very well, and I would play it again. I teetered between a two and a half and a three, but I had trouble rating a par 3 course any better than that, and with the rest of the small issues, I gave it a 2.5. I would still recommend it in a heart beat, as it is truly a classic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short Course

1    6/17/2016   6/17/2016
Review By: KDinIN
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 18 Holes
- Multiple tee positions
- Multiple pin positions (though only playing once, I have only played one)
- Two Concrete two pads (and one natural tee pad per hole... finding the third pad proved difficult.)
- Navigation was pretty easy, course signs were at both tee pads and some holes had signs indicating where the next tee was.
- Nice mix of wooded and open field holes
- Nice Mach 3 baskets that catch pretty well
- A number of benches spread throughout the course
- An absolute beautiful and large city park so amenities are not far, and bringing a family would not leave them to twiddle their thumbs, sports fields, playgrounds, and a pool were just some of the things I saw on my way in.
Cons: - I took a few beginners, and we played from the Red tees, and that course layout might be the shortest course I have ever played. Plenty of Ace runs, but that meant I played mostly with my putters.
- Though this park is well maintained, after the rain, the field and the woods were a bit of a swamp. Pretty slick conditions in the woods, and most of the tee pads had some level of mud and leaves matted on them making footing a bit uncertain.
- As I mentioned, two concrete pads for three tee boxes, the third box was natural, and was usually the blue box, meaning the longest throw had the worst footing.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course that definitely forces someone to practice upshots. If you are going to pull out your full game, you will probably be a bit disappointed. Have the right expectations and this course comes out looking pretty nice.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Mids/Putters

1    4/28/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18-hole beginner friendly course in a heavily used city park.
- Being so close to a major city (5 minute drive from downtown), it's a great spot for a quick round after work, before a game, while in from out-of-town, etc.
- Multi-use park provides restrooms, water, other sporting facilities, etc.
- Easy to find - follow signs to the sporting oval and park on the road right near the large course map
- 3 tees (2 are concrete) and 3 pin locations provide for a lot of variety
- Mach 3 baskets in great shape with big number plates
- Tee signs have good hole map, show all tee/pin locations and distances to all pin locations
- Starts with some open holes and ends with (2/3 of the course) wooded holes
- Holes in the woods are challenging enough to give beginners a good sense of wooded disc golf, but are not so long that they would become super difficult or frustrating
- Good place to work on mid-ranges and short game for more seasoned players
- Low chance for lost discs - not much thick brush and the dead leaves are mostly packed and matted down
- Hole #2 is obviously fun to let it rip out over the downhill field
- Hole #17 was a fun uphill hyzer to a pin tucked in a little cutout in the treeline
Cons: - Heavy park use inevitably leads to conflict with non-discers - even though it was an overcast, rainy day, I had to wait for walkers crossing paths or hanging nearby fairways
- The majority of the wooded holes (7-17) feel like they were all jammed into the same 500' x 500' area of land - you're always near other tees or baskets and need to be very aware of shots from other holes headed your way
- Fairly muddy down in the low parts of the woods - I know I played in spring, but still
- Some of the early holes play right alongside the park road, so shots that hyzer out too far could end up meeting up with cars
- Difficult navigation - no next tee signs that I saw and with so many holes so close together, finding the next tee was not always easy
- Pretty repetitive - oh, another 200' hole in the woods?
- Don't think there is any indication of which pin position the basket is currently in - not a huge deal since you can almost always see the basket from the tee, but since all listed distances are to the "center of green", different pin locations can have a fairly significant effect - even a difference of 30-40 feet could be the difference between putter, mid-range, thumber/tomahawk, etc.
Other Thoughts: - Benches on a few holes
- Awesome view of the Pittsburgh skyline at the start of the course

This was a decent course for what it is - a simple, older design not meant for ultra-speed drivers. There were very few memorable or spectacular features and got pretty repetitive, but it's definitely a solid option for the downtown area or a quick practice round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Average Course great for College Students

2-4    4/15/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: 412Disc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location can't be beat. Great view on the first hole. The course is well maintained, Pittsburgh city parks prides itself on its cleanliness. Minimal graffiti. Great for beginner. Quality baskets and tees.

As someone else mentioned, there is the Wednesday league. From what I have heard, many people show up to this. There is also an ace prize.
Cons: Can be crowded at times. A lot of trees. Other non-disc golfers can get in the way, especially on the first hole. Sunbathers (although great to look at) always see, to be in the way when it is nice out.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for the college student or anyone in the area looking to get in a quick round. I would highly recommend it for beginners. If anyone wants to play PM me.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Schenley is fun to play again!

5+    8/26/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: discteacher
Played: 145  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Mach 3 baskets (including two practice baskets -- one near #1 tee and the other for an alternate hole behind Vietnam Veterans Pavilion); new signs with maps, distances and pars on all Red and White tees; new concrete tee to replace broken and unlevel pads on #8, #10, #15; and a new additional C pin position for each of the holes add up to a BIG improvement in the oldest permanent basket disc golf course in Western PA. Thanks to Citiparks, the Hunt Foundation, The Disc Golf Foundation and Pittsburgh Flying Disc Society for the 20-year makeover in 2008.

The course is a great place to learn to play DG and to hone woods play and short game. A set of Blue tees provide a challenge for those whose game is on the rise.
Cons: A layout designed for throwing 40-mold Frisbees in the most popular regional park in the city of Pittsburgh causes conflicts between sunbathers, picnicers and disc golfers.

Be alert for errant shots from other players, especially on holes 8-12.
Other Thoughts: An 18-hole round can be played in just over an hour.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

5+    4/29/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: tistoude
Played: 179  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2010
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a somewhat dated course that is, with the exception of a hole or two, pretty short but is great for your Putt and Approach game. There are some very nice wooded holes and in a very limited space this course offers alot. Right and left hand turns, a 600 ft hole, a 190ft hole and a couple tunnel shots. Schenley has some very nice concrete tee's (although the Pro tee is still natural) and Mach III baskets with three pin positions that can really alter the hole. Last but not least, the practice basket and holes' 1 and 2 offer a spectacular view of downtown Pittsburgh.
Cons: This course is short. Some people with big arms may only use a driver on one hole (and that depends on pin position).
On most days this park has alot of traffic, both from casual players and people just out enjoying the park itself. One of the most popular places to sit is apparently right in front #1 basket.
The blue tees do add a little something extra to the course but they are not identified at all, so you would need a local to be with you to find some of them (1 and 15 good luck).
The layout has made maximum use of the limited space but some of the tees are very close to being in the way of other holes. When there are people playing around you on this course you need to be even more aware than normal for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: People who play this course only once may think it is a bit simple but each hole has at least three pin placements and sometimes 4. So that each time that you play it could be different. I really do like Schenley alot and I think that the Pittsburgh Flying Disc Society has maxed out its potential but with so many other great courses in the Pittsburgh area it is hard not to look down upon this course a little.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Don't judge too quickly....

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: Acerun1
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the city! Recent course improvements, including the new baskets (2008) are a welcome update!! This is mostly a finesse course. It's one that is probably best described as "recreational." Yet, is unfortunately overshadowed by the more challenging and recently developed courses in the area. Paying heed to designated OB areas will add increased challenge to this course.
Cons: In the summer months, this course can get crowded, and overrun with non-playing park users - even to the point of deeming some holes "unplayable." The back 9 (or 11) are tight, with fairways that abut one another. These, however, should not be your reasons for not wanting to play this course.
Other Thoughts: Is it "outmoded," or is it "classic?" Just because you have the CD, or you downloaded it from iTunes, doesn't mean the vinyl lacks character and doesn't deserve a place of it's own. (If that analogy is generationally irrelevant to you - just because you have PS3, or a Wii, doesn't mean there isn't a place for the classic Nintendo 64!!) Unless you can birdie EVERY hole...heck, even half of them, then don't be so quick to criticize this course! Those I know who CAN accomplish this, are the most accomplished local players, who would agree that there are "better," more challenging courses in the area, but they give this course the respect that it deserves! You wouldn't have Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, Moraine if Schenley didn't pave the way to make it happen!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational

5+    7/24/2007   7/24/2007
Review By: JoshC
Played: 46  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: if you are looking for medium distance ace runs this course is for you... there is also a stellar view of the city from the open holes
Cons: large amounts of non-players during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Great course for its day. Still fun when looking for a recretional day out on a course or to tune your approach skills..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.